We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic”
Review of The Cumberland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Cumberland
Ranked #9 of 165 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
“fantastic”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

what one say ,the hotel first class very clean,nothing was to much for Claire and mark breakfast was excellent ,room was very clean,will definitely be back soon, and when they helped with our situation all we will say big thank you from vic and sue.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    29
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
59
117
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Totton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Welcoming, friendly hosts and clean well-kept accommodation. Front facing rooms have superb view across the beach and seafront, and only a short walk to the shops and picturesque harbour area. The breakfast was tasty and fulfilling, service was attentive, and the dining room bright and airy. Inclusion of a parking permit was a welcome touch, allowing you to park in the public car park in the street to the rear. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Front-facing rooms have great sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel with very polite and welcoming owners! We stayed in room 5 and the colour is lovely! Brightens up your day instantly! It was spacious and very clean, Breakfast was amazing and the cleaner is lovely as well! Will defiantly be back soon Many thanks

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JessicaH1233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

What a find!! This B&B is absolutely delightful with a perfect host called Mark. We had a fantastic triple room with a perfect sea view. The B&B has been recently refurbished and absolutely spotlessly clean. We were extremely impressed by the quality of the room, really comfortable bed and pillows and the en-suite was very impressive and spotless. Breakfast was delicious and there was plenty of it.!! My husband was really pleased with his birthday card and bottle of wine that was put in our room, which was a really nice gesture. My husband and I could not find one fault with the place and definitely will return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kt12Southampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, Vermont
1 review
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We had a great family holiday in Weymouth with the Cumberland making it home from home. We were greeted with a very friendly welcome and shown it our room, the room decor was lovely and extremely clean. Breakfast was served promptly and was very tasty, we found Mark and Claire to be very helpful telling us what places of interest were nearby. I will definitely be coming back and would highly recommend The Cumberland. Thank you for making our holiday and I look forward to seeing what else you have done with the place next time

Room Tip: Room 8 is a lovely family room with sea views. Sorry, I accidentally pushed button about swimming...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Been to this hotel several times so i thought i best write a review. The Cumberland hotel is a great place to stay when you visit Weymouth. If has a great location and the hotel run by Mark & Claire are both very friend and welcoming. Their breakfast caters for all requirements however I highly recommend the full English with plenty to chose from.

We have stayed in several of the rooms and all are very clean and offer fantastic views. If your looking for somewhere to stay in Weymouth you have to stay at the Cumberland.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simply_Me_Leigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2013

The hospitality was great and the rooms were very clean. The hotel had modern facilities with an authentic feel to the building. Seaview was great from the top floor balcony. The breakfast was lovely with all request met.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaBolas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Seafront Hotel
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Gloucester House
Gloucester House
#5 of 165 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kelston Guest House
Kelston Guest House
#2 of 165 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.2 mi away
B+B Weymouth
B+B Weymouth
#24 of 165 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cumberland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cumberland

Property: The Cumberland
Address: 95 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 7BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cumberland 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cumberland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Hotel Weymouth
The Cumberland Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing