We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We have just returned from a 3 day family break with Aunties and cousins but left after two days due to a sickness bug that seems to be sweeping through the hotel. Many other vistors have reported becoming ill, this was first brought to our attention on the first afternoon when 2 ambulances appeared. Two of our party were sick whilst there, so we decided it best if we all left before any more of us became to ill to tackle a long journery home. Since getting home another two of our group have now gone down with sickness.

My personal views are that the hotel needs a complete clean from top to bottom and the food, which is very poor quality and the storage of it (ie. yougarts and juice left out in the warm dining room without any ice or refridgation) should be addressed as a matter of urgency.

Due to the fact that this is a Shearings hotel it tends to attract very elderly clients that go by an organised coach trip and really feels more like a home rather than a hotel. But in my opionion the hotel should be more vigilant with hygiene and standards to prevent this situation occuring.

Some of the rooms have been updated and acceptable but others should be condemed until the neccesary refurbs have been completed.

I feel sad about having to write this report but I really feel for the coach loads of people arriving, many with walking difficulties, as we were leaving incase they to are taken ill too.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Julie1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOfRoyalHotel, Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2011

I am sorry to hear that you decided to leave early. Unfortunately hotels and hospitals seem to be hotspots for Noro virus and it is a virus that will spread very quickly between people. However during this situation we worked very closely with our local Environmental health department and contained the virus very quickly. We always maintain hygiene standards and have been awarded a gold star. Environmental health was pleased with all the measures we took to control this outbreak.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (478)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

433 - 439 of 478 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2011

This impressive hotel sits in the best spot on Weymouth's seafront and is the largest and grandest in a long run of hotels. The public areas were nicely decorated and comfortable. The "premier" grade bedroom was quite stunning, located in a bay window with spacious seating area and four-poster bed (which wasn't quite as comfortable as hoped but perfectly OK) and luxury bathroom. In fact it was almost up there with some much more expensive 4 and 5 star rooms.

Food was excellent (though the same as all the other "Bay" hotels) and the restaurant staff were mostly very good, friendly and helpful (and in some cases very witty!). Due to the size of the restaurant guests are required to have sittings, since we arrived late we ended up with a 7.30 sitting. A bit later than we'd have liked, but it was OK.

The reception kindly provided a council parking permit to use on-street parking in the local parking zone. There are a few spaces outside the hotel, 3 out of 4 nights we were lucky and found a space there. Otherwise there are other nearby streets and also a pay & display immediately behind the hotel, costing £3 for 7pm-9.30am. We used this one night as couldn't find another space. So not too much really if you had to park there every night.

Enjoyed it all in all. Nicely refurbished hotel in a good central spot.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TerryPheasant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOfRoyalHotel, Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2011

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are especially pleased that you were happy with your premier room, luxury bathroom and it’s interior. We strive to achieve maximum comfort for guests and a happy holiday, we are happy to have achieved this. We have also passed your comment over to the chef regarding the excellent food, We hope to see you again in the near future should you return to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

First impressions of the hotel were great. Beautifully decorated reception area. The bar area was very comfortable and the dining room comfortable and tastefully decorated.

Reception - When we arrived we were given our keys, informed of breakfast times and asked if we would like a paper ordered by a young lady called Sadie. Sadie turned out to be extremely helpful and her knowledge of the local area was exceptional. Nothing was too much for her. Always had a smile. We then moved onto Kelly (Assistant Manager) who allocated us with times for evening meals. Sittings are every 15 mins from 6pm to 730pm. Times were very limited and it was basically a case of 'take it of leave it' for meal times. Her attitude not fitting for someone front of house. During our stay we and other guests witnessed Kelly using disgraceful language on numerous occasions and seen speaking to staff like the were something on the sole of her shoe. Certainly not the service or attitude you would expect from an Assistant Manager.

DIning Room - Breakfast was ok. I would advise to eat as early as possible, then the food would be as freshly cooked as you were going to get it as it was all pre cooked and left to keep warm. Not the best after an hour after breakfast started. Staff worked hard. Some foreign staff which were sometimes a little rude. But well done Lewis and Maggie. Evening meals were a little better, however the vegetables were frozen and tasted very watery with very little flavour. Plates could do with being hotter too, mainly to keep the lukewarm food hotter.

Bedrooms - We were luckily in a refurbished room which were very nice. We looked at another room of another guest, who had paid the same as us and here horrified. Dirty carpet, dirty windows, cracks in the sink. Cupboards under the sink were filthy.

Entertainment - or lack of it. Why has it been dropped from 7 nights a week to 4 nights a week?
Were were informed by the housekeeping staff that the hotel was under going refurbishment and that some of the rooms were still not done.


Some guests had trouble walking and had wheelchairs and frames. The disable access to the hotel was at the rear and guests had to call the hotel for someone to go down and let them in! Why cant you install a ramp at the front of the hotel. There is plenty of room to allow this?

Over all the location of the hotel is second to none, right on the seafront and only a 5 minute walk into town. Unfortunately the down stairs of the hotel gives a false impression to the remainder of the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank james1243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOfRoyalHotel, Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2011

I am glad to hear that you were pleased with the refurbishments. We are always looking for new ways to improve our hotel and the service we provide. We are in the process of refurbishing the bedrooms to ensure maximum comfort to guests. All of our friendly staff regularly undergo customer care training and the happiness of our guests is our priority. We have two lifts that serve all floors of the hotel for convenience, We also space our sittings out for dinner times to ensure a pleasurable dining experience for our guests. We have found that most of guests enjoy having arrival night free to explore the town or to enjoy the evening at their own leisure. Many guests enjoy themselves in the bar with its view of the esplanade and beach. We completely agree that our location is second to none. We look forward to seeing you again should you decide to holiday here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

Good points.... Excellent location close to beach, shops, restaurants, train station, buses, with Pavilion a short walk away. Newly refurbished dining room was very pleasant, and staff were efficient and polite. Liked Maggie. Bedroom on the 4th floor was very quiet at night.
Bad points.... My single room, number 422, was very dusty and musty. I spent my first morning wiping everything down with damp cloth, first removing everything from surfaces. The dust was thick. During the clean-up I discovered a half empty sugar sachet, empty milk carton, prescription pill and a black shoe. Disgusting. From there on I used the Do Not Disturb sign on my door and kept the room clean myself during the 7 night stay. Toilet smelled slightly when I arrived and the sink was 'sticky'. The coving in the room needs a repair and the carpet a good clean. I wonder if the bed had ever been pulled out from the wall?The corridor on 4th Floor is dim and drab looking with wall paper starting to peel off. This should be addressed by management before that too becomes worse.
I liked Weymouth and would go there again, but not on a Shearings holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Sagriffiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOfRoyalHotel, Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2011

We are pleased that you, like so many people found the location of our hotel to be convenient. We are lucky enough to be based near to the train station, bus stops and town centre with great views of the beach. The hotel has undergone refurbishment and we are always seeking new ways to continually improve the service we provide. We hope that should you holiday with us again you can reap the benefit of this. Our housekeeping team work very efficiently to ensure that rooms and all public areas are kept clean and tidy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

Spent a long week end here. Was pleased to see there was a new lift installed the old one is still working. The rooms have been re-decorated and the bathrooms up dated.
Very clean, bed was very comfortable and the food was excellent.
Was disappointed that the entertainment was only on the Saturday night but the singer Sarah Mac was excellent and so was the barman Jon Sykes, We had excellent waiting staff and Maggie gets a big mention here for her pleasant manner
all in all a good value hotel, right on the sea front with a short walk to the shops and l mean a short walk

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dollythemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOfRoyalHotel, Owner at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2011

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and found the service and food excellent. We do have lively entertainment on Saturdays but have found that a large number of guests prefer to sit in the top bar and enjoy views of the sea on an evening. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

We stayed at this hotel for a long week end the hotel is beautiful, nice and clean, and the food lovely. We had a room that was furnished for disabled people this didn't bother us at all, it was a lovely big room, nicely decorated, there were even pull cords should there be a problem during the night. As we work for a sheltered housing scheme, this felt like home from home. The down side to this hotel is that there was only a bit of entertainment on on saturday night this really spoiled our week end as we had been told on booking there would be entertainment each night of our stay. When I enquired why had this been changed I was informed that Shearings had changed this the week before. You don't expect to come away and then find there is nothing going on in your hotel. On departing we noticed an advertisement for a special Take That Tribute Evening the following Wednesday Typical! no good when your only there for the week end is it. Come on Shearings get your act together this hotel is brilliant we were thinking of bringing a group of people down to stay but no entertainment, well no booking.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pippaBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOfRoyalHotel, Owner at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2011

I am very pleased to hear that you were happy with your accommodation and food, your room is one of my favourites! We are constantly working to improve our standards to provide you with the best service possible. We do have entertainment most nights. We have left some nights free for guests to enjoy the evening at their own leisure. A large majority of guests like to sit in the window of the top bar to enjoy the sea views or take an evening stroll along the Esplanade. We do have entertainment 3 nights out of four on a Monday to Friday break so maybe that would be better suited to you. I do look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2011

I've just got back from a fantastic break at the royal - Newley refurbished it looks great - had a glorious time would recommend to any one !!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jsentertain01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOfRoyalHotel, Owner at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2011

Thank you for your lovely comment! I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay. We have undergone some major refurbishments to improve the hotel and we have received positive feedback about it. I look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#5 of 22 in Weymouth
512 reviews
2.2 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#20 of 22 in Weymouth
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
#6 of 22 in Weymouth
704 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
296 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#15 of 22 in Weymouth
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel

Address: 90-91 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 7AX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Price Range: £67 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal is an impressive building of intricate architecture built in the ‘Free Renaissance’ style and boasting fantastic views over the beach and bay. Only a short stroll to the shops, seaside attractions and the famously beautiful harbour and marina, the location could not be better for exploring all that Weymouth has to offer. Despite its imposing structure, the Royal is enjoyed for its warm and friendly atmosphere. The hotel benefits from a games room and comfortable lounges in which to enjoy the entertainment. During the day you also have the option to relax in the public bar whilst you admire the views overlooking the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Ebookers so you can book your Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Weymouth
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing