We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bully of a LandLady”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Florian Guest House
Ranked #88 of 165 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bully of a LandLady”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Myself and my boyfriend booked this guest house through booking.com, on arrival we were greeted outside by the landlady who seemed pleasant at first. However on our 2nd day as we returned to the guest house she rudely asked to have a word with us. She then went onto to accusing us of burning the bedside cabinet from a candle we had lit, and being extremely over the top, and continuously being argumentative. As 2 responsible adults we lit a candle but at no point did we leave it unattended. We also have photos to prove there are no burn marks.. There is a sign to say no smoking but no where on it does it say no candles.. maybe there should be one created. We both felt this approach was way too dramatic and headmistress-y. Overall poor stay, too over priced! and most certainly would not recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elliedee95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florian59, Owner at Florian Guest House, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
You were not at all sensible about the candles. You had placed them directly on a wooden bedside cabinet, next to the pillows and with a curtain which comes down to touch the cabinet. There were at least six used tea-lights in the bin. There was candle wax all over the cabinet and on the carpet. Anyone who uses tea candles knows they come with instructions NEVER to be place directly on furniture. It was cleaned up by the time you returned in the afternoon as my house-keeper had spent an hour scraping all the wax off and buffing up the wood. As there are no candle holders in the room, common sense would indicate no candles. Apart from the lack of consideration to my furniture, you risked setting fire to my home and endangered the lives of my family and of the other guests. Ask any fireman about the numbers of fires caused by candles and the lives they have taken. The cabinets have since had to be replaced as you can never get rid of the wax.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    20
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
11
30
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Trondheim, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2013

I kew i was going to be delayed arriving, i had called ahead the day before to warn that i would be arriving late but upon arrival i was met by a very hostile landlady who shouted angrily at me infront of my children scaring them and making us feel very unwelcome
It was a clean room, but a very hard and uncomfortable bed with very old worn out pillows and bed linnen.
At breakfast the land lady was very friendly with some guests but not others, customer service should be the same FOR ALL GUESTS, not just the male ones!!
Lastly, when i booked i did not recieve any confirmation e-mail which is un professional and not customer service minded.

Room Tip: Find a more friendly B&B, i have stayed in Weymouth many times but have never experienced such a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 751anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florian59, Owner at Florian Guest House, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
You telephoned me the morning you were due to arrive say you'd arrive between 6 & 7pm. My check in starts at 4pm & ends at 8.30pm which you were informed of when you booked.
You were already in Weymouth visiting friends so you were not delayed by traffic just having a good time. You arrived at 10.30pm with your 2 children aged about 6 & 8yrs. Bit late to keep them out!. I was in bed asleep when you EVENTUALLY arrived.
If you had been just 2 adults I would have refused you as I had already marked you down as NO SHOW. Even the chain hotels have a lastest arrival time. I am a one person business so can't wait up till all hours because of one selfish person. You just showed no consideration for anyone but yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2013

A really nice welcome! Comfortable, clean room with everything you could possibly need. Just a short walk from the seafront and plenty of parking. Really great breakfasts with lots of choice - the pancakes are highly recommended! We really enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: The family room is a good size and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane52813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swindon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Excellent accommodation, very well situated just a short walk from everywhere, lovely landlady excellent food that was also fantastic value for money, spotlessly clean the sort of place that you feel comfortable to take your shoes off in knowing that you are not going to stick to the carpets!!!! Would highly reccommend to every one. And the bed was very very comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracygunning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Lovely yet again all we could ask for 3 days great fishing. Very nice breakfast and always friendly welcome. Thanks Sue. Found a bit of room in the freezer for our catch each day so we could take our catch home. The Rock nearby is good for a drink and reasonable food.

Room Tip: The seagulls can be noisy early in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete503828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

This is the second time we have been to the Florian, and Sue the owner always makes you feel at home and makes the time to talk to you. It is spotless and has comfortable beds. It also has its own parking which is good. Weymouth town is only ten minutes walk away. The full english breakfast is excellent and there is also a good selection of other items for breakfast if you don't want the full one.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front are a little noisier due to it being on busy road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank She66_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2013

This couple had thought of every thing you could wish for in a guest house rooms are clean and fresh with all you need to get a good nights sleep breakfast was excellent with a wide choice of food / parking off the road /10 min walk to beach we were made very welcome and would highly recommend it

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jtgsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.5 mi away
Wilton Guest House
Wilton Guest House
#158 of 165 in Weymouth
211 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cunard Guest House
Cunard Guest House
#4 of 165 in Weymouth
577 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lacey's Bed & Breakfast
Lacey's Bed & Breakfast
#45 of 165 in Weymouth
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kelston Guest House
Kelston Guest House
#2 of 165 in Weymouth
438 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palm Court
Palm Court
#56 of 165 in Weymouth
72 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wenlock House
Wenlock House
#153 of 165 in Weymouth
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Florian Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Florian Guest House

Property: Florian Guest House
Address: 59 Abbotsbury Road, Weymouth DT4 0AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Florian Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Florian Guest House is accredited 4 star by the AA. Just 15 minutes walk from Weymouth town centre and beach. There's a bus stop outside the door for the X53 which can take you all along the Jurassic Coast. Florian is a Victorian Villa, and offers free private car parking to the front. There are six bedrooms arranged on three floors. All rooms are en-suite or with private facilities and have Free WiFi,TV, fridge, hair-dryer, alarm clock and tea/coffee tray. Bookings are for Room Only and breakfast is available on request at £8 adult and £5 child. There is a choice of English, Continental, Vegetarian and lighter breakfasts which are served in the dining room. Special diets can be arranged with a little notice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Florian Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florian Guest House Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing