We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Accommodation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Accommodation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

We have had five wonderful days at this hotel. The food has been excellent - plenty of choice at breakfast, and it was served hot. The three-course evening meal, with choices for each course, was excellent. While some people may see the decor as "shabby" it seemed very acceptable to us; this is an old building and the decoration seems suitable to it. The one problem we found was that the bedroom floor creaked a lot! - but as we had a great view overlooking the sea we put up with that. On arrival we phoned reception for a mattress topper for one bed and this was fitted before we had unpacked. The staff were very obliging at all times. If you stay there be sure to look at the memorial across the road, with details of preparations for D-Day in the Weymouth area.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOfRoyalHotel, Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Hi Alan S. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and for your lovely comments. We are constantly striving to improve the service we provide, so I’m thrilled that you found the food excellent and the view great. I look forward to welcoming you back should you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    133
    102
    42
    31
See reviews for
60
209
31
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
kent
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

Lovely stay at the hotel only a few grumbles but overall would stay again if we had same room 214 2nd floor big views and nice warm clean room ,did ask for a mattress topper for my bed but within 30mins housekeeping at the door to sort problem out. did not put us off stay, food v nice but food portions were a bit sparse but again it was 3 courses so ample to get nosebag tucked into .one waitress was particularly abrupt and not very helpful ..didn't tip her... so if you are thinking of using shearings and this hotel do...one tip we went on a trip to Portland Bill .stunning views,coach driver came upon a gentleman who was a diver and long term resident of Portland and he agreed to come on the coach and give us a guided tour he was an absolute gem of a find he was informative name of Selwyn Williams ,please ask them to continue with his services..

Room Tip: room 214 for a splendid view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jabbasKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOfRoyalHotel, Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Hi JabbasKent. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I’m pleased you found the food of very good quality. Most of our guests usually remark on how generous our portions are, so I’m very surprised to hear that you found them sparse. Our staff work very hard to ensure our guests are as comfortable as possible, so I’m glad your request was dealt with swiftly. I look forward to welcoming you back should you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

My cousin and his wife held a party to celebrate their earlier marriage in Crete and picked this hotel.

The staff were really delightful and happy to point the way to the nearest shops (just up the road) and we were given our room key.

Although the stairwell and corridors were a little shabby when we entered our room we were perfectly happy with it. The bed was nice and comfy and the room warm. They were excellent at catering for the baby too, providing a cotbed and blankets for her.

Overall really happy with the stay and would deffo go again

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cersai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOfRoyalHotel, Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Hi Cersai . Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us and for your lovely comments. Our number one priority is keeping our guests happy so it’s lovely to hear that this was achieved. I have passed your lovely comments onto the staff. I’m thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back should you return again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

We have stayed in Weymouth numerous times and usually in a hotel a bit further along the sea front. It was nice to be so close to the shops and the sea front literally just across the road. The hotel surroundings were very nice and a mix of old and contemporary. Food was lovely and the staff were all very polite and helpful. Although we booked with Shearings we drove ourself and the hotel provide a parking permit. I would stay again, as it is a great base to explore surrounding areas yourself. Entertainment was limited but we are not party animals so was sufficient for us.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOfRoyalHotel, Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Hi Zoark. Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us and for your lovely comments. Many of our guests are satisfied with the location as we are close to so many transport links, the town centre and have the beach on our doorstep. I’m so pleased you benefitted from this. I have passed your comments on to Chef and other members of staff. I look forward to welcoming you back should you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Just returned from a fabulous New Year Break at the Bay Royal Hotel, Weymouth. We were a little worried when choosing this hotel as it is a Sherrings Hotel, mainly catering for coaches. We need not have worried we were treated marvelously, we had chosen to have a sea view room (a little extra). We had Room 108 on the first floor with a lovely balcony. It was a huge twin bedded room with fantastic sea view. The hotel is very convenient for the town centre. The staff were all very attentive, without exception, and the amount and choice of food excellent.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and if we return might update to a premier or superior room.

Although they do NOT have a car park they can provide parking permits.

Room Tip: Room 108 on the first floor - very spacious. Had two steps up to the bathroom but the steps were mar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PAT S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOfRoyalHotel, Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Hi 40PAT. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and for your lovely comments. I’m thrilled that you enjoyed your stay so much. I have passed your kind comments on to the staff and the chef. We are lucky enough to be situated in an excellent location, close to all the main transport links, on the seafront and a very short stroll from the town centre. I am pleased that you benefitted from this. I look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

We arrived at the hotel on Friday 6th December and we were upgraded to a premier seaview room free of charge. The view was of the whole of the bay and it was amazing, the bathroom was fairly new and had a bath and separate shower. The food was generally good at all meal times, but the service at breakfast was quite slow. The show on the Friday night was only ok but on Saturday night it was really good the entertainer kept us laughing and singing all night,"Brilliant" didn't want it to finish. We went with two friends and they had an upgrade as well which was good, we all said we would definitely be back again loved the hotel, staff and Weymouth.

Room Tip: Always try and get a sea view room as the views are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jonno1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOfRoyalHotel, Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with and for your kind comments. Im thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. I completely agree that the view is amazing and Im glad you had a seaview room to benefit from this. I will pass your comments onto the Saturday night entertainer who will be overjoyed that you had such a great time. I look forward to welcoming you back when you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

Went for Turkey & Tinsel weekend.
Let's start with what was good about it:-

The staff all tried really hard to give us a good experience. Special mentions to Toria and Maggie.
The musician, Steve Davis was really good.

Now the less than good:-

- The place needs a LOT of attention.4
- Bedroom doors have cracked paint. Look like not painted since 1968.
- No cold water supply to 4th floor in morning. So our friends moved to 2nd floor. Same problem next morning. Yes - know it's an old building. It was not much younger when we booked.
- Interesting combo for breakfast. Ham on toast topped by poached egg. Ham was stone cold.
- The range of the continental breakfast did not reach the Travel Inn.
- Turkey for dinner was ok, but if you don't like sprouts it's carrots only. The roast spuds were soft and cold.
- Considering we thought we were there for a Christmassy break, it was no more Christmassy than any other weekend, in November/December. Learned that they did Christmas previous tuesday.
We won't be falling for that again.
- Parking is a nightmare. To get a decent space you need to be there before 3pm.

Overall, not disastrous but a mediocre performance rescued by a few very good staff.

Room Tip: When an upgraded room on 2nd floor does not get water pressure I really don't know what advice t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOfRoyalHotel, Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I have passed your comments onto Toria, Maggie and Steve. As stated at time of booking we do not have our own car park, however we do offer a limited number of parking permits for on street parking. We provide these to try and make things easier for guests, however you are free to pay to use a public car park should you wish. Breakfast is a wide variety of fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereals, fruit juice, porridge and a variety of cooked breakfasts. It’s your choice how you have your breakfast. We are constantly improving the Hotel and the service we provide, I look forward to welcoming you back should you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Rembrandt
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Seafront Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#6 of 22 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#10 of 22 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Fairhaven Hotel
The Fairhaven Hotel
#15 of 22 in Weymouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel

Property: Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
Address: 90-91 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 7AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal is an impressive building of intricate architecture built in the ‘Free Renaissance’ style and boasting fantastic views over the beach and bay. Only a short stroll to the shops, seaside attractions and the famously beautiful harbour and marina, the location could not be better for exploring all that Weymouth has to offer. Despite its imposing structure, the Royal is enjoyed for its warm and friendly atmosphere. The hotel benefits from a games room and comfortable lounges in which to enjoy the entertainment. During the day you also have the option to relax in the public bar whilst you admire the views overlooking the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Weymouth
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing