We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a coach tour for weekend” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Russell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Russell Hotel
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
london
Level Contributor
300 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“a coach tour for weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

yes down from london the hotel is now under new management since the owner die david the manager and staff very helpful and friendly
thank for the early breafeast on sunday as we went to gurnsey for day
the food was very good
terry enterment on sunday excellent i agree weymouth should promition of weymouth better and bring back old information centre
i lookforward to seeing hotel when refurishment is complete
good luck to daisha group
tony mbe

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tony726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    214
    164
    54
    39
See reviews for
78
320
27
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheshunt
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Second time back to the Russell in two years. My review is summed up is in my title. Room always clean, food ok, sea view room fantastic. The entertainment on Friday and Saturday nights was well how shall I say very below par but the Sunday night singer was brilliant, well done. A special thank you to Terry the parking attendant who washed my car due to the seagulls having a field day. Will I return to the Russell? Probably!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

this hotel is the newest of the Daisha chain. In my opinion they should not have opened to the pubic until they had completely re-furbished. The room (330) was clean, (due only to the hard working cleaning staff.) The bathroom floor was cracked and loose tiles, the cold water was piping hot, there was mould on the roof. The toilet seat was loose and the loo did not flush The floor between the room and the bathroom sloped dangerously. The wardrobe in the twin room was broken and the beds were old,lumpy, mismatched, and uncomfortable. We went there,as a romantic break for four days three nights. Most of our time was spent waiting for the tiny lift 15 mins was not unusual. The manager was rude when we informed him that my husband is a Vegan, even though we informed the booking office three times of this fact, and attempted to contact the hotel in person. seeming to want to spend more of his time looking after his 2 daughters. (The children were on holiday and in the next room to us, Very very noisey. My husband had boiled rice for his dinner, and a tomato and a scoop of beans for his breakfast. I will say that it was sorted out after that He only had one good breakfast as the curry made him ill. We had to buy food in for him The dining room and entertainment is in the basement, which is dark and red hot. the dining tables were dreadful, squashing four people on a table meant for two. The food for us meat eaters was quite good, but tiny amounts. Summing up, a very uncomfortable weekend was had by us

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jayneknight45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Weymouth hotels

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Well we were on a coach tour, didn't realise this hotel had been taken over last December, very warm welcome on arrival and suitcases taken to rooms, my room was at top of hotel and was very hot, rooms below had much higher ceilings so therefore cooler, room was ok linens were very good as was shower. Food was ok, entertainment was good in evenings. Overall was a good holiday, however if you go remember that reception is always closed and you have to go through to the next hotel to theirs.

Room Tip: don't go on 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Myself and 8 friends have recently returned from a 5 day break at the Russell Hotel with Nova Tours, chesterfield. I am afraid we were all left with a great deal of disappointment. A large number of issues were identified during the break, which were raised with staff at the time. Some were resolved in the short term and did not re-occur, others were resolved but were repeated again and again. The following is a summary of our complaints-
Rooms - we were allocated 5 rooms on the 3rd floor. 4 out of the 5 were totally inadequate in size, one person had to sit on the bed to allow the other to move about. Insufficient drawer/storage space. The rooms were all oppressively hot and we were unable to sleep at night even with the window open. The fan provided was totally inadequate. Rooms were not cleaned adequately. Our bed was not touched on 3 mornings, the waste bin not emptied on 1 morning. We reported directly to the cleaner that our toilet was dirty on the outside but nothing was done to correct this. Showering was difficult without a shelf in the cubicle for soap, shampoo etc. On the plus side beds were comfortable, the linen clean, and the shower very good.
Restaurant - No fresh fruit at breakfast. Orange juice ran out, dishes ran out, crockery dirty, again the heat was oppressive making it uncomfortable to enjoy your meals. One breakfast we asked for more white toast and were told only brown was available. A few minutes later the hotel Manager scurried past our table heading for the kitchen with a loaf of white bread in his hand! On the plus side food was generally good with a very varied choice.
Reception - No reception duties on Tuesday, Wednesday Thursday. Any problems had to be reported to the reception in the hotel next door. One of our group had a night time problem with a broken bed. He rang the number provided for the night porter but this was not answered. He had to visit the hotel next door in his nightwear to get the problem looked at.
In summary after talking to a number of members of staff it would appear the new owners of the hotel are now making cuts to staffing after their take over 6 months ago. If the cuts continue this hotel will be ruined because the staff do try their hardest to make guests' stay enjoyable.

Room Tip: Do not have a 3rd floor room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TJSChesterfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

As soon as we arrived at the Russell Dave the manager got on our coach and gave welcomed us and the porters were taking care of our luggage. First opinions of our room at the Russell were not very good. The room was extremely small and the bathroom even smaller. in fact a lump had been sawn out of the door so it could open past the toilet. This said the Sheets and towels were pristine white not a mark on them and the room was very clean. We also had a beautiful seaview. The TV reception was good and there were tea and coffee facilities in the room. Dave the manager could not do enough for us he was always around to answer any queries we may have had and worked really hard.The food was standard always something we liked. the meal times were a bit short 8.30am - 9.00am breakfast and dinner 6.30pm - 7.00pm but as it happens it worked out really well with the evening entertainment which was really good. All in all we had a great time and would return again. There was some refurbishing needed to be done but I think that this is all in hand.The only other thing that we found annoying was that all the telephone were cut off and my mobile didnt have a signal, but I must say the sister hotel next door (which could be reached from inside) was very accomodating and let me use phone in there reception. Phone box over road was out of order. Summing up. Very very good value for money. We will be going back. Thanks to all staff at the Russell

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CandyUnitedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

friend and I just spent a break here, bit disappointed at first as room was at back, but found it was, as better room than others ,had French doors and as so hot had them open all the time, break was fantastic, david and all the staff worked really hard to please from day one, food was great, drink prices reasonable and well entertainment was fantastic, couldn't find one thing to complain about, and will be booking again, with GB tours, the driver who was really good,

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lorraine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Rembrandt
0.6 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#6 of 22 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#10 of 22 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Seafront Hotel
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Hotel
7.4 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Russell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Russell Hotel

Property: Russell Hotel
Address: 135-138 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 7NG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Russell Hotel is perfect for short & weekend leisure breaks in Weymouth – ideal for adult-only, half-board breaks. The coastal hotel is an ideal base for a holiday or short break to Weymouth, boasting easy access to the surrounding countryside, the town centre just a short walk away and the Channel Islands reachable by Condor Ferries' state-of-the-art hydrofoil. The spacious hotel restaurant serves a traditional English breakfast and a three-course dinner followed by tea or coffee. After this, why not retire to the lounge bar and relax with friends or enjoy the great live inclusive entertainment provided every evening by a variety of local musicians? The more energetic can even boogie the night away on the dance floor. The Russell Hotel offers a variety of short break packages throughout the year, including Nostalgia breaks and the ever-popular Tinsel & Turkey breaks during November and December. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Russell Hotel Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing