We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Fairhaven Hotel
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Not bad”
Reviewed 14 August 2012

The Fairhaven Hotel is a two-star hotel that doesn't pretend to be anything else. It's a big, rambling old English seaside hotel with creaky floors and a maze-like layout. The narrow, winding corridors lead to reasonable rooms, which I found pretty comfortable and cozy for the price. The bathrooms were modern, the showers good and the towels way better than your usual two-star establishment. The hotel is very well located, opposite the beachfront and convenient to everything in Weymouth. I can't say that I'm so enthusiastic about the breakfasts. There was a touch of Fawlty Towers about the restaurant service and food quality. All in all, it was good value for money....for a two-star hotel.

Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Forest4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    89
    87
    28
    45
See reviews for
57
111
22
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Whitwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

The Fairhaven is a very nice hotel, the food was good the rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff were helpful, it is quite a large rambling hotel and sometimes difficult to find your way round. The only drawback I can see, is that it needs a little bit of love and attention, it's rather tired looking. The weather was terrible but we still had a good time. Not the best hotel I've stayed at but certainly not the worst. I will maybe try it again when the Olympics are over.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room as these are the nicest rooms, we had a family room for just two of us
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mitch s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

The hotel was very old and very very basic. We were in a badly organised room (lots of space loss) which smelled of dust and cheap Febreze, and there are no efforts put into giving the hotel a bit of a refresh.

We were waken up by noise of works as there is no double glazing and the room was directly facing the next hotel's windows and a works area.

The breakfast was greasy and really not fantastic. We regretted to have booked two nights. Not really the best experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adeline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Weymouth hotels

2 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2012

The hotel itself is extremely dated and could really do with a fresh lick of paint. However the bed was comfortable and the shower was nice & hot. TWO very important things when staying anywhere. I was woken by the noise from the night club below BUT I soon went back to sleep. The breakfast was okay but not to shout about. Staff were polite. My biggest problem was leaving my clothes on window ledge over night to find that the stained gloss also tainted my clothes with the horrible smell of stale tobacco.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lulumill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Everything very basic and old . rooms and beds smell old. staff very nosey DON'T PUT A DO NOT DISTURB ON YOUR DOOR YOU WILL BE ASKED WHY IN FRONT OF OTHER GUESTS ? breakfast small half cooked sausage and if you complain they put you in a empty dinning room next time you're in no joke . we stayed at the front of the hotel at the top and the noise from the club just below meant no sleep till five in the morning should have joined in SO GO BACK NEVER COST £200 TWO NIGHTS

Room Tip: rooms quieter at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank markmacm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Although the entrance lobby (accessed by steps from the Esplanade) is rather drab and uninviting the receptionist was reasonably helpful. I paid £40 for bed and breakfast. Not too bad.

The room was fairly basic with a view of a flat roof – what more could I expect for the price. Toiletries consisted of a small bar of soap. Tea and coffee facilities, but no biscuits. No wifi available. The corridor doors slammed noisily. Very clean room, although there was a gap under the door that I could almost limbo under! I did find the corridors a little warren-like and better signage would help.

Breakfast is 8.30 to 9.30am, although due to an early meeting I arranged for an earlier breakfast. The tables are waitered and the staff were quite pleasant and efficient.

The hotel is clean and tidy and for the price not bad value. It could be considered to be in need of upgrading but in someways the 1950s/1960s quirkiness is quite endearing.
Certainly their clientele appears to be generally at the older end of the scale and possibly coach parties. Not really aimed at the business traveller.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are noisy due to nearby restaurants and bars. Ask for a quieter room to the rear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

having just returned from a short break at fairhaven i would like to say it can b noisey at night if u choose a seaview room but its clean and the food is very good have booked up again

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
0.2 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#10 of 22 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#6 of 22 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Hotel
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Seafront Hotel
2.4 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#19 of 22 in Weymouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairhaven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairhaven Hotel

Property: The Fairhaven Hotel
Address: 37 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 8DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Fairhaven Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Fairhaven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairhaven Hotel Weymouth
The Fairhaven Hotel Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing