We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“That extra mile”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Weymouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Harbour Lights Guest House
Ranked #39 of 165 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“That extra mile”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We spent a couple of night here over the Summer break and it was great. The host is willing to go that extra mile to make your stay great. Breakfast was a great experience. Plenty of fresh produce and a great Full English

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valalan2463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane Q, Owner at Harbour Lights Guest House, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Thank you very much for your review, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay, especially the breakfasts. We have a Visit England Breakfast Award and have to maintain high standards to earn it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    16
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
67
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lloret de Mar, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We usually travel trying to stay in B&B or Guesthouses beause of the chance that it brings to talk and chat with the hosts.
Unfortunately, in Harbour Lights Guest House was not the case.
We wanted to book here because of the great reviews here in Tripadvisor, so I send the booking form via their website. No reply. I sent an e-mail. No reply. 72 hours after, I called by phone and a kind woman booked our room.
When we arrived to Weymouth, it was the fastest check-in you can imagine: always with a smile (that's true) the host drove us to our room and was speaking to us while we went upstairs. Once in the room, she desired us a pleasant stay just when I was trying to go inside the room. Then I asked her about restaurants in the zone, and quickly she said that we had a book in the desk and went out. While she was walking I tried to ask her again if there was wifi available, and she told me again that everything was in the book. Thank you.
The house is nice and correct, but there are several details that can't be in a 4 star rating house, like broken curtains in the common places (see photo).
In addition, as the most of hotels and B&B, there is a note in the bathroom saying that if you left your towels on the floor it means that they will wash them, and if towels are in the bar, you will use them again. Well, this time we left our towels on the floor, and surprise! The same dirty towels, wet, were again in our bathroom for use. Wrong service.
About breakfast, hot breakfast is available and nice. The cold part was different every day: one of them, several options of fresh fruit, yogurt, cereals, and muesli. Another day, no fruit or yogurt, and simply the cereals of the day before. Maybe it depends on the day.
Nice service in the dining room.
The house is located between Weymouth and Porland, in a short 10 minutes driving distance to the "downtown".
So, to sum up, here we had mixed feelings, good and not, but the sensation was that 3 star rating is more appropiate tan 4.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PezFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane Q, Owner at Harbour Lights Guest House, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
You clearly do not understand the rating system in this country, Harbour Lights is well within the Visit England Four Star category for a Guest Accommodation (hotel ratings are different).

We would NEVER place dirty towels back on the towel rail. If they were placed in the shower for replacement as we ask guests to do, clean ones are always provided.
I remember chatting as we went upstairs so I do not understand why you thought I was not very helpful. There is a huge amount of information in the Guests' Information Pack (including the wifi code which I cannot memorise) and it is much more sensible for guests to read that than for me to try and tell you everything, although of course I always take the chance to chat with guests when they arrive.

You were warmly welcomed and told all you needed to know to make your stay enjoyable, if I knew you wanted me to stay in the room and chat to you I would have been happy to do so but most guests prefer to relax on arrival, after all they are invited use the call bell at any time if they wish to speak to me and I am more than happy to do so, night and day.

There is ALWAYS plenty of fresh fruit and a selection of yoghurts on the breakfast buffet, if you are going to write a critical review at least be accurate.

Taking a photo of a very small recent tear in a landing curtain which I have not yet had time to replace is just petty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Was lucky to get their last room, a double room for single occupancy on the day I telephoned. Bit more than I wanted to pay but as it turned out pretty good value for money. Excellent location - plenty of parking, on a 10 minute bus route to Portland and Weymouth town centre which was really just a 10 minute walk. Room freshly decorated, brand new shower room, good clean soft furnishing. A really good breakfast and very pleasant and helpful staff. Not much more anyone could want. Will be using Harbour Lights again, it is a lovely 1860 large house, with an amazing colourful garden.

Room Tip: Well only tried one room which was in the back, The front top rooms would have a view of Portland ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mabiggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane Q, Owner at Harbour Lights Guest House, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Many thanks for your kind review, it is so good to know you were happy with your accommodation and the great location. We look forward to seeing you again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Excellent stay at this guest house, room comfortable with everything we needed wonderful power shower.
Safe off road parking, very good bus service just outside very reasonable price.
Breakfast plenty and excellently cooked and presented, would not hesitate to return.

Room Tip: 9 is small but very efficiently designed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 41Gill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane Q, Owner at Harbour Lights Guest House, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review, I am so glad you enjoyed all the facilities we offer and it is good to know would be happy to return
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed at Harbour Lights for a week in this fantastic guest house. We had outstandingly cooked breakfasts every morning as well as a good range of cerals, fresh fruit, yoghurt and fruit juices. Now we are going to spend the next few weeks trying to lose a few pounds. Our room, which overlooked Portland, was always spotlessly clean with fresh towels whenever we needed them.
This BandB may be a little way out of the hustle and bustle of Weymouth but that is to its advantage. There is a bus service that runs every 10 minutes into town, so take a hint and leave the car.
Thank you to Diane and her polite and helpful staff.
John & Irene

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane Q, Owner at Harbour Lights Guest House, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
It was such a pleasure to have you here for the week and I am so pleased that you enjoyed it. I am very lucky to have a lovely team of colleagues and will pass your kind remarks on to them. Thank you for your review and good luck with the diet!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for three nights in this superb guest house, lovely spacious room with magnificent views across Portland.
The breakfast was outstanding offering plenty of choice, the entire property is spotlessly clean.
Diane and her staff are very polite and helpful making our stay very enjoyable.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dunspendin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane Q, Owner at Harbour Lights Guest House, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, it is much appreciated. We never tire of the views from here and love sharing them with guests. Best wishes from all the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2014

A superb well appointed b'nb Rooms spacious and spotlessly clean with very comfortable large double beds Bathroom modern with excellent shower, wash basin and toiletries

Breakfast was cooked by the owner and lovely Apart from the usual full English breakfast fresh fruit, smoked salmon, kippers and eggs benedict were on offer during our stay and they were all excellent

At the back of the property there was a beautiful garden we were free to relax in

If you wanted to go into town without taking your car there is a very frequent bus service from a stop yards from the front door

Diana and her staff made sure my wife and I had a lovely relaxing few days stay Thanks

One of the best b'n'bs we've stayed in over the years

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manas b B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane Q, Owner at Harbour Lights Guest House, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Many thanks for your review. It is good to know that you had a relaxing and enjoyable stay and enjoyed all the facilities here as that is our aim. I will pass your kind comments on to the rest of the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Eastney Hotel
Eastney Hotel
#76 of 165 in Weymouth
91 reviews
0.9 mi away
Swallows Rest
Swallows Rest
#13 of 165 in Weymouth
238 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gloucester House
Gloucester House
#6 of 165 in Weymouth
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
B+B Weymouth
B+B Weymouth
#23 of 165 in Weymouth
549 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Bedford Guest House
The Bedford Guest House
#7 of 165 in Weymouth
220 reviews
0.8 mi away
Greenwood Guest House
Greenwood Guest House
#38 of 165 in Weymouth
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Lights Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Lights Guest House

Property: Harbour Lights Guest House
Address: 20 Buxton Road, Weymouth DT4 9PJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour Lights Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit England Four Star guest house with off road parking, which is essential in Weymouth. It is just a short walk to the town centre, Old Harbour and Nothe Gardens. Close to the South West Coast Path, front bedrooms have spectacular views across Portland Harbour to Chesil Beach. Our spacious, individually styled rooms are clean, comfortable and well equipped,including free high speed Wi-Fi, flat screen tv. Fresh milk is provided along with complimentary beverages and biscuits, and there is a fridge for guests' use. We have digital tv in the spacious lounge and our splendid breakfasts are served in a elegant dining room. Friendly attentive staff ensure everyone has an enjoyable and relaxing stay. Strictly no smoking indoors. Not licensed - just bring your own and we will provide the glasses. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Harbour Lights Guest House Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing