We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hotel but beware the noise”
Review of The Hotel Central

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hotel Central
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Reviewed 13 July 2011

We stayed here on a Saturday night recently. The hotel is very much a 2* hotel so don't expect any frills (but you get what you pay for ... small rooms, no shower, ancient TV and plastic sheets on the bed) but do beware of the noise if your room overlooks Maiden Street (front of the hotel) ... we were kept awake until 4:45am ... not just a bit of noise but very loud, drunk people shouting, fighting, smashing bottles etc ... It was a Saturday night in summer so probably more people than usual but apparently it is not uncommon in Weymouth and these rooms in the hotel seem to get the brunt.

Room Tip: Avoid any at the front of the hotel
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
There are newer reviews for The Hotel Central
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 57 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2009

Our room was very compact but sweet, the hotel has an old fashioned vibe. Service was good and the bed was excellent and really comfy. We enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goreckidawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2008

I have been to the Hotel Central 3 times and have found the staff and facilities excellent for those who are disabled. All public rooms are wheelchair accessable and several rooms are kitted out for wheelchair users. There is a lift to all floors. I found all the staff to be very helpful and caring. Also there is a mains socket to charge up electric scooters and buggys.
This hotel is one of the very few in Weymouth that are equiped for disabled holidaymakers which is very surprising considering the resort is ideal for wheelchair users with its long flat promenade.
There are are also several places where wheelchairs and electric scooters can be hired for the day/week or whatever, also there is a special beach wheelchair that can be hired if needed.
Any disabled person interested in birds or other wildlife will enjoy visiting either of the RSPB reserves in easy reach and fully accessable to wheelchair users.
Have a lovely holiday!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
15  Thank poppy2oxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2006

I am submitting this review particularly for the benefit of wheelchair users or people with limited mobility because the Hotel Central is one of the very few hotels in Weymouth that offers wheelchair accessible rooms. This is suprising (to me anyway) given that Weymouth itself with its long flat promenade and compact pedestrianised shopping area seems to be an ideal resort for disabled travellers or those with limited mobility. I stayed at the hotel with my husband and elderly parents in Jun 06. The Hotel has a great location. As its name suggests, it is centrally situated in the old town 5 mins from the promenade, 2 mins from the shopping area and 10 mins from the old harbour. It is situated in a small street and from the outside looks very unprepossessing, even dismal. However once inside you find a clean, comfortable, well cared- for hotel with a reasonable standard of decor and a friendly, helpful staff. Basically it is a good 2 star standard hotel, no frills but quite adequate.
There are 3 twin-bedded rooms adapted for holidaymakers with limited mobility which are on the ground floor. My husband and I (I'm a permanent wheelchair user) and my parents who have mobility problems occupied the 2 which were on the front of the hotel. This worried me initially as they were right on the street, but a thick net curtain gave privacy during the day and the double glazing kept out all noise at night (comments overheard from other guests suggested this might have been a problem in the upstairs front rooms which didn't have double-glazing). The rooms have wide doors and are reasonably spacious. They are plenty big enough for people who are able to walk, however there was not enough room to manoeuvre my wheelchair right round the twin beds and I could not get to the wardrobe, the window, or have full access to the dressing table. This was not a huge problem as my husband was able to help out, I could easily get to the nearest bed and I managed to make do with one corner of the dressing table and my hand mirror to do make up etc. When I needed full access to the dressing table and mirror to dry my hair my husband moved the bed completely out of the way. There was easy access to the bathroom which had a very wide door and was very spacious. The toilet had grab rails and space for a wheelchair to the side of it which would allow level transfer from the left. The handbasin was also accessible. The bath was quite low and had a moulded seat at one end and grab rails. It was quite wide and as a result my bathboard would only fit right at the very end which would have made level transfer quite difficult and didn't allow much room for manoeuvre. However once again I managed with help from my husband. There is no shower which would be a major problem for people who were unable to sit in the bath. We solved this by buying a flexible rubber shower attachment from a local hardware shop for £8.99 which we fitted to the taps and which worked perfectly. I have mentioned this in the Customer Satisfaction Questionnaire Form and hope the hotel have followed it up. The rooms are not perfect for people who are confined to a wheelchair (and I have to say the Hotel isn't claiming that they are) but they are certainly suitable for people who can walk a little or wheelchair users travelling with a companion. I certainly found it easier than struggling in an unadapted room.
The reception and breakfast room is on the ground floor. The dining room is pleasant but the tables are quite close together. As the hotel wasn't full we were given a table near the door with plenty of room around it, but I don't know what would have happened if the next table had also been occupied. All of the staff seem very willing to help and to try and accomodate all your requirements though so I'm sure they would have been able to sort something out. Breakfast was perfectly OK - all delivered to your table including the cereal/juice/fruit option (which did seem a bit strange when you're used to helping yourself). If you wanted dinner you had to order at breakfast. There was a choice of about 4 options for each of the 3 courses plus a vegetarian and salad main course. The food was fairly, standard fare and though we chose not to eat there (we like to try different retaurants) the other guests seemed very happy with the food. Other guests were mainly pensioners although as we were there in term time this is probably not suprising.
The 1st floor bar and entertainment room is accessible by a lift big enough to take a wheelchair and companion. The entertainment varied from quite good to very average while we were there and to be honest is more likely to appeal to older holidaymakers. My parents enjoyed it though although we usually only caught the last half hour.
One irritation with the hotel is that the front door is locked at 10pm for security reasons. If you return later than this you have to go round to the Fairview Hotel 5 mins away to get someone to come and open up.(Although on a couple of nights we rang the bell and the barman came down to let us in.)The hotel parking is also a few minutes away although a driver could drop off an pick up outside the hotel providing they didn't leave the car for too long. The pavement outside the hotel is quite narrow so it needs a tight turn for wheelchairs when coming out of the hotel, and the dropped curb is about 10 yards in either direction.
In summary this is a basic but comfortable and friendly hotel in a convenient location and is a good option for wheelchair users or people with limited mobility. Its not perfect especially for lone wheelchair travellers but I feel the hotel have done the best they can (except for the lack of a shower), and I would certainly consider staying here again.
One last thing - the Tourist Information office on the Prom has a very useful guide to wheelchair access in Weymouth listing car parks, toilets, pubs and restaurants and attractions.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank jtourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Misschien dat er achteraan rustigere kamers zijn.
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SuziGhellere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
0.1 mi away
The Fairhaven Hotel
The Fairhaven Hotel
#16 of 22 in Weymouth
326 reviews
2.5 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#20 of 22 in Weymouth
1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#10 of 22 in Weymouth
494 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#15 of 22 in Weymouth
16 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#8 of 22 in Weymouth
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Central

Address: 17-19 Maiden Street, Weymouth DT4 8BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Hotel Class:2 star — The Hotel Central 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Hotel Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Central Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing