We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Cold”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We arrived Monday 11th November with Shearings on a tinsel & turkey first they ran out of mulled wine as we were the last in the hotel but we were not offered anything else . First impressions were good our room was 408 in the terrace we called it the tower very large with 4 windows we were a party of 8 and everyone else had smaller rooms so they all thought ours great, how wrong we all were. . First night no sleep due to terrible mattress springs every where sticking in our backs .Also room so cold poor fitting windows and with 4 we had no chance heating didn't come on till 7am,. Went down early told night porter who did inform management .Getting back from trip next day we were told by reception mattress had been changed had a look didn't seem any better to us, and we were right, no sleep that night either in the morning told the maid she was great said she would sort it she said they did changed the mattress but she would tell them again.So 2 nights without sleeping much and freezing cold what more could a person ask for well nothing it would seem .3rd night we did sleep well at last a decent mattress no thanks to management down to maid l think .Food was average, entertainment great on 2 nights the last night rubbish no mention of it suppose to be new years eve and nothing in her choice of music even to suggest it was. The whole experience to us didn't feel very much like Christmas and that's what we had booked so overall very disappointed and to sum it up l wont even mention the driver so you can read your own thought in to that.
Both Shearings and the Hotel are to blame l know heating its expensive but to cut down so much when rooms came on landing went off last day it was breakfast at 7am so all up at 6am but no heating very poor that's why l hate rated it poor

Room Tip: Don't let them put you in the tower if its Winter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShirleyWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOfRoyalHotel, Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I can only apologise that we had ran out of mulled wine, this has proved very popular and you should have been offered an alternative. Our heating is on timed intervals to ensure guests receive the maximum benefit from it. We do also provide additional heating within the bedrooms if requested. I have taken your comments on board and we will use these to improve the service we provide. I look forward to welcoming you back should you return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (469)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 469 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

Hotel gave the impression of being very dark and dismal when entering, dining room was much brighter.
Parking was good we didn't move our car all weekend.

Bedrooms very clean, tidy and nice and warm.

Dining room needs better organising ! we were given a table for the evenings on two occasions our was taken by other people who said it was first come first served, we understood that was breakfast time ! !

We had a bottle of wine (corked) which we had to go to the bar ourselves to fetch on two evenings even though our table No was on the label, the wine waiter needs to come in earlier to get things organised ! dreadful service.

Room Tip: Quiet at the rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marilyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOfRoyalHotel, Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I’m pleased that you found the rooms clean , tidy and warm. Tables allocated on the first night are not necessarily the tables you will keep throughout your stay. Guests are moved around to meet other guests and also to try and ensure that guests who would not otherwise get a window seat, get the chance to do so. I apologise for the wine not being bought to the table for you and have raised this issue with the bar staff. I look forward to welcoming you back should you return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Stayed at the Royal 21st - 25th on a Shearings holiday. Very nice hotel. Had a sea view room and slept well. Good food. Staff very good.
Rory our coach driver was very informative on his trips.

A few observations. Minor things but could be addressed.

1 : I didn't know there was a wifi connection until the Wednesday afternoon. Tried in our room but nothing. Only found out when I asked at reception if there was a Internet café nearby and was told that internet access via icloud could be accessed downstairs in the public areas. No info anywhere as to the fact or at least I did not see any.
2 : Not enough cupboards with drawers in bedroom. Only two in the dressing table. We like to put our clothes away not leave them for all to see. Had to keep in our suitcase until needed.
3 : When we went into dinner on the first night we were allocated a table. We got chatty with the couple on the table to our left. On the last night when we went for dinner our table had been taken by another couple which did annoy me for as I say we had got to know the people on the other table and it would have been nice to spend the last dinner with them. If one is allocated a table at the beginning then that should be ones table for the duration. I had noticed that some people seemed to move around. Maybe they felt they would not have to tip the waiting staff by doing so.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AledNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOfRoyalHotel, Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and for your comments. Im pleased you enjoyed the Hotel and our fantastic views. Our diners are not allocated tables so they can move around and meet our guests and to also to allow our guests the chance to have sea views in the restaurant. I have taken your comments regarding advertisement of the free wi-fi on board. I look forward to welcoming you back should you return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed at The Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel from 14th October for 5 days
We booked this short break with Shearings .Incidentley it was ourfirst time with them ,we found them to be very good and our driver Rory was brilliant .
The Hotel was very nice ,it had been revamped in 2012 and we felt very welcome .
we paid the extra for a sea view room but was slightly dissapionted with our room 104 . although in fairness it was a lte booking .
For a couple it was rather small ,the bathroom had shower over the bath and the toilet had a sanister behind it which was very noisey both day and night .
We did not let it spoil our stay as we were very lucky to get a seaview room ,the hotel was full .
We did have a nice panoramic window and the Seaview was awesome .
We did however make a complaint ,our radiater was not working ,but with in a few minutes a heater was placed in our room ,which was more than adiquate .
We found all the staff to be proffessional but friendly which was very nice .we were so lucky with the weather ,sunshine most days .
We enjoyed our stay so much that almost immeadiately on returning home we rebooked for a later date next year .
The hotel was very clean and comfortable ,food was nothing more than one would expect for the price paid ,having said that ,I do feel there is a little room for improvement with the main evening meals ,although quite edible not our favourite part of the evening meal .the starters and desserts were awesome .Breakfast was good ,plenty of choice from fruit juice, cereals, grapefruit ,prunes,yoguarts ,porriage ,as well as cooked breakfast foods .toast jam and marmalade and hot tea or coffee all very good .
Entertainment was ok ,and you had a choice of the Bar or two lounges ,the fire places in these lounges were really beautiful . The Dining room was very nice ,seaview rooms are best in my view , the extra charge is well worth it .
Thanks go to Shearings ,Rory our coach driver who was very good , the Royal Hotel in itself and all stall who ensured we had a very pleasent stay .
See you all next year .

Room Tip: rooms with seaviews are lovely rooms at the back of Hotel are quieter /away from road .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ginga325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOfRoyalHotel, General Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and for your lovely comments. Im so pleased that you like so many of our guests enjoyed the lovely sea views. We are constantly making improvements to the services which we provide. We are currently working closely with our Chefs to continue to improve our food quality, Im delighted you enjoyed your starters and desserts so much. I have passed your comments onto Rory and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Booked a shearing 5 day break, and added 3 more days, we enjoyed our stay last November so much, decided to do the same this year.Booked the premier room which was lovely, except for the 4 poster bed ! it was so very painful getting in and out of the bed because there is a wooden trim which digs into the back of your legs, (had a very nasty bruise 2in and very painful all holiday).
On arrival Caroline & Lewis & restaurant manager gave a very warm welcome and helpful during the stay. Kyle in the restaurant is an asset to hotel.
I don't know why they don't get rid of 4posterbed its ugly and makes a lovely room look small, just get a king size bed, one you can sit on the edge of bed!!!!!!!
Our food was good, staff pleasant, a good base to explore Dorset X53 is just across the road which runs along the coast (with a bus pass its free)
Will be back next year, would love to have the same room 217 but the bed puts me off.
I am 5ft 9in my husband 6ft 1in....yet our feet could not reach the floor when sitting on the edge of bed!!!!!!!

Room Tip: sea views are good, to the left of hotel, the entertainment is there, in our room you could hear the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Irene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOfRoyalHotel, General Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and for your comments. I have passed your comments onto Carolyn, Lewis, Toria and Kyle. I’m so sorry to hear of your incident with the bed, I can only apologise for this and assure you we are looking into this. I look forward to welcoming you back when you return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed there as a group of 20 in a walking group. The hotel is well positioned with a great view of the sea - you can watch the sun rise over the sea in the morning, so it is well worth the extra for a sea view. In general hotel has been upgraded in 2012 for the olympics so bathroom fittings and furniture are all new. Kettle & tea/coffee in room. The dining room is well run with efficient and friendly staff. Gourmet it is not, but excellent value for money and the range is OK. In the off season (Oct) we were able to park outside for free, using vouchers provided by the hotel but in the peak season it may be more difficult. Bus stops just outside so great for public transport with the station close by. All in all, an excellent value hotel for a short stay in Weymouth

Room Tip: Choose upgraded room with a sea view. may be a bit noisy with traffic but well worth it for a sea vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FOTB2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOfRoyalHotel, General Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and for your comments. I couldn’t agree more that the hotel is in an excellent location, close to transport links and with an excellent sea view. We have made some changes to the dining room to improve service so I am pleased that these were noticed. I look forward to welcoming you back should you return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

We have just recently stayed at the royal hotel in Weymouth again, and what a lovely holiday it was the first thing we came across is the improvements to the dinning room greeted by the new restaurant manager ( toria ) a very professional and welcoming young lady recently promoted from housekeeping and well deserved I must say gone are the 15 minute sittings now to one at 6 and one at seven a great improvement so much more relaxed and organized and well managed. Then on to our room we had room 112 which is a superior room but we like to pay that little extra to get a slightly bigger room kept to a high standard clean and inviting kept up by another credit to the team ( Sharon ). Then on to the bar and another welcomed addition the new bars manager ( Dave ) or should I say the old one back where he belongs as he was a few years ago, a very polite and friendly professional young man my only criticism the entertainment should be down stairs. I would like to say well done for all your improvements so far and if these continue a five star hotel in the making !!!! To end if you have tried this hotel in the past its well worth another chance to change your opinion great improvements in the last year.well done !!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dennis91175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOfRoyalHotel, General Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and for your lovely comments. We are continuously improving our standards and im so thrilled that this was noticed by you. I have passed your comments onto Toria, Dave and Sharon. I look forward to welcoming you back should you return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#6 of 22 in Weymouth
506 reviews
2.2 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#20 of 22 in Weymouth
1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
292 reviews
4 mi away
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
#5 of 22 in Weymouth
690 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#15 of 22 in Weymouth
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel

Address: 90-91 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 7AX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Price Range: £56 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal is an impressive building of intricate architecture built in the ‘Free Renaissance’ style and boasting fantastic views over the beach and bay. Only a short stroll to the shops, seaside attractions and the famously beautiful harbour and marina, the location could not be better for exploring all that Weymouth has to offer. Despite its imposing structure, the Royal is enjoyed for its warm and friendly atmosphere. The hotel benefits from a games room and comfortable lounges in which to enjoy the entertainment. During the day you also have the option to relax in the public bar whilst you admire the views overlooking the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Weymouth
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing