We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Cracker trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Sompting
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Christmas Cracker trip”
Reviewed 6 January 2011

We arrived at hotel through snow by coach (Shearings) for only a one night stay.
The hotel looks imposing with a grand entrance, slightly dated but a warm welcome was given with the added touch of our luggage being presented to outside our door.
On entering our room it was the artic effect as the radiator was not turned on, we switched this on and decided to explore the town centre.
On our return we entered our room with no visible change to the temperature and on the room guide it was offering an additional heater and as we had a great sea view we asked for a heater unfortunately the receptionist was unable to find one which was disappointing in the dead of winter this room did need some additional heating so beware of room 207.
We were offered an alternative which we viewed and the heat hit us on entering but did not have a sea view but as we were only staying one night warmth was preferred to a sea view.
The dinner was a bit disappointing for a Christmas fare as we surmised a "Brake Brothers meal" not a proper Turkey roast it was sufficient but lacked a xmas feel.
The entertainment was excellent with a limited free bar after 7.30 which we both enjoyed with a quiz/Bingo and then singer all round entertainer in a one man show.
Breakfast was adequate with plenty of cereal choice and a small fry up to follow.
Overall we had a great time and with the cost of £59.00 and a stopping off point to take in Salisbury well worth the money, shame about the main meal but you cannot have everything , the driver gave a running commentary throughout the journeys was an added bonus, well done Shearings.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiberian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    139
    116
    49
    32
See reviews for
63
226
36
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frome, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2010

We have been to Shearings Hotels many times on our own and with groups of friends. We visited The Royal Hotel Weymouth in February with friends and had no problems at all then.
I had contacted Shearings beforehand as one of our friends had been operated on recently and needed a bath rather than the shower we had originally asked for. She filled in a medical request and sent it to Shearings who told me on the phone that medical requests were always guaranteed. When we arrived at The Royal Hotel she was told there were only two single rooms in the hotel and only one had a bath, which had already been requested by someone else in our party. I feel Shearings should have informed us that they only had one single room with a bath when the medical request was sent in.
The biggest problem was having no hot water the first evening,the next day too and then we had no cold water at all from the tap one morning and we could not use the shower as it was scalding hot, or even clean our teeth. This was a problem for us all and other guests too ,particularily for our friend who had the one bath as there was no heated towel rail in her bathroom. Not only did she have to fill the bath by boiiling kettles but she froze in the cold bathroom at the same time. We complained to reception after the first day and they said it was due to Wessex water doing repairs,however they were not working on Saturday or Sunday and it was still the same.
The food in the restaurant was very good and they obviously have a great chef and most of the waiting staff were really helpful.They did seem very dissorganised however, and unlike other Shearings Hotels we never had the same waiter twice.One of the young waiters was very bad tempered and just put food on the end of the table for the six of us to pass down.When I mentioned I was Gluten Free,the look on his face was a picture and made me feel most uncomfortable .The previous evening another waiter had offered me a choice of six Gluten Free desserts which was wonderful! We asked the other waiters [who were excellant] what was wrong and they said he had 'Girl Trouble'.
We thought there was entertainment on all three nights of our stay but there was nothing on the Sunday, the really good barman John organised a Quiz for us all to keep us occupied, but the advertised 'Katy Mae' never appeared.
We wrote to Shearings a month ago when we got home and today they have replied.They say that our friend was allocated one of the only two single rooms with a bath, this is untrue as they said they only had one single room with a bath at reception.
They go on to say that the water pressure has nothing to do with works being carried out,apparently Wessex water remotely turn down the pressure on the main water supply system.The hotel has contacted Wessex Water who admit they do it to conserve water.
They apologise for the restaurant and say they have no restaurant manager at the moment and they would speak to staff about maintaining a proffesional approach.
They make no comment about the entertainment ,which we mentioned.
They finish by saying they hope we wont be put off using Shearings in the future.
Our friend's went to a Bournemouth Shearings last weekend and it was as good as it normally is, so we wont let the problems at the Royal Hotel cloud our judgement of Shearings in general.
As we said in the letter to Shearings we don't expect 4 star service for a two star price,but it was dissapointing.
The Royal at Weymouth is full over Christmas so I hope they have sorted the problems out or it will be a miserable, cold Christmas for many people.
If you look at my other reviews you will see I am not a moaner or a nitpicker, but I do feel we were let down this time.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank worzelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Weymouth hotels

West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2010

We stayed there on Nov 8th for 5 days and could not fault anything about the hotel, in fact we were a bit worried reading some of the reviews and the negativity that is written about it, that was not the hotel we stayed in. It was a First Noel event and every effort was made by the staff to make it enjoyable. In fact if anything I would say that some of the public are rude demanding and do not appreciate all the hard work that is put in to make ones stay enjoyable. It was decorated for the event and looked very festive. The entertainment catered for all ages, we like a disco and that was provided after the other dancing and was much appreciated. We liked Steve and Karon the entertainers very much. Trevor the night porter and John were a good laugh as were the bar staff. Food was nice and it was very good value for money. Would go again and would thoroughly recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ches007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2010

Stayed for long weekend with friends.After reading some of the reviews was a bit worried.On arrival the reception staff were great,couldnt have been more helpful and pleasent.Our room over looking weymouth bay had just been referbished and although a bit small was excellent,comfortable bed and all the trimmings.the food was good and if you wanted a larger portion all you had to do was ask the staff were pleasent and quick no hanging about.The enter tainment was first class with a resident duo and on sunday a girl called Hayley who as well as singing was so very funny.we were given a parking permit and had no trouble finding somewhere to park.We liked the hotel so much weve already booked for a longer stay next year and are looking foreward to it.To top it all the weather was fabulous.Highly recomended.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank art7ford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hounslow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2010

we had a wonderful break with 2 friends.The general manager, Hannah was so kind and helpful and all the staff were also.Our rooms had sea views,the view was fabulous! our room had recently been refurbished.Staff in the dining room were super,food was good and service was quick! Entertainment was great!especially Katy Mae! We were really sad when it was time to leave and before we did we booked to go back for a week next June!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mazart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2010

Having visited several of Shearings hotels in recent years we thought that the Royal was as good, if not better, than some of the others. It is well situated on the Esplanade and has a handsome frontage. Free Car parking tickets are issued by Reception for Self Drive users. This can save you around £10.00 per day (if you can actually find a parking space in the allotted areas). We paid extra for a sea-view room and were happy that we did as the room was a good size, clean and had a decent bathroom with overbath shower. In addition, it lead onto a balcony through two exterior doors. Although it was October we did have to open these doors to let some cooler air into the room. As the Royal does not have any airconditioning we would be reluctant to occupy the room in the heat of summer. We were very impressed by the quick service in the Restaurant and the good quality of the food. The staggered meal times (guests could pick a suitable time to eat) seemed to help in keeping waiting times to a minimum. (The Shearings hotel at St Mawes could learn from this system!!) We found the reception, bar and restaurant staff to friendly and efficent.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank parkstma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Fondo de les Neus, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

I travelled back from Spain to meet my parents who were staying at the Royal, their first words to me were "This is the worst holiday of our lives". As they are now in their 80,s they certainly do not need that type of experience!
They had reported that the toilet seat in their room was loose and dangerous, they reported that the basin taps dripped, when they left at the end of their holiday NOTHING had been corrected. I asked their travel agents, Global travel, to investigate but all they wanted to do was shift the blame to Shearings coaches who organised these holidays. They were rude and implied that my parents were lying? Wonderful customer service all round. All three should be avoided at all costs!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FrankHart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
2.2 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#20 of 22 in Weymouth
1,069 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
#5 of 22 in Weymouth
646 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Fairhaven Hotel
The Fairhaven Hotel
#17 of 22 in Weymouth
319 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#15 of 22 in Weymouth
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel

Property: Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
Address: 90-91 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 7AX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal is an impressive building of intricate architecture built in the ‘Free Renaissance’ style and boasting fantastic views over the beach and bay. Only a short stroll to the shops, seaside attractions and the famously beautiful harbour and marina, the location could not be better for exploring all that Weymouth has to offer. Despite its imposing structure, the Royal is enjoyed for its warm and friendly atmosphere. The hotel benefits from a games room and comfortable lounges in which to enjoy the entertainment. During the day you also have the option to relax in the public bar whilst you admire the views overlooking the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Weymouth
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing