We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sinking Ship” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fairhaven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Fairhaven Hotel
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sinking Ship”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night glad it was not longer reception staff no reciept given by the way of over priced sea view from better conditions on the beach my room was dirty so much dust you can write your name in they the uneven floor was like being on a boat at sea 3" gap under the door room very small and odd shape odd doors filthy wardrobe blankets on the bed in summer!!! the room we stopped in was at best a single not a double the room stocked of stail tobacco even had a ashtray in room !!!! parking is a nightmare as my husband is disabled very noisy outside and hotel we had no sleep and could not wate to get away never again found the lady on reception not very welcoming

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tuppennce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    84
    83
    27
    44
See reviews for
55
106
19
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

We are a young couple and just wanted to get away for a few days.

We found the hotel to be quite old fashioned in its set-up but this kind of went with Weymouth as a whole.

Lack of plug sockets, old fashioned tv were about all we could find to grumble about. The hotel was clean, friendly but efficient (the staff want to know you're ok but not your life story!!) well situated.

Only downside is parking. Unless you're 1 of the 10 to get a space out back you will have to brave the dreaded machines along the Esplanade and pretty much the entire county!! You can't escape them you just have to roll with it.

Thoroughly enjoyed it. Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

My daughter booked us into the hotel for our 25th anniversary as a surprise we had a fantastic time our room overlooked the beach and all the staff were wery helpfull it was nice that they have smoking rooms as well We will definatly go back again

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank somersetsue42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melksham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

My daughter and i booked for sat night 15 June. On arrival at the hotel we met a very miserable foreign lady at reception. She did not smile and made us feel unwelcome. We went to our room which was ok. That night was awful, we must have been above the nightclub as we heard shouting and screaming for most of the night therefore woke up shattered after about 1 hours sleep. Also the person in the next room could be heard snoring, it was like they were in our room. Would not recommend hotel to anyone overal awful night away.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Weymouth hotels

Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

I booked this as a last min get away fri & sat night for myself & hubby!
We arrived late ish fri night, not really any direction to room! Just got told to use the lift!! (old)
Room was very, very small, ancient tv that only had 2 channels! Only 1 socket in bedroom so with the modern technology devices that require charging, bit tricky!

Breakfast was 8.30 til 9.30! When I have to be up early every day for work I thought this was a tad early! We didn't make it either day!

Bathroom very clean! Shower not great though!

Parking is a little to be desired! Literally on top of each other & have to leave keys at reception

However, On the sea front & close to everything you could need

If you want a no thrills basic hotel just to sleep thats cheap then I would recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becks1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

Booked this hotel last minute and got a great deal for a Saturday night. Room small but clean had our own new shower sink and toilet on suite. Hotel a little tired and floors a bit squeaky but what do you expect for £50 for a double room on a Saturday including breakfast. Quite a lot of older people were staying in the hotel and I think it provide entertainment but we were in Weymouth to meet with some friends so didn't access this. Adequate storage in the room for what we needed. Little kettle and a couple of teabags and milk cartons provided in the room. Breakfast included with was served by staff quickly provided and well cooked, you could pick choices from a menu. Very central and has parking round the back of the hotel which you need to pre-book £5 a night. No quibbles with this stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank newton904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

By far the WORST hotel stay I have ever been unfortunate enough to endure. First off I am not usually one to kick up a fuss or moan but there are average hotels, rubbish ones and ones that truly deserve to be slated this being one of them. I have stayed in naff hotels before and never bothered to put a bad review but I have just registered with tripadvisor to make a point of reviewing this one. All started well until about 1 in the morning just after getting back. Arguing broke out in a room nearby and was going on for way too long. Doors being slammed and things being thrown aswel by the sound of it. Phoned reception, no answer. Got dressed and down to reception. Spoke to night porter who assured me it would be sorted out. Back to room. Few minutes later it died down but soon started again going on for nearly an hour. Not only did this happen but also loud music and shouting from their own restaurant/club going on until the early hours. My partner and Ihad next to no sleep. By the morning I was furious and went straight down to reception to be greeted by two completely useless and unhelpful women who were more bothered about gas bagging than working. I told them about the noise all night which next to nothing was done about etc etc and demanded a refund for the overly expensive 65 pounds we had paid. Both of them attempted to shun me off saying that hotel policy forbids refunds related to noise blah blah. Wasn't happy with this so called Kings Hotels head office explaining the problem. They sent somebody to investigate after calling them 3 more times. Was told to meet somebody from head office in 10 mins at reception who never turned up. Furious about this I phoned one of the top brass at main office AGAIN ranting and demanding a refund ( I have spent money on more than one occasion at their sister hotel the rex) to once again be shunned and fobbed off with a mere 15 pounds reduction on the room price. This place is grotty, outdated, paper thin walls, WAY overpriced and utterly useless reception staff with next to no customer service skills and extremely unhelpful the moment a problem is mentioned. Will NEVER spend my money with Kings Hotels again. This place was nothing short of utter rubbish! Take my advice from experience and steer well clear of this place. A classic example of an outdated hotel still trying to charge going rate and attempting to hold on to the 'traditional' style. It's a throw back from the 70's gone wrong. Pay a few more quid and have a proper stay somewhere else! I hope this place burns to the ground some time soon (with nobody in it).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Rembrandt
0.2 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#10 of 22 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#6 of 22 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Hotel
2.4 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#19 of 22 in Weymouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairhaven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairhaven Hotel

Property: The Fairhaven Hotel
Address: 37 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 8DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Fairhaven Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Fairhaven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairhaven Hotel Weymouth
The Fairhaven Hotel Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing