We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful but too run down!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful but too run down!”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This is a grand building but is too run down. We had a premier room which was almost brand new so was great, with a view right over Weymouth sea front, however the windows were in such a bad state It would be freezing in the colder months, ensuite was also new so lovley. Service was good and friendly however the food in the restaurant was appalling, so bad that despite paying for half board, after the first night we booked into a local restaurant for the remainder of our stay. Also, there is NO parking, so if you are luckly enough to get a space you don't want to move your car again until you leave.

Room Tip: Don't go for anything less than a premier room - overlooking sea front are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOfRoyalHotel, General Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Im pleased that you found the service to be good and friendly. Im very concerned to hear about your experience in the restaurant. Should you have reported any issues a member of our friendly staff would have rectified any issues immediately. We do not have a car park but we do have a limited number of parking permits to assist our guests, these are not compulsory and guests can choose to pay for parking in a car park if they wish. We are working closely with our Chefs to improve the service provided. I look forward to welcoming you back should you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    135
    115
    46
    32
See reviews for
61
223
36
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Went for a autumn break here with a friend what a beautiful hotel, right on the beach, was lucky with the weather, lovely views and staff were very friendly only downfall was the food & entertainment, and bar prices expensive so make sure you take plenty of dosh with you.
Rooms clean and tidy, but towel rail never got hot enough to warm them, even though there were signs be careful very hot lol. Rooms I feel need a little more attention to the decor carpets not completely clean there were stain's and bathroom spelt damp so leave the extractor fan on while you are out, this quickly resolves the matter. Restaurant welcoming, shame the food wasn't. Chefs special weren't any better either. Sausages at breakfast were so cheap and nasty full of breadcrumbs no meat. Avoid at all costs.
Atmosphere in hotel during afternoon was like waiting for god so dull and boring which was a shame as the decor was beautiful Evening's wasn't much better especially as the entertainment was limited and when there were entertainment it was guess work what time it ended, mind you some acts especially on Friday night was zzzzzzzzzzz Most guests went to bed about 9 ish. Overall I would visit again as Weymouth is a beautiful place to visit and the hotel overall gets the thumbs up just needs a little more attention to the comments made on this site, on the food and entertainment value. Thank you

Room Tip: Sea view room is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeanBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOfRoyalHotel, General Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We do pay attention to each and every comment on this site to help us improve the service we provide our guests with. I’m pleased that you like so many of our guests enjoyed the views and found the staff friendly. We currently have entertainment six nights a week which takes form with quizzes, bingo and live music from various acts, As of November we return to 7 nights a week entertainment for the winter. I look forward to welcoming you back should you return
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

When I phoned the hotel I wanted to book for bed and breakfast but was told that I could only book for dinner, bed and breakfast. However, on checking there was a notice on the Reception Desk offering bed and breakfast.

They only had two sittings for dinner, this meant that the staff were really pushed to get three courses out and cleared before the next sitting. However, when the food came it was "school dinner" style, everything apart from the vegetables plated up. One of the Chef's Specials was Bangers and Mash- surely a basic not a special. Also why would a delicacy like Potted Shrimps be fried. After the first night we ate out.

They have tried to update the public rooms and the views over the bay are great but in the room we had there was little sign of attention to detail. The bathroom suite was new but the spotlight was partly out of the ceiling, the grab bar was rusting and the towel rail did not heat up. This would have been useful as one of the towels fell into the bath and it took two days before it was replaced. The bed creaked badly and was very uncomfortable.

The old fashioned yale lock meant that we could not lock the door at night and to top it all when we came back on our last evening the door was open as it had not been closed properly when housekeeping made the bed.

It would also have been nice to see the Manager during our stay but we never saw him once.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOfRoyalHotel, General Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here with us. We do offer bed and breakfast on a walk in basis however if you are traveling via coach or self drive package this option is not available as dinner is included in your package. We have a wide variety of Chefs specials and the Bangers and Mash dish is always popular. Should you have reported any issues to any of our friendly staff they would have rectified immediately for you. I have taken your comments regarding the bedrooms onboard as we constantly looking too improve our guests stays to ensure maximum comfort. The female management team work various shifts throughout the week and weekend, so it is unfortunate that you missed us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Royal should you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Weymouth hotels

Worcestershire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I stayed here for three nights from 09.08.13. I am pleased to see that there is now someone managing the Restaurant. When I was there the place was understaffed; we were left standing at the restaurant entrance on the first night waiting for someone to come and show us to our table; service was extremely poor; waiting times unacceptable; buffet breakfast table - hardly anything on it even 20 minutes before end of service; run out of coffee & milk in the evenings; tables not cleared; at breakfast place looked like a bomb had hit it and we were left on two mornings trying to sort out a table for ourselves and find our own crockery and cutlery. I felt desperately sorry for the waiting staff who were run off their feet and looked embarrassed that they could not provide a proper restaurant service to their customers.
We got locked out on the Saturday night; it was 20 minutes before the night porter came to the door; the doorbell was broken and he had not heard us (nor the hotel phone which we tried ringing) as he was hoovering the bar area!! He was aware that the bell was broken - as were the reception staff - bit no one had thought to put a notice by the bell to warn guests. Despite raising this with reception, the bell was still not working on the Sunday - and there was still no notice in place.
If you get a parking permit for zone H, don't park in a car park within that area. The permit only covers street parking. This wasn't made clear to me by the reception staff or on the map I was given. Result a £60.00 car parking fine!!!
All of these things - particularly the restaurant fiasco - spoilt our trip to this otherwise well located hotel with spotlessly clean & pleasant public rooms and bedrooms.
We have stayed at a lot of Shearings Hotels. They are always good value for money and I have never had cause to complain before but, on this occasion, I was disappointed with our visit.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear may not have a sea view but are quieter. A busy, noisy, seafront road runs close a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jprice864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOfRoyalHotel, Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I can only apologise for your experience in the restaurant. We have recruited new staff and the new restaurant manager is working closely with them to ensure standards are raised and an excellent service is delivered. I again apologise that the doorbell was not working, we have now rectified this. Our reception staff are fully aware that the permit is for on street parking and the map provided also states that the permit is for on street parking in H Zone. I’m pleased that you like so many of our guests found the hotel well located and spotlessly clean. I look forward to welcoming you back should you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

From the outside the Royal Hotel doesn't look up to much but go through the front door and it is excellent. (Make sure you look at the weird fireplace at the end of the room opposite the front door.)
The entire hotel was refurbished last year so it clean and fresh looking everywhere. My room was large and airy with a very high ceiling and the bathroom was on an external wall with lots of daylight and a window that opens. The unsung heroines of the hotel are the housekeepers ("chambermaids" sounds demeaning and they are much more than just "cleaners"). Sharon kept my room very clean and miraculously tidy. All the staff are happy and approachable.
The food is superb with massive portions and the restaurant mangeress should be very proud of herself and her staff for the wonderfully friendly and efficient service.
The hotel is in a central position on the seafront so it's easy to get to anywhere in the town and Weymouth is an ideal base for visiting all sorts of interesting places.
The hotel isn't perfect, I can't afford to stay at one that is, but it is very comfortable, superb value for money and I would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOfRoyalHotel, Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank you for your comments, its lovely to hear that you appreciated the hard work that our friendly housekeepers do, Sharon will be thrilled with the personal mention!
All of our staff here do work to ensure you enjoy your holiday and Im so happy that this was the case.
It was also nice to hear you enjoyed the food and lovely that you appreciated our new Restaurant Manageress, she is continuously striving to ensure that the customer service in our restaurant maintains the highest standard.
Thank you once again for your review and we all look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandybie
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We (2 couples) spent Mon - Fri 19th - 23 Aug at the Royal Hotel Weymouth. A bit outdated like most Hotels. We came by car and had prebooked a Parking Permit. The car parks in Weymouth are very expensive. We had a sea view room with a bay window and could see the whole length of the front. Could not fault the room. Very big and clean. A lovely big bathroom as well. The breakfasts were good, if you were down by 8.30am (breakfasts finished at 9am). After 8.30 there were very little cereals left, with no refilling. Evening meals were fair, chefs specials each night not very good. The hotel is in an excellent position on the front. The staff, all of them were excellent. Would we return to this hotel - definitely.

Room Tip: Book a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Bryan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOfRoyalHotel, Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and for your comments. I have passed them on to the staff. The cereals should be refilled at regular intervals so I apologise if this did not happen during your breakfast, we now have new management in the Restaurant so have passed this comment on. I’m pleased that you like so many of our guests enjoyed the position and the views. I look forward to welcoming you back again should you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

My husband and I stayed 12th - 16th August. We were not part of a coach party.We booked the room online and were allocated a 3 bedded room for which we paid a £20 supplement. It was well worth it. The room overlooked the beach and was a nice size. The bathroom was fine apart from the shower pressure - overcome by having a bath instead. Yes, the dining room was chaotic some days but we understand that they were short staffed. Wayne deserves a special mention as he was great. He was very approachable and nothing was too much trouble.He did not panic when under pressure which unfortunately could not be said for all of the waiting staff.We found the food to be very good apart from our last night when it was awful. I had steak and mushrooms and had to play 'hunt the meat' as had about 2 pieces.It was more like a school dinner than a restaurant meal. I think a lot of people were moaning as they had to wait so long for their food.However, if they sat at tables which were already laid rather than trying to sit in window seats which had not been cleared, it might have helped. It might be an idea to actually have someone just clearing and resetting tables and replenishing the cereals/juices etc rather than the waiting staff trying to do this as well as take orders and serve the food. On the whole, we thought that the staff were friendly, the food mainly good and the bar area ideal for having a drink overlooking the esplanade. I hope to return with my elderly father in September if I can get the same room.

Room Tip: Rooms at front overlooking the beach are best but can be a little noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank RandG1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOfRoyalHotel, Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Im pleased that you like so many of our guests were pleased with your room and our fantastic beach and coastal view. I am concerned about your comment regarding your last evening’s meal and have raised this with the Chef. However if you would have raised an issue with one of our friendly staff they would have replaced your meal immediately. Our restaurant is under new management and making many improvements. I look forward to welcoming you back should you return with your father.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
2.2 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#20 of 22 in Weymouth
1,034 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#8 of 22 in Weymouth
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
#5 of 22 in Weymouth
641 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
267 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Fairhaven Hotel
The Fairhaven Hotel
#17 of 22 in Weymouth
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel

Property: Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
Address: 90-91 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 7AX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal is an impressive building of intricate architecture built in the ‘Free Renaissance’ style and boasting fantastic views over the beach and bay. Only a short stroll to the shops, seaside attractions and the famously beautiful harbour and marina, the location could not be better for exploring all that Weymouth has to offer. Despite its imposing structure, the Royal is enjoyed for its warm and friendly atmosphere. The hotel benefits from a games room and comfortable lounges in which to enjoy the entertainment. During the day you also have the option to relax in the public bar whilst you admire the views overlooking the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Weymouth
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing