We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hospitality!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Fairhaven Hotel
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“hospitality!!!”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Have just spent four nights here with 3 elderly friends and although the rooms were basic we needed a map to find them.It was like a maze and lots of stairs.no toilet on ground floor only one lift which was inconvenient if desperate.Food good waiting staff lovely.Unfortunately the morning staff on reception were rude and unpleasant they should have a lesson in manners.Asked for 2 rooms together but told the hotel was full yet had vacancies sign in window.The building to keep mobility scooters overnight was a death trap and when told about it they were not concerned.Beach front location but would not advise any disabled or elderly persons with walking difficulties to stay here.

Room Tip: ask for rooms at front as seaview is stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yasmine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    91
    89
    28
    45
See reviews for
59
113
23
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newport
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The Fairhaven is actualy three buildings connected by long corridors and short staircases to make up for differences in the floor heights of the buildings. make sure you book early to get a room near the lift if you have mobility problems. also bear in mind there are five steps up to the front door of reception. A very good hotel for the young and fit, but not so good if you have any mobility problems.

Room Tip: Mention to reception if you have problems with mobility, and book early to ensure the best selection...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NewportPhotoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Appears a little dated but clean, comfortable and great value. Modern bathroom with hot water and good pressure. Lovely bath sheets. Good choices for breakfast. Car parking very limited so need to book. Great location. Will use again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 627Ger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stayed here for a Birthday weekend. The hotel is in a prime position right on the beach with lovely views. There were a variety of age groups staying. The hotel does special deals for holidays by coach for senior citizens. The room was basic and a little depressing and in dire need of a makeover. Ultimately you get what you pay for and it was ok for a couple of nights. Breakfast was good There is a large seating area with comfy chairs. Walked all the way along the beach front it was lovely, Would stay there again but book a room with a seaview and also to people watch.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room with a seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eclipse33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

When we opened the door to the stair case there was a heavey smell of fags, in Flat 2 it was, to say the least, antiquated, the bath and wash basin were unbelievably poor, the kitchen besides being ancient had a smell in it which can only be described as nauseous. The rooms were clean and tidy but the fittings so old. We stayed one night of the 7 nights booked, avoiding the kitchen. We left in a hurry totally disgusted, out of pocket and depressed. How does a flat like this get an AA 2* rating?

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Weymouth hotels

Bournemouth
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

we stayed here for 2 nights in May 2014. Paid extra to have a sea view which we most definitely had.
The room was ok, bit shabby but clean. The dining room for breakfast was weird. The hotel appeared to be empty but at breakfast every table was full. where had all these people been hiding???

It was a very warm night but the noise from the night club a few doors meant we had to keep the windows shut. At 4 am fighting broke out on the street below and there was a heck of a fuss - police etc.

We paid £5 per night to securely park the car which was well worth it.
We love Weymouth but are still looking for a good b and b.

Room Tip: front for a sea view, back for peace and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janicemg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Was not looking for comfort just a place to crash after a night on the town. I have stayed at a lot of Weymouth B&Bs and for price this was on a par with them. In fact just booked another weekend. Rooms dated, breakfast cheap but its only a place to sleep beach cleaning and birds permitting.

Room Tip: Sea view on third floor gives you an early wake up call if you leave the window open!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quantock S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
0.2 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#10 of 22 in Weymouth
462 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#6 of 22 in Weymouth
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#19 of 22 in Weymouth
1,007 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
261 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
#13 of 22 in Weymouth
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairhaven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairhaven Hotel

Property: The Fairhaven Hotel
Address: 37 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 8DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Fairhaven Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Fairhaven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairhaven Hotel Weymouth
The Fairhaven Hotel Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing