We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a waste”
Review of Russell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Russell Hotel
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“What a waste”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Hotel situation perfect. facing the beach almost central. Shame the staff and condition let it down. Rooms shabby and in need of updating. Stayed with friends and one couple's room was disgusting Toilet filthy unflushed and smelly curtains hanging off the wall and really dirty room, offered another room which was worse. Meals basic and average. Evening meals ordered in the morning and whoa betide you turning up 10 minutes late, you get shouted at and told its gone...How it was ordered in the morning.Regular that they run out of choices. Staff obviously unhappy as the talk between them consisted of moaningand swearing about be overworked and that some people get preferntial treatment about weekends off,depending who they are dating. Bar area is a sweatbox in the basement and poor entertainment.

Room Tip: Try a differant hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    233
    170
    59
    42
See reviews for
86
351
28
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rhondda, S. Wales.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

My mam & dad stayed in this hotel 17th of May this year, and were put in the top room in the hotel room no. 339, they will never stay here again! Their room was on the top floor and the lift very rarely worked, this not being ideal as my dad has had heart attacks and this is not exactly resting! Their room was extremely small, not anything like the rooms you show in your photographs. The room was in the eves with a dormer window with broken curtains, and the room had not had a proper clean since Adam was a boy. They were very disappointed. The whole of the Hotel needs refurbishment. The only positive thing they could say was the food was very good.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank helenandkevyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Weymouth hotels

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

So sad that this hotel (and the Prince Regent) are up for sale. They are great value for money with "Martyn's Holidays". Just had a great weekend break. Rooms are a bit tired but nice and clean. Location excellent. Food surprisingly good for the price. Staff cannot do enough to help. Lets hope it continues under any new owners.

Room Tip: Traffic noise with sea view rooms. Several rooms have creaky floor above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oldjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

just come back from a 5 day break at the "Russell", after reading reviews on here we went with mixed feelings and I have to say a lot of the comments were right... the hotel is very shabby and could do with re-decorating but in its favour we found it very clean... lovely white sheets and towels and the bathroom was spotlessly clean, we never saw the person who did the rooms but every time we returned to the room it smelled lovely and fresh, no complaints on the food it was always served promptly with the waiting staff very fast and efficient and all staff were very friendly, I think with a bit of a revamp this hotel could have a lot going for it as it is in a prime location right on the beach, enjoyed our stay and would consider using the Russell again......

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kannycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

On arrival we got asked to park behind a car then just sign in on the desk then they gave us the room key. After that we went for a walk and when we came back we had a note on the floor saying to hand our car key in to reception. Before doing so we went to collect belongings from my car, we noticed our car had been moved!! We went to reception and asked them how did they move it, they told us they went in our room and took my car keys and moved it without asking me while we was out! That is theft in my eyes and I was not happy! In the morning after we went to leave and realised the handbrake was off and in gear! They said to us tht all there staff was insured but wasnt insured when he drove my car into the public road to let the other car out, they had broken two laws and now taking it further with them.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank littlestu14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bs30
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Very disappointed with this hotel! Staff on arrival helpful, but it all went downhill from then!! .This hotel needs a very good clean, and a change to some staff to someone who cares. Breakfast was a shambles, waited ages for a member of staff to acknowledge us, (wish we had not bothered).Table cloth dirty, cutlery stained, and the food was awful. Our room, on the first floor had beautiful views of the bay, but was dirty and dusty. It is a shame. hotel is perfectly placed for everything, and could be beautiful. We parked on the rail way long stay which is only a 2min walk away,

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bs30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
English Harbour, Antigua
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

very dissapointed with this hotel food was not good all frozen food meals except the breakfast also we were told it was wheelchair friendly absolutly wasnt it was very hard work getting in the lift as we were on second floor overall dont go there very dissapointed ,with it ,,

Room Tip: choose a south side room if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank eileen69230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
0.6 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#6 of 22 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#10 of 22 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Hotel
0.3 mi away
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
#13 of 22 in Weymouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Russell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Russell Hotel

Property: Russell Hotel
Address: 135-138 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 7NG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Russell Hotel is perfect for short & weekend leisure breaks in Weymouth – ideal for adult-only, half-board breaks. The coastal hotel is an ideal base for a holiday or short break to Weymouth, boasting easy access to the surrounding countryside, the town centre just a short walk away and the Channel Islands reachable by Condor Ferries' state-of-the-art hydrofoil. The spacious hotel restaurant serves a traditional English breakfast and a three-course dinner followed by tea or coffee. After this, why not retire to the lounge bar and relax with friends or enjoy the great live inclusive entertainment provided every evening by a variety of local musicians? The more energetic can even boogie the night away on the dance floor. The Russell Hotel offers a variety of short break packages throughout the year, including Nostalgia breaks and the ever-popular Tinsel & Turkey breaks during November and December. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Russell Hotel Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing