We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”
Review of The Hotel Central

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hotel Central
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Reviewed 26 April 2013

We stayed here a few years ago. We got more sleep at home !! The hotel even allowed people to check in at 2.30 am!! People out side in the streets were shouting, too many bars in the area, including table top bar. Good for central location. But never again. Its a shame that the police & hotlel staff cant control the noise level.

Room Tip: take your earplugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amandah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2012

Having just returned from 3 nights at this hotel was disgusted with the stay very basic rooms curtains off rails having a room next to a boiler room the noise well why try and sleep!!!! The bar was never open, no vacancies sign on doors and only 5 rooms taken!! Even basic hotels have hooks on doors and signs stuck on back of doors hanging off! Welcome brochure absolutely useless for entertainment you have to go to there sister hotel over the road!! As for the breakfast its grease on a side plate and if you want ketchup the waiter has to serve you that as well!!!! They then proceed to stand over you and as soon as you put your cutlery down whoosh they are there clearing your table!!!!!!! We will never stay at this hotel again or recommend it for £70 a night we don't feel its value for money!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

A short but very enjoyable stay. The service and catering could not be faulted and the accommodation was very comfortable. There are plenty of meal choices on the menu and the food is served very promptly. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the location is ideal for shops and the promenade - not too much walking involved!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

I took a group of 28 pensioners to this hotel for 5 days, after pre-arranging various requirements e.g. ground floor rooms and accessibility.
The staff were helpful beyond what was expected of them, being there for anybody who needed them. They were all polite and happy to help whatever was required., The rooms we were allocated were comfortable, clean and the towels were changed if they were left on the bath.
There was ample food which was of a fairly good quality, however hot food was served on cold plates which meant that the food went cold fairly quickly, and this was the only negative point I could find which could be easily rectified. However, if anybody did have any problems with the food the staff were more than happy to put it right.
The entertainment was good and varied for the age range of people who were there and my party enjoyed it.
I have to say that i would return to this hotel but without the remainder of my group, since without help from the staff it could have proved very difficult for the disabled people in our party, as we had to walk through another hotel to get to the Hotel Central.
I would like to take this opportunity to thank all the staff who helped our party whilst we were there, you were all much appreciated.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bltje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Stayed here after we were stranded by a ferry cancellation.

I was with a female friend and staff were initially hostile to us (I assume that they thought we were a couple) and were non-committal about whether a room was available at all.

We had to explain ourselves before it was established that there was a room and then we were told there was nowhere to park my car due to roadworks outside the hotel. No alternative was offered.

The room was basic but comfortable, with two narrow single beds with retro spung mattresses. We has a tiny analogue telly in the corner and a basic shower room. However, the shower was hot, towels were fluffy and more importantly it was clean.

The usual tea/coffee facilities were in the room and we both had a good night's sleep.

A nice touch was that we left before breakfast but we were given a packed lunch for our journey instead which was ready for us on the dot of 7am as requested.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EHumphreys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

We stayed here on a Saturday night recently. The hotel is very much a 2* hotel so don't expect any frills (but you get what you pay for ... small rooms, no shower, ancient TV and plastic sheets on the bed) but do beware of the noise if your room overlooks Maiden Street (front of the hotel) ... we were kept awake until 4:45am ... not just a bit of noise but very loud, drunk people shouting, fighting, smashing bottles etc ... It was a Saturday night in summer so probably more people than usual but apparently it is not uncommon in Weymouth and these rooms in the hotel seem to get the brunt.

Room Tip: Avoid any at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2009

Our room was very compact but sweet, the hotel has an old fashioned vibe. Service was good and the bed was excellent and really comfy. We enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goreckidawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#15 of 22 in Weymouth
20 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Fairhaven Hotel
The Fairhaven Hotel
#16 of 22 in Weymouth
336 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#10 of 22 in Weymouth
507 reviews
2.4 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#20 of 22 in Weymouth
1,117 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#8 of 22 in Weymouth
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Central

Address: 17-19 Maiden Street, Weymouth DT4 8BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Hotel Class:2 star — The Hotel Central 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Hotel Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Central Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing