We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Weymouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Parkdean - Warmwell Holiday Park
Reviewed 7 August 2011

This is our second stay at Warmwell and we were lucky enough to spend two weeks this time in a private lakeside lodge which we have stayed in before. I reviewed the lodge last year and once again this lodge was a delight to stay in. Lovely deck overlooking the lake and the sun shone every day, barbecues on the deck, deer grazing next to us and a lovely view, perfect!

I shall review the site more than the lodge as the lodge was perfect. On walking around the park I noticed some lodges had been painted and had new decks to them from last year although some lodges still did need some tlc, some were hidden away under trees and the decks would get no sun so it really is the luck of the draw which lodge you get allocated. The fishing lodges around the lake I would not reccommend if you want privacy or quietness as alot of people walk around these and the anglers night fish so not very quiet.

The lakes are fantastic. The specimen lake is well stocked and my husband fished this a few times . The second week we were there every single peg was booked un be known to us and the fishing shop failed to advise us of this so my keen angler of a hubby could not fish and as this was a main attraction for us this was not acceptable. Apparently the pegs can be booked for a whole week for a very cheap amount and you get sole use of the peg all week even if you are not fishing!! So the majority of the time the pegs were empty but you could not fish there . Very odd how anglers managed to get the pegs of their choice next to their lodges but apparently now allowed to prebook in advance????
So anglers beware if visiting in the summer period you may go with intentions of fishing but may not be able to.

Moving on to the rest of the site,

Arcade was excellent, great variety of games and prizes and well looked after in general. The rollerink/playbarn had had mainteniance since last year and looked better and also new skates. The pool was ok, could do with being bigger and more excitingm the flume is terrible. We ate in Hardys twice and the meals were execellent and service was the same, very friendly staff and quick service. The alpine bar was very good service , always polite , quick and friendly and the glass collector (Eddie) is a gem, loves his job. The internet access was not always working in the bar, reception staff were lovely and helpful and the whole place was very clean and tidy, no litter , kept very clean at all times.
The entertainment on the whole was very good, we played bingo a few times but the same people kept winning with their 50 books a time so gave up! The girl troupers were very professional, the shows they put on such as the pop princessess and signed souled delivered were fantastic, not so sure about the male troupers but they tried hard and were friendly. So overall not bad.
We tried the ringos twice, the forst time was awesome, the second time we didnt get half as many go s due to the staff chatting at the top of the slope and wasting time so would not pay for this again. The ringos also need revamping as some were flat and had no cord to pull.
Childrens play areas are ok but could do with something for older kids, the go karts have been revamped this year and were actually quite new and great fun.

Costcutter store was expensive but well stocked and the fish and chip shop was actually quite nice. The sports area was a nice place for a kick about and we had a laugh playing table tennis. So all in all great facilities, some parts dated but generally good.

The whole ambience of the park is lovely, mainly families but also some couples so a good mix. We never had any noise or drunken people , no swearing or bad behaviour witnessed at all unlike every Haven site we have been too!! So yes this is a quiet park aimed at nice people (not the Haven type)!! Sorry but I have had bad bad times on Haven sites!

Around and about there is lots to do, 15 mins drive to weymouth, nice harbour to fish and crab or many boat trips to book. Loved eating around the harbour and would recommend Bennetts fish and chip shop and the the T shop. Not that keen on the beach there, was always very busy and you always get folk who think its ok to place their huge beach tents on top of you so the view is the back of their tent!! Prefer more rural beaches.
Nice shopping in the town, sausage factory is great for bbq food and some nice clothes shops too.
We visited Durdle Door and Lulworth cove which is stunning and defo worth a look, take a picnic but have you walking shoes on and a camera! Also Craigs Diary farm in osmington is the best place for ice creams and the Sunray pub for the best food and portions, never had such big meals anywhere and they have an open kitchen which is always a good sign.
The Sunray is virtually opposite Craigs in osmington.
So all in all, a fantastic time was had, book the best lodges and you will have a fantastic time! We may return next summer if the fishing problem is addressed.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
2  Thank joanneNottm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (854)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

769 - 775 of 856 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2011

Stayed here for a week at the end of July in a Portland 2. The lodge was a bit dated but clean and tidy. We didn't choose one of the more expensive ones as we only use it as a base and spend little time in the place so it was fine. If we were intending to spend more time at the park then I would have wanted a better standard of lodge.

The park is clean and tidy. It's not too big or crowded. There are 2 outside paly areas for kids, plus an indor play gym, a roller rink, large clean swimming pool, gym plus a dry ski slope if that's your thing.

We only ate in the restaurant once and the food was not bad, the service good and the price ok. The bar service was good and again the prices were ok. The kids enjoyed the evening entertainment but it was pretty basic.

It's a good base, with Weymouth and Dorchester only a few minutes away, Poole within half an hour.

I'd be happy to stay there again but with so many other places to choose from we probably won't.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theblackjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

stayed in the three bed lakeside lodge [227] this lodge was situated on the lake with a fantastic outlook .the lodge was clean and comfortable. my only gripe would be the beds are very hard..the lodge had dish washer fridge,freezer microwave etc. we had a huge decked area around the lodge which was great for sitting out on in the evening. didnt use the bars or restaurants but they all looked fine. found the mini market on the complex to be expensive ,would advise using the bigger supermarkets on weymouth . had an abundance of wild life. rabbits,geese,ducks, deer which were very friendly. and kingfishers .would love to go back sometime.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bev196669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We went to Warmwell Holiday Park for a Friday to Monday holiday and we paid over £440 so was NOT cheap! The site is beautiful. We were in Lodge 103 and the walk up the hill to the main area was a killer!! The lodge itself was nice. I was pleasantly surprised.

Evening entertainment was so so. The kids entertainers were very good but the speakers seemed to be cranked up so was very loud!

The main problems was the noise on site at night. On the Friday evening I was woken up at 4.40 am by a group of noisy people who were very loud, swearing and singing! It went on for over an hour and I was quite surprised that the security people didnt sort it out. On the Saturday night it happened again but around midnight.

On the Saturday night my husband came back from the bar/entertainment area and informed me that there was a woman in her late 20's spread across a pool table whilst her partner took photos. Bearing in mind the pool table was in the amusement arcade which is geared for and full of children you would have thought that someone from security would have intervened.

However, a positive was the ski slope area where my 3 year old son loved the tabogganing. He also liked the play areas for the children.

We always go to Challaborough Bay Parkdean but thought we would try somewhere different but now that I have it is back to Challaborough Bay we go.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
1  Thank staineshunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Stayed for a week in Oct 2010 on a budget break through a well known cottage company. Our cabin smelled of damp in all rooms, which was OK to begin with, but got more a more overbearing as time went on. There was an air freshener in each room to keep the stench at bay.

The pool was OK, a bit on the tatty side. Life guards were happy for non pool users to walk around poolside with their shoes on - a hygeine issue. Don't eben bother wit the chip shop - terrible.

Get down to the Smugglers Inn pub in Osmigton Mills for a lovely location and very good food.

Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
2  Thank Hatter1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

lodge was basic and soon as we walked in we could smell wet dog,which turned out to be the vacume cleaner kept in cupboard. we actually warmed to the lodge and as we were only there for 3 nights we coped.had it been a week would have been different story.but the site and area were beautiful ,very peaceful and relaxing.exactly as brochure describes. men spent most late afternoons fishing and we actually got fish and chips one evening ,and sat by lake with them Soooo relaxing .entertainment was ok although we only stayed for sid & lizzie. only gripe was price we paid for 3 nights was £560 and would have expected better accomodation for price ,upgrade if you can,you wont be dissapointed at all.

Room Tip: upgrade to pricier lodge if able to
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

over priced,poor chalets,poor entertainment,poor facilties.
very poor all round,if you want a family holiday dont book here.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Service
1  Thank KentLuka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weymouth
11.6 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
296 reviews
6.8 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
24.4 mi away
Newlands Holidays
Newlands Holidays
#4 of 5 in Charmouth
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Seafront Hotel
6.6 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Hotel
11.5 mi away
East Farm House B&B
East Farm House B&B
#3 of 4 in Abbotsbury
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkdean - Warmwell Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkdean - Warmwell Holiday Park

Address: Warmwell, Near Weymouth | Dorset, Weymouth DT2 8JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Weymouth
Hotel Class:4 star — Parkdean - Warmwell Holiday Park 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodges, lakes, trees... and skis!Yes skis... this tranquil woodland holiday park has a few hidden surprises. You might spot a wandering Roe deer. You'll certainly find a peaceful fishing lake. And if you look closely enough, you'll discover a mind-blowing all-weather ski slope for hours of family fun. With plenty of great attractions nearby, like the colourful seaside resort of Weymouth on the stunning Jurassic Coast, and historical Dorchester market town in the peretty Frome Valley, Warmwell's a wonderful place to be. * Close to bustling Weymouth and historic Dorchester * Amazing Swimming Pool with flume and wave machine * Stunning Jurassic Coastline within easy reach * Mind-blowing 110m Snowflex ski slope on the park * Fantastic live Showtime Entertainment ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Warmwell Holiday Park Hotel Weymouth
Parkdean - Warmwell Holiday Park Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing