We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Wicked hosts at a B&B in a really lovely location"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Greenwood Guest House
Ranked #44 of 166 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We hadn't had a holiday of more than 2 nights for about 7 years so were a bit apprehensive. We had never been to Wemouth so didn't know what to expect but we were greeted by Sharon when we arrived who made us feel very welcome the minute we got there, providing us with a lovely pot of tea and biscuits. We had somewhere safe and close to park which we have found impossible at some the B&B's we have stayed in in the past. Sharon and Angela had lost their pet cat of 17 years and were obviously upset but they carried on being very helpful with hints on where to go and what to see in the local area, providing us with leaflets and brochures along with maps. The breaksfasts were delicious a choice of cereals, yoghurts and fresh fruit salad, toast with plenty of jams, marmalades and spreads to choose from, my favourite was Sharon's homemade rhubarb and vanilla jam, and of course a full english which we could never fault. If we were not going to be there for breakfast they said we could have a pack-up breakfast to take with us. The town and beach were only a 15 minute walk away and very easy to find with an underpass to avoid crossing a busy road which brought you out to a lovely lake with swans and ducks on. They always had time to ask what we were up to each day and had very good suggestions if we were stuck for something to do, and they always asked if we had a good day the next morning. All in all we couldn't fault our stay, the bed was very comfy and bathroom very clean with a good shower. We would highly recommend Greenwood Guest House if you are looking for somewhere to stay in Wemouth you couldn't ask for two nicer, friendly and helpful landladies, we hope to return one day.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 258 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2013

Stayed at the Greenwood 3-7th Aug and had the most wonderful time! I've always said that a B&B is just a bed for the night but this was so much more than that, Sharon and Angela are fantastic hosts and nothing is too much trouble...breakfast was really lovely and freshly cooked. The location was great and I would definitely recommend walking the Rodwell trail as its a lovely walk with great views, this was something that Sharon had recommended along with many other useful pieces of information that she is more than happy to provide. This really is a home from home, thank you both for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Despite having only stayed for 2 days, my friend and I were absolutely impressed by the warmth and friendliness that our hosts Sharon and Angela gave us. They did everything they could to make our stay perfect, and they really succeeded. I hardly ever posts reviews of B&Bs but this is the best I've stayed in.

We arrived drop-dead exhausted after a long trek, and Sharon and Angela greeted us with much-needed hot tea and biscuits. After we were done they orientated us to our room. They gave us all sorts of maps and brochures to orientate ourselves, offered to print bus timetables, and even came to our room in the evening to suggest possible itineraries (which were perfect for us) because we had asked earlier.

We had to miss the dining-in breakfast (served from 8-9am) the next morning because we were leaving early. They offered to pack bacon sandwiches, yoghurt, a banana, and orange juice for us to eat on the Jurassic Bus, and even had us specify the type of bread and sauce we wanted! It was amazing, sitting at the front of the upper deck of the bus, eating sandwiches as the gorgeous coastal view passed before us. We did eat the dining-in bfast the next day, and boy the jams are good.

The location within Weymouth is very accessible, and being in Weymouth is also great in relation to the Jurassic Coast as it's somewhere in the middle. We based ourselves in Weymouth and explored all the way from Charmouth to Lulworth Cove.

Definitely 110% recommended to anyone headed for the Weymouth area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Samantha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

This has to be the best B&B we have stayed in, everything was just perfect we just wish we'd booked longer. We chose this one because it had safe parking for our motorbike which can be hard to find in a lot of B&Bs and found a whole lot more, rooms perfect, food perfect (cooked, cereal and fruit salad, tea n coffee) and Sharon and Angela and there cat were very welcoming and easy to talk to, we could sit in there lovely garden on a evening with glass of something and just chill before bed.
everything is really with in 15 mins walk shops, pubs, beach, ferry
I would highly recommend this place to ANYONE

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank elizabeth w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We stayed in a family room at Greenwood 9-12 July 2013, with our two children aged 8 & 10. It is a lovely guesthouse, with beautiful rooms and great location, just a few minutes walk from beach & shopping, and easy access with the car. Very comfy beds, lovely garden and a fantastic breakfast! Also, parking right outside the house was of great value to us. Sharon and Angela are just amazing - warm and welcoming, they really go that extra mile for their guests. Our daughter had been sick the night before we arrived, and they did everything to make her feel better and took genuine concern in her recovery. We stayed 3 nights and continued our trip throughout the southwest where we stayed in several places, but no place could "compete" with the Greenwod, Sharon & Angela. Simply outstanding!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ldybgd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We arrived to such a warm welcome and the friendliness and warmth continued throughout our stay. Nothing was too much trouble for hosts Sharon and Angela. We had two different rooms as we booked an extra night at the last minute and both were very nice albeit a bit small. The place was spotless and the breakfast scrum my and perfectly cooked. The location is excellent, about 5-10 mins walk to shops, restaurants, beach and harbour

We would highly recommend this place to everyone/

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank caroline_b1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

My partner and I stayed here 14th to 19th July, and what can I say that other reviewers haven,t already said, Sharon and Angela go out of their way to make you comfortable, Excellent breakfasts and a great fruit salad, we will definitely return and would not hesitate in reccomending Greenwood Guest House, We had great stay girls, THANK YOU, Caroline and Kerford.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Kerford J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Lacey's Bed & Breakfast
Lacey's Bed & Breakfast
#46 of 166 in Weymouth
168 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gloucester House
Gloucester House
#7 of 166 in Weymouth
371 reviews
0.6 mi away
Olivers Guest House
Olivers Guest House
#81 of 166 in Weymouth
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kelston Guest House
Kelston Guest House
#4 of 166 in Weymouth
465 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palm Court
Palm Court
#58 of 166 in Weymouth
78 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cunard Guest House
Cunard Guest House
#5 of 166 in Weymouth
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenwood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenwood Guest House

Address: 1 Holland Road, Weymouth DT4 0AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 166 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range: £57 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small friendly B&B located a short walk from Weymouth town centre, seafront and harbour. Also ideal for visitors to Portland.Just minutes from the Rodwell walking/cycling Trail and Radipole Nature Reserve.Comfortable rooms, all with new wall-mounted flat screen TV's offering over 30 Freeview channels, tea/coffee tray and hairdryers. Free off-road parking and free wi-fi access throughout house.We look forward to welcoming you to Greenwood Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Greenwood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenwood Guest House Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing