We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a mistake” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fairhaven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Fairhaven Hotel
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
mississippi
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“What a mistake”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

Just got back from 5 day at the Fairhaven hotel just don't go, dirty, noisy. Confirmed on telephone twin bedroom for elderly parents with sea view, they were given room at the back of hotels when I ask for the sea view room I was told they only said it might be possible. On there website it say uninterrupted sea view, only to be found in lounge bar on top floor closed due to not enough people in hotel to use it the only hotel in Weymouth with vacancies so that said it all.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mississippi01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    84
    83
    27
    44
See reviews for
55
106
19
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

Great location, opposite the beach. Hotels target market are the less mobile senior citizens...reception does remind you of an old peoples home. Waiting staff are attentive, but the reception staff could do much better. Rooms clean and excellent shower but old fashioned (only one plug socket in the room) and like the rest of the hotel tired looking. Would not go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bedford_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Weymouth hotels

Bicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

Just come back from four nights ,b&b at the fairhaven hotel in weymouth.
Just like to say that we had a great time,the room was clean and tidy ,the carpets might have been a bit old ,but the bedding was clean, the room was nice and the bed was great ,the shower and toilet looked like new ,
I can't fault this hotel ,will book again.

Room Tip: the room that we stayed in was No 26 over looking weymouth bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank egroge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

We booked into this Hotel for Carnival and were offered a family room for our party of five. I read the reviews on here after we booked and warned the rest of the family that it may not be great but I have to say that we were all pleasantly surprised.

We had arranged to pay for a parking space at the rear of the hotel which was fantastic as we did not have to search for hours for a parking space as we would have had to if we had opted for a parking permit. The space cost us £5 per day and was well worth it.

The reception staff were always very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The Hotel does seem to cater mainly for the "older" guest and I agree that the lounge area does resemble an old peoples home but it was all clean and not of interest to us any way.

We were given room 79 which was accessed by a lift but there was quite a walk along the corridor to our room! Ok once you are settled with your lugage! What a view - we had full view of Weymouth Bay which was fantastic and ideal for the Carnival. The room was very large with a double, two single beds and a roll away for my youngest daughter. The receptionist was concerned we may be cramped but theer were no issues here at all. The rooms are basic but everything was spotless so we had no complaints what so ever. I have stayed in some much higher rated hotels and not found such crisp bedding and pure white towels. The bathroom again was spotless with bath and shower. There was a huge TV in the room along with the usual tea and coffee making facilities.

Breakfast was served from 7.30 til 9.30 and was beautiful despite the fact the hotel was busy. Many hotels opt for self service these days so it was quite refreshing to be waited on and the eggs were available pretty much whatever way you wanted! There was also porridge on offer which was delicious and a fish option for anyone who preferred it.

All in all a lovely Hotel in a great location central to everything. The beach is literally a stones throw away as are the amusements and the shops! We did not suffer from any problems with noise despite it being the busiest night of the year for them in Weymouth. Yes it is a bit basic but extremely clean. If you want to go checking how old the carpet maybe or the duvet cover then this is not the Hotel for you. If you want a great Hotel in a great location for a break at the beach then go for it - it would be hard to beat.

Room Tip: Seaviews are great and ask for a guaranteed parking space - saves alot of heartache!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pelican98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

The Fairhaven Hotel is a two-star hotel that doesn't pretend to be anything else. It's a big, rambling old English seaside hotel with creaky floors and a maze-like layout. The narrow, winding corridors lead to reasonable rooms, which I found pretty comfortable and cozy for the price. The bathrooms were modern, the showers good and the towels way better than your usual two-star establishment. The hotel is very well located, opposite the beachfront and convenient to everything in Weymouth. I can't say that I'm so enthusiastic about the breakfasts. There was a touch of Fawlty Towers about the restaurant service and food quality. All in all, it was good value for money....for a two-star hotel.

Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Forest4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

The Fairhaven is a very nice hotel, the food was good the rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff were helpful, it is quite a large rambling hotel and sometimes difficult to find your way round. The only drawback I can see, is that it needs a little bit of love and attention, it's rather tired looking. The weather was terrible but we still had a good time. Not the best hotel I've stayed at but certainly not the worst. I will maybe try it again when the Olympics are over.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room as these are the nicest rooms, we had a family room for just two of us
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mitch s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

The hotel was very old and very very basic. We were in a badly organised room (lots of space loss) which smelled of dust and cheap Febreze, and there are no efforts put into giving the hotel a bit of a refresh.

We were waken up by noise of works as there is no double glazing and the room was directly facing the next hotel's windows and a works area.

The breakfast was greasy and really not fantastic. We regretted to have booked two nights. Not really the best experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adeline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Rembrandt
0.2 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#10 of 22 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#6 of 22 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Hotel
2.4 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#19 of 22 in Weymouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairhaven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairhaven Hotel

Property: The Fairhaven Hotel
Address: 37 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 8DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Fairhaven Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Fairhaven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairhaven Hotel Weymouth
The Fairhaven Hotel Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing