We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good welcome and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Florian Guest House
Ranked #94 of 166 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed one night in the large room behind the reception. It was simple but comfortable, very quiet. Although the Guest House is on a fairly busy road, it's remarkably quiet at night. Sue responds to emails very quickly and is can welcoming hostess. She can make sandwiches on demand, and because we had a light breakfast, she didn't charge us for the lunches. The other good point for us wax that she can make an early breakfast. We have stayed in. More luxurious places before, but not with this kind of welcome or customer service.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the garden are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mika55_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013

Sue was a very helpful, lovely lady.
Fantastic breakfast with a great vegetarian choice and great value for money. Shall certainly be returning. Walking distance from shops, restaurants. We had a lovely stay. Room clean and all you needed in there.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BexDea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We booked this through booking dot com. I originally booked the wrong dates but on realising this I phoned the landlady and the dates were changed easily with a confirmation email from her. There was no problem. One or two negative reviews had mentioned that the landlady had bullied or shouted at the we did not experience any signs of this. We actually arrived early but we're let in early with no problems.
The room was of adequate size with an en suite shower. The room was well appointed with wardrobe dressing table and bed side cabinets. There was also a fridge, most welcome, but we did turn it off during the night as the pump woke us up.
The breakfast was very very good fresh fruit salad, cereals, yogurts, we had the full English and it was freshly prepared and served quickly and with smile freshly made brewed coffee and tea.
Our room was at the back and one review said that there was traffic noise at night but we did not experience this.
Value was good.
Would go back again.

Room Tip: Might be worth asking for a back room if you're a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ceredigionbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Just had a weeks stay at the Florian - excellent in all respects - spotlessly clean; very comfortable bed; added extras in room i.e. mini fridge and DVD player; excellent food with a wide range of choice on breakfast menu; and off road parking. The landlady is very friendly and helpful - will definitely be staying at the Florian again!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

My wife and I recently finished hiking the SWC Path and stayed here one night. OK -- bed was very good and the shower was great! The lady lady is pretty talkative! Not too far to walk into town and the restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimW551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Myself and my boyfriend booked this guest house through booking.com, on arrival we were greeted outside by the landlady who seemed pleasant at first. However on our 2nd day as we returned to the guest house she rudely asked to have a word with us. She then went onto to accusing us of burning the bedside cabinet from a candle we had lit, and being extremely over the top, and continuously being argumentative. As 2 responsible adults we lit a candle but at no point did we leave it unattended. We also have photos to prove there are no burn marks.. There is a sign to say no smoking but no where on it does it say no candles.. maybe there should be one created. We both felt this approach was way too dramatic and headmistress-y. Overall poor stay, too over priced! and most certainly would not recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elliedee95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florian59, Owner at Florian Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

You were not at all sensible about the candles. You had placed them directly on a wooden bedside cabinet, next to the pillows and with a curtain which comes down to touch the cabinet. There were at least six used tea-lights in the bin. There was candle wax all over the cabinet and on the carpet. Anyone who uses tea candles knows they come with instructions NEVER to be place directly on furniture. It was cleaned up by the time you returned in the afternoon as my house-keeper had spent an hour scraping all the wax off and buffing up the wood. As there are no candle holders in the room, common sense would indicate no candles. Apart from the lack of consideration to my furniture, you risked setting fire to my home and endangered the lives of my family and of the other guests. Ask any fireman about the numbers of fires caused by candles and the lives they have taken. The cabinets have since had to be replaced as you can never get rid of the wax.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

I kew i was going to be delayed arriving, i had called ahead the day before to warn that i would be arriving late but upon arrival i was met by a very hostile landlady who shouted angrily at me infront of my children scaring them and making us feel very unwelcome
It was a clean room, but a very hard and uncomfortable bed with very old worn out pillows and bed linnen.
At breakfast the land lady was very friendly with some guests but not others, customer service should be the same FOR ALL GUESTS, not just the male ones!!
Lastly, when i booked i did not recieve any confirmation e-mail which is un professional and not customer service minded.

Room Tip: Find a more friendly B&B, i have stayed in Weymouth many times but have never experienced such a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 751anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florian59, Owner at Florian Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

You telephoned me the morning you were due to arrive say you'd arrive between 6 & 7pm. My check in starts at 4pm & ends at 8.30pm which you were informed of when you booked.
You were already in Weymouth visiting friends so you were not delayed by traffic just having a good time. You arrived at 10.30pm with your 2 children aged about 6 & 8yrs. Bit late to keep them out!. I was in bed asleep when you EVENTUALLY arrived.
If you had been just 2 adults I would have refused you as I had already marked you down as NO SHOW. Even the chain hotels have a lastest arrival time. I am a one person business so can't wait up till all hours because of one selfish person. You just showed no consideration for anyone but yourself.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Seafront Hotel
7 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Hotel
6.9 mi away
East Farm House B&B
East Farm House B&B
#3 of 4 in Abbotsbury
47 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Lugger Inn
The Lugger Inn
#2 of 2 in Chickerell
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Florian Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Florian Guest House

Address: 59 Abbotsbury Road, Weymouth DT4 0AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 166 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range: £53 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Florian Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Florian Guest House is accredited 4 star by the AA. Just 15 minutes walk from Weymouth town centre and beach. There's a bus stop outside the door for the X53 which can take you all along the Jurassic Coast. Florian is a Victorian Villa, and offers free private car parking to the front. There are six bedrooms arranged on three floors. All rooms are en-suite or with private facilities and have Free WiFi,TV, fridge, hair-dryer, alarm clock and tea/coffee tray. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Florian Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florian Guest House Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing