We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
hull
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great holiday”
Reviewed 21 April 2011

I've just got back from a fantastic break at the royal - Newley refurbished it looks great - had a glorious time would recommend to any one !!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jsentertain01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOfRoyalHotel, Owner at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2011
Thank you for your lovely comment! I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay. We have undergone some major refurbishments to improve the hotel and we have received positive feedback about it. I look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    135
    113
    45
    32
See reviews for
61
222
34
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2011

We arrived here to find this hotel was being refurbished, men painting, drilling,hammering in the foyer, no carpets. Nice start. My single room was ok, on the top floor and it did have a sea view, but the hotel decor etc seemed to deteriorate the higher the floor. - The new carpet only went half way up to the first floor, as soon as it went behind the lift where it could not be seen from th e foyer it stopped. No toiletries this time I was informed these were only in the premier rooms now. Anyway the dining room. Problem was there was not enough tables for the amount of people in the hotel. It worked on a staggered time slot. As the staff did not seem to have their own section of tables to look after, no one was clearing up and if you found a seat it would be on a table piled up with dirty crockery and left over food. I waited 20 minutes one day to order. Another 10 for the meal to arrive and then when they took the order for the main course the starter plates were left on the table. At one time a waitress was piling dirty plates and scraping left over food on to one plate on the spare place on the table next to me! Dont know how they could remedy it but my suggestion would be each waitress had their own section of tables and it should be their responsibility to serve to them and clear up after - but what do I know - I only paid to stay there,

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank terrierdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOfRoyalHotel, Owner at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2011
We understand that you did not appreciate arriving at the hotel during refurbishment. These refurbishments have taken place to improve the standard of the hotel and make it a more enjoyable place for our guests. Dinner is served at various time slots to make our service more relaxed and enjoyable for you. We now have a lovely restaurant manager who is working efficiently with the restaurant team to improve on our standards. If you return again in the future hopefully you will see the improvements to our restaurant and our successful refurbishments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2011

My wife and booked for a long weekend.We arrived Friday afternoon.
Friday evening meal was Ok, but I sarted getting pains in my tummy.
the next day I was very sick which lasted all weekend.
I wrote to the hotels head office they didnt want to know.
Three weeks later I my just getting over it.
There were other guests who had the same sickness.
I wont be going back to this hotel or any of the chain hotels.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2011

Entertainment lacking greatly and the entertainment area extremely cold. Main lounge shut for refurbishment. Only 2 comfortable places to sit in the reception area. Food ok if you like frozen soggy vegetables. Staff very helpful and friendly. Only one very old lift working. Door to lift hard to manage if you don't have strong hands. Rooms very basic. Not really impressed. Think this was a lovely hotel in it's day!! Will not be using Sheerings again. Too many problems to list about Sheerings but worst was the stench coming from the convenience at the back of the coach. Disgusting and no one wanted to use it.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suejtay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Weymouth hotels

Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2011

I booked this hotel with Shearings for a small break.as it was reasonably priced and we had never been there before. The first impression that we got was a professionally managed establishment with a courteous welcome when we arrived.
Checking in was simple but you had to specify there and then the time you wished to have your evening meal for the rest of the week. You were given a choice of between 6pm and 8pm at intervals of 15 minutes. We chose 6. 45pm and we were asked to keep to this period for the rest of the week.
This time suited us as we had plenty of time to get ready and perhaps have a pre meal drink in the bar. It also meant that we didn't have the same table every evening as everybody was always shown to the next available place. We also had different companions every evening as we were never on the same table twice. Complicated? No, it always worked out well and gave us a good chance to get to know other people at the hotel and make some nice friends.
Breakfast was completely different. We were given a time between 7.30 to 9am, and you just went on the table of your choice. We helped ourselves to fruit juice and ceriels and got served with the cooked breakfast of your choice. The meals by the way were excellent.
Our room was no.208. It was clean, comfortable warm and had a fantastic view over the bay.
I will add that we never paid extra fotr this. The only downside of having a front room is that they are nearly always noisy. Ours was no exception. Tea and coffee facilities were the same as in all Shearings hotels.
Acess to the rooms was very good with a new speedy lift or for the energetic, a flight of stairs.
Entertainment was good although we went out each night for a couple of hours and came back to the hotel later on.
The main bar was comfortable as well as being open to the public as well, hence the reasonble prices. Hotel location was very good being situated on the seafront and within easy walking distance of the harbour and shops.
Summing up both my wife and myself had a lovely time at this hotel and will take away some happy memories. The staff by theway were fantastic. Polite and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Coventrykid14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOfRoyalHotel, Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2011
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and will take away some happy memories. I do agree with you that 208 is a lovely room. And I am glad that you enjoyed our new dining arrangements, we have aimed to make it more of a relaxed atmosphere in the restaurant. Thank you for your lovely comments and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sompting
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2011

We arrived at hotel through snow by coach (Shearings) for only a one night stay.
The hotel looks imposing with a grand entrance, slightly dated but a warm welcome was given with the added touch of our luggage being presented to outside our door.
On entering our room it was the artic effect as the radiator was not turned on, we switched this on and decided to explore the town centre.
On our return we entered our room with no visible change to the temperature and on the room guide it was offering an additional heater and as we had a great sea view we asked for a heater unfortunately the receptionist was unable to find one which was disappointing in the dead of winter this room did need some additional heating so beware of room 207.
We were offered an alternative which we viewed and the heat hit us on entering but did not have a sea view but as we were only staying one night warmth was preferred to a sea view.
The dinner was a bit disappointing for a Christmas fare as we surmised a "Brake Brothers meal" not a proper Turkey roast it was sufficient but lacked a xmas feel.
The entertainment was excellent with a limited free bar after 7.30 which we both enjoyed with a quiz/Bingo and then singer all round entertainer in a one man show.
Breakfast was adequate with plenty of cereal choice and a small fry up to follow.
Overall we had a great time and with the cost of £59.00 and a stopping off point to take in Salisbury well worth the money, shame about the main meal but you cannot have everything , the driver gave a running commentary throughout the journeys was an added bonus, well done Shearings.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiberian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2010

We have been to Shearings Hotels many times on our own and with groups of friends. We visited The Royal Hotel Weymouth in February with friends and had no problems at all then.
I had contacted Shearings beforehand as one of our friends had been operated on recently and needed a bath rather than the shower we had originally asked for. She filled in a medical request and sent it to Shearings who told me on the phone that medical requests were always guaranteed. When we arrived at The Royal Hotel she was told there were only two single rooms in the hotel and only one had a bath, which had already been requested by someone else in our party. I feel Shearings should have informed us that they only had one single room with a bath when the medical request was sent in.
The biggest problem was having no hot water the first evening,the next day too and then we had no cold water at all from the tap one morning and we could not use the shower as it was scalding hot, or even clean our teeth. This was a problem for us all and other guests too ,particularily for our friend who had the one bath as there was no heated towel rail in her bathroom. Not only did she have to fill the bath by boiiling kettles but she froze in the cold bathroom at the same time. We complained to reception after the first day and they said it was due to Wessex water doing repairs,however they were not working on Saturday or Sunday and it was still the same.
The food in the restaurant was very good and they obviously have a great chef and most of the waiting staff were really helpful.They did seem very dissorganised however, and unlike other Shearings Hotels we never had the same waiter twice.One of the young waiters was very bad tempered and just put food on the end of the table for the six of us to pass down.When I mentioned I was Gluten Free,the look on his face was a picture and made me feel most uncomfortable .The previous evening another waiter had offered me a choice of six Gluten Free desserts which was wonderful! We asked the other waiters [who were excellant] what was wrong and they said he had 'Girl Trouble'.
We thought there was entertainment on all three nights of our stay but there was nothing on the Sunday, the really good barman John organised a Quiz for us all to keep us occupied, but the advertised 'Katy Mae' never appeared.
We wrote to Shearings a month ago when we got home and today they have replied.They say that our friend was allocated one of the only two single rooms with a bath, this is untrue as they said they only had one single room with a bath at reception.
They go on to say that the water pressure has nothing to do with works being carried out,apparently Wessex water remotely turn down the pressure on the main water supply system.The hotel has contacted Wessex Water who admit they do it to conserve water.
They apologise for the restaurant and say they have no restaurant manager at the moment and they would speak to staff about maintaining a proffesional approach.
They make no comment about the entertainment ,which we mentioned.
They finish by saying they hope we wont be put off using Shearings in the future.
Our friend's went to a Bournemouth Shearings last weekend and it was as good as it normally is, so we wont let the problems at the Royal Hotel cloud our judgement of Shearings in general.
As we said in the letter to Shearings we don't expect 4 star service for a two star price,but it was dissapointing.
The Royal at Weymouth is full over Christmas so I hope they have sorted the problems out or it will be a miserable, cold Christmas for many people.
If you look at my other reviews you will see I am not a moaner or a nitpicker, but I do feel we were let down this time.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank worzelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#6 of 22 in Weymouth
461 reviews
2.2 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#20 of 22 in Weymouth
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
#5 of 22 in Weymouth
635 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Fairhaven Hotel
The Fairhaven Hotel
#15 of 22 in Weymouth
301 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel

Property: Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
Address: 90-91 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 7AX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal is an impressive building of intricate architecture built in the ‘Free Renaissance’ style and boasting fantastic views over the beach and bay. Only a short stroll to the shops, seaside attractions and the famously beautiful harbour and marina, the location could not be better for exploring all that Weymouth has to offer. Despite its imposing structure, the Royal is enjoyed for its warm and friendly atmosphere. The hotel benefits from a games room and comfortable lounges in which to enjoy the entertainment. During the day you also have the option to relax in the public bar whilst you admire the views overlooking the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Weymouth
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing