We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend with friends”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great Weekend with friends”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We arrived at the hotel on Friday 6th December and we were upgraded to a premier seaview room free of charge. The view was of the whole of the bay and it was amazing, the bathroom was fairly new and had a bath and separate shower. The food was generally good at all meal times, but the service at breakfast was quite slow. The show on the Friday night was only ok but on Saturday night it was really good the entertainer kept us laughing and singing all night,"Brilliant" didn't want it to finish. We went with two friends and they had an upgrade as well which was good, we all said we would definitely be back again loved the hotel, staff and Weymouth.

Room Tip: Always try and get a sea view room as the views are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jonno1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOfRoyalHotel, Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with and for your kind comments. Im thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. I completely agree that the view is amazing and Im glad you had a seaview room to benefit from this. I will pass your comments onto the Saturday night entertainer who will be overjoyed that you had such a great time. I look forward to welcoming you back when you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    135
    111
    43
    32
See reviews for
61
217
34
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Went for Turkey & Tinsel weekend.
Let's start with what was good about it:-

The staff all tried really hard to give us a good experience. Special mentions to Toria and Maggie.
The musician, Steve Davis was really good.

Now the less than good:-

- The place needs a LOT of attention.4
- Bedroom doors have cracked paint. Look like not painted since 1968.
- No cold water supply to 4th floor in morning. So our friends moved to 2nd floor. Same problem next morning. Yes - know it's an old building. It was not much younger when we booked.
- Interesting combo for breakfast. Ham on toast topped by poached egg. Ham was stone cold.
- The range of the continental breakfast did not reach the Travel Inn.
- Turkey for dinner was ok, but if you don't like sprouts it's carrots only. The roast spuds were soft and cold.
- Considering we thought we were there for a Christmassy break, it was no more Christmassy than any other weekend, in November/December. Learned that they did Christmas previous tuesday.
We won't be falling for that again.
- Parking is a nightmare. To get a decent space you need to be there before 3pm.

Overall, not disastrous but a mediocre performance rescued by a few very good staff.

Room Tip: When an upgraded room on 2nd floor does not get water pressure I really don't know what advice t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOfRoyalHotel, Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I have passed your comments onto Toria, Maggie and Steve. As stated at time of booking we do not have our own car park, however we do offer a limited number of parking permits for on street parking. We provide these to try and make things easier for guests, however you are free to pay to use a public car park should you wish. Breakfast is a wide variety of fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereals, fruit juice, porridge and a variety of cooked breakfasts. It’s your choice how you have your breakfast. We are constantly improving the Hotel and the service we provide, I look forward to welcoming you back should you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Had a T&T weekend here.
Had bad start when my suitcase was dumped opposite end of long corridor. Had to go looking for it. Would have ruined weekend if stolen.
Food ok staff pleasant.
Entertainment poor. Cost of drinks outrageous ! £1.85 for small glass of lemonade just daylight robbery.
Room was freezing cold first night then too hot the next .
Bathroom was surface clean but shower full of mold .
Good location and beautiful sea view.
Wouldn't be my first choice in future.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stlynda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOfRoyalHotel, Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Im pleased that you like so many of our guests found the hotel to be in a good location with a beautiful sea view. The radiators in the room are easy to adjust should you get to hot or cold. Suitcases are dropped off outside the lift and then brought directly to guests rooms, perhaps if you would have waited a tiny bit longer this would have been confirmed for you. I can only apologise about the shower. Should this have been reported then we would have rectified this immediately. I look forward to welcoming you back should you decide to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

WeI returned on Monday 18/11 from a turkey & tinsel weekend break, we went with Shearings thisc what the website states Luxury return coach travel, I can assure you this was the most uncomfotable coach I have ever had the misfortune to travel on.
3 or 4 nights accommodation in a very cold and below standard hotel room with damp walls and celing wallpaper patched up, very poor needs a full make over,
Mulled wine on arrival yes, we did receive this.
Traditional full cooked breakfasts ok very small portions.
3-course evening meals again ok
Traditional Christmas dinner with a free glass of wine this was mediocre
Festive afternoon tea: we missed this as we had no itenary to tell us when this was happening. However. I did hear this was just a cup of tea/coffee and a peice of Christmas cake!!!!!!
Festive entertainment that was a joke we were pushed up in a corner in the bar no entertainment to speak of, if this is an indication of how Christmas should be I would rather not bother.

The was a wedding in the hotel I do beleive we became the poor relations as we were provided with a man trying to sing in the bar with limited seating we did not have a function room it was a very poor attempt at Christmas to say we were dissapointed was an understatment.
It was supposed to be a Christmas treat it turned out to be a very expensive farce.
We have used several coach companies before and had always thought that Shearings were supposed to be the top coach operator, It would appear that we were so wrong, This was by no means a turkey & tinsel break we do feel that this was totally misold to us, it should have stated a weekend away with limited entertainment in a budget hotel.

I beleive we should have been given a full itenery by the driver or even the receptionist when we checked in.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Annetteoreilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOfRoyalHotel, Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Im so sorry you found the Hotel room to be below standard, I am very surprised by this. We have undergone many renovations within the hotel to improve it and have had a massive amount of positive feedback. Should you have reported any issues with the room a member of our friendly staff would have rectified them immediately. There are full itineries available on the reception desk for all guests to see and if you had asked you would have been directed to one. Our guests have really enjoyed our festive breaks and once again we have received positive feedback, so I am sorry this was not the case for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Weymouth hotels

West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We arrived Monday 11th November with Shearings on a tinsel & turkey first they ran out of mulled wine as we were the last in the hotel but we were not offered anything else . First impressions were good our room was 408 in the terrace we called it the tower very large with 4 windows we were a party of 8 and everyone else had smaller rooms so they all thought ours great, how wrong we all were. . First night no sleep due to terrible mattress springs every where sticking in our backs .Also room so cold poor fitting windows and with 4 we had no chance heating didn't come on till 7am,. Went down early told night porter who did inform management .Getting back from trip next day we were told by reception mattress had been changed had a look didn't seem any better to us, and we were right, no sleep that night either in the morning told the maid she was great said she would sort it she said they did changed the mattress but she would tell them again.So 2 nights without sleeping much and freezing cold what more could a person ask for well nothing it would seem .3rd night we did sleep well at last a decent mattress no thanks to management down to maid l think .Food was average, entertainment great on 2 nights the last night rubbish no mention of it suppose to be new years eve and nothing in her choice of music even to suggest it was. The whole experience to us didn't feel very much like Christmas and that's what we had booked so overall very disappointed and to sum it up l wont even mention the driver so you can read your own thought in to that.
Both Shearings and the Hotel are to blame l know heating its expensive but to cut down so much when rooms came on landing went off last day it was breakfast at 7am so all up at 6am but no heating very poor that's why l hate rated it poor

Room Tip: Don't let them put you in the tower if its Winter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShirleyWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOfRoyalHotel, Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I can only apologise that we had ran out of mulled wine, this has proved very popular and you should have been offered an alternative. Our heating is on timed intervals to ensure guests receive the maximum benefit from it. We do also provide additional heating within the bedrooms if requested. I have taken your comments on board and we will use these to improve the service we provide. I look forward to welcoming you back should you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Hotel gave the impression of being very dark and dismal when entering, dining room was much brighter.
Parking was good we didn't move our car all weekend.

Bedrooms very clean, tidy and nice and warm.

Dining room needs better organising ! we were given a table for the evenings on two occasions our was taken by other people who said it was first come first served, we understood that was breakfast time ! !

We had a bottle of wine (corked) which we had to go to the bar ourselves to fetch on two evenings even though our table No was on the label, the wine waiter needs to come in earlier to get things organised ! dreadful service.

Room Tip: Quiet at the rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marilyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOfRoyalHotel, Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I’m pleased that you found the rooms clean , tidy and warm. Tables allocated on the first night are not necessarily the tables you will keep throughout your stay. Guests are moved around to meet other guests and also to try and ensure that guests who would not otherwise get a window seat, get the chance to do so. I apologise for the wine not being bought to the table for you and have raised this issue with the bar staff. I look forward to welcoming you back should you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Stayed at the Royal 21st - 25th on a Shearings holiday. Very nice hotel. Had a sea view room and slept well. Good food. Staff very good.
Rory our coach driver was very informative on his trips.

A few observations. Minor things but could be addressed.

1 : I didn't know there was a wifi connection until the Wednesday afternoon. Tried in our room but nothing. Only found out when I asked at reception if there was a Internet café nearby and was told that internet access via icloud could be accessed downstairs in the public areas. No info anywhere as to the fact or at least I did not see any.
2 : Not enough cupboards with drawers in bedroom. Only two in the dressing table. We like to put our clothes away not leave them for all to see. Had to keep in our suitcase until needed.
3 : When we went into dinner on the first night we were allocated a table. We got chatty with the couple on the table to our left. On the last night when we went for dinner our table had been taken by another couple which did annoy me for as I say we had got to know the people on the other table and it would have been nice to spend the last dinner with them. If one is allocated a table at the beginning then that should be ones table for the duration. I had noticed that some people seemed to move around. Maybe they felt they would not have to tip the waiting staff by doing so.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AledNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOfRoyalHotel, Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and for your comments. Im pleased you enjoyed the Hotel and our fantastic views. Our diners are not allocated tables so they can move around and meet our guests and to also to allow our guests the chance to have sea views in the restaurant. I have taken your comments regarding advertisement of the free wi-fi on board. I look forward to welcoming you back should you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Seafront Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#6 of 22 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#10 of 22 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Fairhaven Hotel
The Fairhaven Hotel
#15 of 22 in Weymouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel

Property: Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
Address: 90-91 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 7AX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal is an impressive building of intricate architecture built in the ‘Free Renaissance’ style and boasting fantastic views over the beach and bay. Only a short stroll to the shops, seaside attractions and the famously beautiful harbour and marina, the location could not be better for exploring all that Weymouth has to offer. Despite its imposing structure, the Royal is enjoyed for its warm and friendly atmosphere. The hotel benefits from a games room and comfortable lounges in which to enjoy the entertainment. During the day you also have the option to relax in the public bar whilst you admire the views overlooking the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Weymouth
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing