We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a revamp/small”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Fairhaven Hotel
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Needs a revamp/small”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

I booked this as a last min get away fri & sat night for myself & hubby!
We arrived late ish fri night, not really any direction to room! Just got told to use the lift!! (old)
Room was very, very small, ancient tv that only had 2 channels! Only 1 socket in bedroom so with the modern technology devices that require charging, bit tricky!

Breakfast was 8.30 til 9.30! When I have to be up early every day for work I thought this was a tad early! We didn't make it either day!

Bathroom very clean! Shower not great though!

Parking is a little to be desired! Literally on top of each other & have to leave keys at reception

However, On the sea front & close to everything you could need

If you want a no thrills basic hotel just to sleep thats cheap then I would recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becks1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    94
    94
    34
    49
See reviews for
65
126
23
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Booked this hotel last minute and got a great deal for a Saturday night. Room small but clean had our own new shower sink and toilet on suite. Hotel a little tired and floors a bit squeaky but what do you expect for £50 for a double room on a Saturday including breakfast. Quite a lot of older people were staying in the hotel and I think it provide entertainment but we were in Weymouth to meet with some friends so didn't access this. Adequate storage in the room for what we needed. Little kettle and a couple of teabags and milk cartons provided in the room. Breakfast included with was served by staff quickly provided and well cooked, you could pick choices from a menu. Very central and has parking round the back of the hotel which you need to pre-book £5 a night. No quibbles with this stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newton904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wareham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

By far the WORST hotel stay I have ever been unfortunate enough to endure. First off I am not usually one to kick up a fuss or moan but there are average hotels, rubbish ones and ones that truly deserve to be slated this being one of them. I have stayed in naff hotels before and never bothered to put a bad review but I have just registered with tripadvisor to make a point of reviewing this one. All started well until about 1 in the morning just after getting back. Arguing broke out in a room nearby and was going on for way too long. Doors being slammed and things being thrown aswel by the sound of it. Phoned reception, no answer. Got dressed and down to reception. Spoke to night porter who assured me it would be sorted out. Back to room. Few minutes later it died down but soon started again going on for nearly an hour. Not only did this happen but also loud music and shouting from their own restaurant/club going on until the early hours. My partner and Ihad next to no sleep. By the morning I was furious and went straight down to reception to be greeted by two completely useless and unhelpful women who were more bothered about gas bagging than working. I told them about the noise all night which next to nothing was done about etc etc and demanded a refund for the overly expensive 65 pounds we had paid. Both of them attempted to shun me off saying that hotel policy forbids refunds related to noise blah blah. Wasn't happy with this so called Kings Hotels head office explaining the problem. They sent somebody to investigate after calling them 3 more times. Was told to meet somebody from head office in 10 mins at reception who never turned up. Furious about this I phoned one of the top brass at main office AGAIN ranting and demanding a refund ( I have spent money on more than one occasion at their sister hotel the rex) to once again be shunned and fobbed off with a mere 15 pounds reduction on the room price. This place is grotty, outdated, paper thin walls, WAY overpriced and utterly useless reception staff with next to no customer service skills and extremely unhelpful the moment a problem is mentioned. Will NEVER spend my money with Kings Hotels again. This place was nothing short of utter rubbish! Take my advice from experience and steer well clear of this place. A classic example of an outdated hotel still trying to charge going rate and attempting to hold on to the 'traditional' style. It's a throw back from the 70's gone wrong. Pay a few more quid and have a proper stay somewhere else! I hope this place burns to the ground some time soon (with nobody in it).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Weymouth hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I arranged a long weekend trip Friday to Monday for eighty people off all ages we had a great time.the food was great the staff were friendly some people that write some revues about it being an old people"s home need to realise that they have got to get old as well. I have been arranging two trips a year for over twenty years and we have stayed all over the the country so this hotel rates as one of the top ones we have stayed at.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Not as bad as all the other views make out, friendly and hardworking staff. Rooms were very clean but basic, needs updating. Hotel specifies its "non-smoking throughout" although there were ashtrays placed in the rooms and you could smell smoke on some of the furniture. Entertainment was average depending on how many G&T's you had. Overall had a pleasant stay, would return to Waymouth but not to that hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Not very much speaks out for this hotel. They have a pretty average last minute rate and tend to have spaces left if you have forgotten to book something better in advance. Rooms are outdated with paper thin walls and it could be quite noisy as some rooms are right above a night club. An average hotel for an average price.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room above a night club. Sea facing rooms are a bit better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vera_Ldn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013 via mobile

Overall an average but the food (breakfast) was good quality and came quickly and the staff were friendly and helpfull both on reception and in the resteraunt. The room was small and clean with clean towels on each of the two days we stayed, however the decor is rather tired and the hotel is due a refurb. The location on the sea front is excellent with pubs, resteraunts and attractions all within a short distance. You can pay for parking at £5 per day which is located behind the hotel or take pot luck on parking on the street using a permit which is supplied by the hotel. A bit of TLC would make this a very good hotel, would I go back? Yes.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank phil h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
2.4 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#20 of 22 in Weymouth
1,073 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
#13 of 22 in Weymouth
446 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#16 of 22 in Weymouth
12 reviews
4.1 mi away
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
#5 of 22 in Weymouth
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairhaven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairhaven Hotel

Property: The Fairhaven Hotel
Address: 37 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 8DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Fairhaven Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Odigeo so you can book your The Fairhaven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairhaven Hotel Weymouth
The Fairhaven Hotel Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing