We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The wedding reception was here” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“The wedding reception was here”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

After a beautiful wedding in St John's church we walked to the Royal for the reception in the downstairs function room. The room looked beautiful, layed out in the lovely colours chosen for the wedding, the waiting staff (not the bar men) were very good but Oh the prices in the little bar were completely inconsistent and ridiculously high, depending who served you and who was watching, sometimes a pint was £5 or more and sometimes £4, so that side of it was not good.
There was a nice large billiard room for the children, complete with cues and balls, that was fun!

Room Tip: Choose one facing the sea and high up, it might be a bit noisy but the view is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalManager, Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Hi Mel B. Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Im so pleased that you found the function room beautiful and the Children had fun in the billiard room. We are becoming very popular for functions and love to hear feedback from them. With regard to the bar prices, our bar tariffs are made public by price lists hung on the wall and our wine menus. All our tills are pre programmed with prices of the drinks on them, we are currently looking into how any confusion could have occurred. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Royal Hotel should you return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    133
    102
    42
    31
See reviews for
60
209
31
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kidderminster, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

Went on this holiday with great expectations. All went well until we reached our room (401). The mattress on the bed so bad you could feel the springs. When we complained a blanket was placed over the mattress.. Could not shower due to there being a lack or water pressure, the same problem with the sink taps that it took a long time get enough water in the sink to have a decent wash with.. Complaints to reception fell on deaf ears. Food in the restaurant was ok. Shower if it could be used was dirty. House keeping left a lot to be desired. All in all not a very good experience.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a decent room. (Should not have to)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Vincent T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalManager, Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Hi Vincent T. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here with us. I am very disappointed to hear that your stay fell short of our usual high standards. Unfortunately due to the Hotel being at full capacity for the Carnival we could not move you into a room that you may have felt more comfortable in. We are currently upgrading the mattresses in the rooms. Water pressure can be low when there is a high demand at peak times to the majority of our rooms. We appreciate all feedback and use it to improve the service we provide. Should you return I am confident you would notice the continuous improvements we are making.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Weymouth hotels

Easingwold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

We had a good week, a very good view of the sea front. The room was nice. Food was okay can do with a bit more salad with 1st course. Services not to bad had to wait 15 minutes to order meal one night nice friendly staff excellent drivers Geoff and Steve not much entertainment on a night.

Room Tip: Room 207 has a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank backy113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalManager, Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Hi backy113. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your week with us and enjoyed your lovely view of the beach and surrounding area. I have passed your comments onto the Staff and Steve and Geoff. I look forward to welcoming you back should you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

After reading previous reviews on the royal hotel weymouth, we decided to book the hotel for our yearly holiday.
On arrival there was no welcome, when we eventually entered our room it was like walking into a sauna, the window only opened 3 inches and there were no fans available till the next day.
The food was good but not a lot of choice and the service at times was unbelievable.
Entertainment was only on 4 evenings of the 7night stay and was very poor luckily we managed to find another hotel that did entertainment during our stay that was brilliant.
Bar prices expensive compared to other local hotels.
There were only 4 members of staff who stood out during our stay who were very friendly and helpful.
We will definitely not be returning to this hotel

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalManager, General Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear David S,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.
I am disappointed to hear that your recent stay did not meet all your expectations.
However I would like to comment that our windows are restricted to ensure guest safety as the building is very tall and some windows are very large. We did find a very high demand for fans during the very hot temperatures during your fist night however we endeavoured to purchase extra fans the very next morning.
We offer fantastic value for money with a Table D'Hote Menu consisting of 3 starters, 5 main courses and 4 desserts which changes daily.
Our staff strive to offer excellent service in all areas of their work and high standards of training are adhered to. I am pleased that 4 members of our staff stood out, which can be difficult with over 120 guests to cater for and I shall endeavour to give praise where praise is due.
We do find during the summer the majority of our guests like to relax with long walks along the promenade and chatting with friends and relatives rather than being entertained every evening, and that 4 out of 7 nights entertainment creates a very nice balance and keeps all of our guests happy.
Our pricing structure is very reasonable, only £1.40 for a glass of Pepsi and just £3.60 for a pint of bitter. We also run excellent value for money promotions with regards to doubling up on spirits.

Once again thank you for your review
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Went on a self drive weekend stay ay the Bay Royal Hotel. Very nice hotel, rooms clean, bed comfortable. We had half board and the food was very good for what we paid for the weekend. Waitress service and a good choice of meals. Had a sea facing room lovely view can be a bit noisy but you are right on the front. The hotel situation is excellent you couldn't get any nearer the beach also not far from the shopping centre. Lots of pubs and restaurant near by. Staff at the hotel very helpful and pleasant. I would go there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Curlymop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalManager, General Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us at The Royal Hotel.
We are always pleased to hear such positive comments I shall pass these on to the rest of the team. We do hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
251 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Admittedly we were not guests at the hotel, but given there wasn't a decent restaurant in sight on the front in Weymouth this seemed like a good place to eat. The food was frankly below average...the chicken caesar salad was greenish white as all it contained was shredded iceberg lettuce & chicken slices & piles of dressing, the ploughman's...shameful. No ploughman could survive on that! Generally very poor & if that is the food you eat as a guest then I don't think I'll stay there!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank TopsMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalManager, General Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent visit.
I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our bar menu, with regards to some of your comments our chicken Caesar salad consists of shredded iceberg lettuce, sliced chicken breast, crispy bacon strips, croutons, Caesar dressing and parmesan cheese. Our Ploughman's Lunch is a signature dish created by top chefs in our company, and is presented to a standard consistent throughout our chain, and has been very well received. Our bar menu has been designed to offer classic much loved dishes at reasonable prices and I feel that we meet this brief to an excellent standard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We have recently had a marvellous holiday at The Bay Royal hotel! We have stayed at a number of Shearing hotels and this is one of the best!! The location is superb, just cross the road and you are straight onto the beautiful, sandy beach. My mum's room was a slightly more old-fashioned decor but extremely comfortable and clean. She was at the front and had a spectacular view. Our room was lovely and newly-refurbished and although at the rear, still had a very pleasant outlook. We had a slight problem with our window and someone came up from reception and sorted it out straight away. The food was delicious with an extensive choice. The two seating times for dinner was a good idea, especially if you needed to go out.
We loved the hotel's authenticity, mixed with the newer, modern features that have been added. It's very spacious, with lots of lovely, comfortable seating.
The entertainment was great but we feel it needed to be publicized more in reception, perhaps a poster and artist's photo.
You couldn't have been looked after any better by the wonderful staff. We especially want to thank Denise and her helpful receptionists, one being Lewis. He was brilliant! A one-man tourist information and if he didn't know the answer,he swiftly looked it up for you. A definite asset to the Bay Royal! Sona really looked after us in restaurant,nothing too much trouble for her, she was great! This was all topped off by June, who made sure our rooms were fresh and spick and span. Such a lovely, happy lady!
A BIG THANK YOU TO ALL AT THE BAY ROYAL, WE WILL RETURN AS SOON AS WE ARE ABLE AND WOULD HAPPILY RECOMMEND YOUR TERRIFIC HOTEL!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank smaceno3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalManager, Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Hi smaceno3. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and for your lovely comments. Our number one priority is ensuring that our guests have the best holiday possible. So I am thrilled that this has been achieved. I have passed your lovely comments onto the Staff. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Royal Hotel when you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Rembrandt
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Seafront Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#6 of 22 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#10 of 22 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Fairhaven Hotel
The Fairhaven Hotel
#15 of 22 in Weymouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel

Property: Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
Address: 90-91 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 7AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal is an impressive building of intricate architecture built in the ‘Free Renaissance’ style and boasting fantastic views over the beach and bay. Only a short stroll to the shops, seaside attractions and the famously beautiful harbour and marina, the location could not be better for exploring all that Weymouth has to offer. Despite its imposing structure, the Royal is enjoyed for its warm and friendly atmosphere. The hotel benefits from a games room and comfortable lounges in which to enjoy the entertainment. During the day you also have the option to relax in the public bar whilst you admire the views overlooking the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Weymouth
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing