We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Alendale Guest House
Ranked #5 of 165 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Friendly and comfortable”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Nice clean B&B. The coffee tray in the room had some nice little extras. The breakfasts were filling and there was a varied selection. Within easy walking distance of amenities. Hosts were friendly and offered advice when needed.

Room Tip: Parking is a bit tight but manageable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    451
    38
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
82
332
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lancing, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Clive and Lesley made us very welcome from the moment we arrived. Room very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Breakfast excellent - so much choice. Conveniently situated for a short walk into main town area. Will certainly recommend this b and b to friends. Many thanks Margaret and Danny

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The first sight we had of Clive was in our rear view mirror, guiding us into our parking spot at the rear of the B&B - he'd spotted us from the kitchen window and had come down to help! We were provided a quite small double room, with a tiny TV and a small bathroom at the rear of the establishment, on the first floor. Although disappointed at first, we were later glad to be at the back and not in a room overlooking the busy main street or on a higher floor. The goodies tray in the bedroom was very generous (including bottled water, hot chocolate, plentiful biscuits, shampoo, conditioner, soap) as were the chocolates in the lounge. We stayed for 2 nights, and breakfast by Lesley was very, very good - a real treat and even better than Clive told us it would be! On one of the days we were there it was blowing a gale at Durdle Door and my wife and I picked up a bit of a cold. Clive did not hesitate to put on the central heating early for us and Lesley came up with an extra bedspread - how nice is that! Thanks Lesley and Clive for looking after us!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Survey54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2014

we received a warm welcome from clive and Lesley and had a very enjoyable stay in Weymouth. the b +b was spotless with a lot of attention to detail, very comfy bed and great breakfast, it changed my mind about b+bs

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kate m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Really nice , clean and tidy, very simple nothing over the top, clean room, clean shower, bed was comfortable, nothing to really moan about.
Owners Clive and Leslie, extremely lovely people, breakfasts are lovely, plenty to choose from!!
Will sure be going back again :-D

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ashteag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We've just had a three night break in Weymouth staying at the Alendale. Clive and Lesley are excellent hosts with a good knowledge of local amenities and attractions. The room was spotlessly clean, bright and fresh with a very comfortable bed. The shower room was similarly spotless with good quality complimentary toiletries etc. The cooked breakfast was beautifully prepared with locally sourced produce and there is a wide choice of cereals, fresh fruit and fruit juices and jams and marmalades. The beach and promenade are just across the road and the town centre is just a few minutes stroll away. The Alendale has on site parking which is a real bonus. We were made very welcome and would definitely choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank owengerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Arrived Fri.17th May home on the 20th May Look no further if you are looking for an excellent B & B. from the welcome we got when we arrived ,the excellent food, bedroom etc cleanliness, location, nothing was too much trouble it wasn't just a business to Clive and Leslie you could see they enjoyed your co.and what they did .We come to Weymouth at least once a year and shall make this our regular stay .Thanks.

Room Tip: We were in no 4 Lovely all you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
0.3 mi away
Gloucester House
Gloucester House
#6 of 165 in Weymouth
346 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kelston Guest House
Kelston Guest House
#4 of 165 in Weymouth
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Cumberland
The Cumberland
#10 of 165 in Weymouth
243 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cunard Guest House
Cunard Guest House
#3 of 165 in Weymouth
586 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Redcliff B&B Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alendale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alendale Guest House

Property: The Alendale Guest House
Address: 4 Waterloo Place, Weymouth DT4 7NX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Alendale Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alendale Guest House is a warm and comfortable Grade II listed Georgian building in the beautiful seaside holiday town of Weymouth, Dorset, situated in a terrace at the end of the esplanade. It is just across the road from the beach and a short walk to the harbour and shopping centre and the old town with its restaurants, bars and nightlife. Retaining many of its Georgian features and character, the guest house offers comfortable, fresh accommodation on a B&B basis. All the rooms have en-suite facilities and families are welcome. We pride ourselves at the Alendale on our high standard of cleanliness. In your room you will find a well supplied hospitality tray and often home made cakes. We also provide hair dryers, sewing kits and shoe cleaning kits. An iron and board can be provided on request and we can also arrange dry cleaning. The Alendale has a modern dining room that can sit 14, with views towards the beach. We have a wonderful breakfast menu and source all our produce, where possible, directly from Dorset. The menu includes a full English breakfast with a choice of selected extras, or perhaps local grilled kippers or scrambled egg and smoked salmon with toasted brioche. There is also a selection of tea, coffee and hot chocolate. You can also help yourself to our breakfast buffet which includes fruit and a range of Dorset Cereals. Special diets can be catered for with prior notice but we generally find that most vegetarians can find something suitable from the menu.Our motto is, "If we can, we will"! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Alendale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Alendale Guest House Hotel Weymouth
The Alendale Guest House Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing