We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent B & B”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Sandcombe

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Weymouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Sandcombe
Ranked #19 of 163 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
derby
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Excellent B & B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

This was our first ever experience of a British Seaside B&B holiday! Our friends asked us to join them as they had been the year before and raved about the place. We can honestly say this place is brilliant. We were greeted by Jacqui & Blane and shown to our room, it was a really nice room with the most amazing view of the harbour, our friends were in the room opposite overlooking the beach - they had an equally impressive view. The room was comfortable and kept immaculate throughout our stay with lovely finishing touches such as biscuits and chocolates with the tea/coffee tray.
Breakfast was fabulous, everything was tasty and freshly cooked with endless supplies of tea and toast. All served with a smile and a chat, our hosts were warm and friendly people who have got the knack of customer service to a tee, they are generally interested in their guests and make you feel at home instantly without being intrusive.
Thanks to their hospitality and attention to detail this wont be our last visit im sure.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smithfamilyDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    26
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
62
101
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

This was mine and my boyfriends second stay, went last year for my birthday and it was so nice we went back again this year. Jacqui&blane are so welcoming and helpful if you want advice about what to do or where to go, they also put banners up in the room for my birthday which just shows how much they care about all their "tenants". Room was clean and had an amazing view of the beach. Also if you stay there don't miss out on the breakfast it's soo good! Highly recommend the sandcombe can't wait to go back next year :)

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kimmie369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derby
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Just had 4 nights at The Sandcombe – this was our second stay and yet again a lovely holiday. The standards are exceptional we had room 2 with a superb view of the beach see attached photos. The room had all home comforts the bed was so comfy, en-suite very clean with a lovely spacious shower cubicle. There were little touches like complementary toiletries, tea, coffee, different biscuits every day and a chocolate each. Our friends visited with us, they stayed in room 1 opposite, they were equally impressed with their room they had a harbour view just as picturesque as ours. This is the crown and glory of The Sandown you have a view of both the beach and harbour when dining. Breakfast was as delicious as ever with a selection of fruit, cereals and lovely full English or a combination of any items you prefer, nothing is too much trouble. Jacqui and Blane are friendly and professional hosts making you feel welcome and relaxed. We emailed Blane to ask if they would mind us watching the England match on the large screen in the lounge, when we arrived Blane had gone out of his way to put England buntings outside our room, he even stayed to watch the match with us, we couldn’t of asked for more on our stay. We took loads of photographs which we’ve downloaded for you to see, we have noticed some old pictures on the reviews for The Sandcombe that are not nice, these are not what the B&B is like now – Jacqui and Blane are in their 3rd season and these pictures are before they put their touch on the place they’re nothing like what it’s like now so please don’t be put off by them.

Room Tip: any room is nice they all have either beach or harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itsblackandwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

we had a lovely 4 days at the sandcombe,
very welcoming,very clean,breakfast grea
,cant wait to go back,thanks for looking after u
s,linda & michael,
iew over the harbour lovely
,very nice owners,
couldnt do enough for us

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindamichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warminster, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We decided to book short break, after a strenuous year of moving house and personal health issues, after speaking with first jacqui and then blane they went out of there way to accommodate us on the dates we required, they were very very welcoming and friendly and also very kind and considerate to our needs, on arrival we were greeted very warmly and because we arrived before our room was ready, we were told to leave our cases in reception and they would take to our room for us when ready.We then went off to enjoy weymouth, on our return we were shown to our room, which on entering took our breath away, with a stunning view across the harbour, a large bay window with table and two chairs it was idylic.The room had large double bed and matching pine tables with touch lights also matching wardrobe with wooden hangers and dressing table with large mirror.The decor was clean and simple with a large tv ,kettle and hospitality tray including biscuits and chocolates something for all tastes, the bathroom was very clean and tidy and had the basic shower, basin, loo ect but also shower gel,shampoo, soap ,shower cap and even cotton wool balls, handwash and little bags for nappies or personal items, it was so lovely to have the little extras.One of the main things we liked was having mattress and pillow protectors and lovely big white clean towels,also a lovely big chair to lounge in and extra cushions, the weekend was so special we were treated like we were the only guests,the food was amazing, well presented and of high quality,the tables were very clean and well laid out, with a selection of cereals and fruits also juices ect,and your choice of full english or variations, each table had place mats with views of weymouth and the service was second to none, you could not of wished for more.The hotel overlooked the beach and was walking distance of all shops and food establishments,this to us was the perfect break away from home, jacqui and blane were amazing and couldnt of done more to enhance our stay, we have booked again before leaving for the military week end of june, cant wait to return thankyou for such a brilliant stay highly recommended best wishes kier and tracy

Room Tip: all rooms are fabulous with stunning views of either the harbour or the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kierntrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alresford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed here for a couple of days and Jacqui & Blane went out of their way in every respect to ensure we had a great time. Nothing was too much trouble. Location is excellent and everything is within a short walking distance - beach, amenities and great restaurants. All rooms have a good view and are kept very clean. Thoroughly recommend staying here and we will be back next time we're in Weymouth.

Room Tip: Rooms on the harbour side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

We have stayed here about 4 times and we get looked after well. The rooms are clean and tidy and the breakfast is excellent as well. The last time we stayed there was last November for 2 nights but on the second night I fell ill. We where going to drive home the next day but I was not able to drive home and my wife does not drive. My wife went down to breakfast on her own she talked to Blame and ask could we stay another night. He said yes and him and Jacqui where very understanding and helpful. Thank you for your help.
If you want to stay in Weymouth in an excellent bed and breakfast stay here.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maccyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#5 of 22 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Seafront Hotel
1.0 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Roundhouse Hotel
Roundhouse Hotel
#30 of 163 in Weymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gloucester House
Gloucester House
#5 of 163 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Bedford Guest House
The Bedford Guest House
#8 of 163 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sandcombe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sandcombe

Property: The Sandcombe
Address: 8 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 8EB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandcombe is ideally situated across the road from Weymouth's award-winning beach. Every room has wonderful views over Weymouth Bay to the front and the picturesque ancient harbour to the rear. The Pavilion theatre, the Marina and town centre with its many pubs and restaurants are just a short walk away. The Sandcombe is the perfect location to explore Weymouth's many attractions. Jacqui and Blane aim to make your stay so enjoyable that you will want to return to The Sandcombe time and time again. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sandcombe Hotel Weymouth
The Sandcombe Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing