We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of The Pebbles

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Pebbles
Ranked #43 of 166 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We were really looking forward to our stay at The Pebbles for 7 nights but a few things stopped the experience being really positive. Although the room was clean on arrival the toilet wasn't cleaned during our stay. The breakfasts were nice but they were small portions and anyone with a large appetite may be disappointed. The provision of toast was very small - when we asked for more, we got half a slice each.However, the main issue we had was not being able to have dry towels. We read the instruction book provided and it seemed to indicate that we could have clean dry towels if we put them on the floor in the bathroom. There was no facility for drying towels in the bathroom and despite us trying to spread them out to dry in the bedroom during the day, the owner would come in and fold them up wet and hang them back in the bathroom - mixing them up so we didn't know which towel belonged to who. We had to use wet towels to dry ourselves. We put the wet towels on the floor of the shower and they were replaced twice in the week. However, the last time we put our soaking wet towels on the floor to be changed (after two days of use) the owner folded them up and put them back on the towel rail!! We understand that having clean towels daily may not be necessary, but having DRY towels is. There was no where we could dry our towels and we suggest that the owners address this issue or change the towels when soaking wet. On a positive note, we found the beds and the location excellent and the owners very obliging over parking and in providing an extra pillow.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anne11051965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pbeukers, Owner at The Pebbles, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Thank you for leaving a review for us.
We always encourage constructive reviews, good or bad.

We are both concerned and confused as to your review as there was no mention from either of you during your stay about any of these issues. My wife remembers as you were leaving you told us,
" We have had a wonderful week. It's been great. Thank you so much".

We try very hard to make all our guests stay as enjoyable as possible so take concerns seriously and to solve any issues any guest may have. It is not possible if these issues are not brought up during your stay.

I would like to reply to some of your comments:

We check all rooms everyday during the normal service and clean where necessary and at no point were we made aware of any concerns you had. Indeed we asked you at breakfast every morning and you told us everything was fine and I checked your bathroom on 3 of the days you stayed and the toilet was clean on all 3 days.

You mention you only got given half a slice of toast each when requested. The day in question your mother decided she did not want any more and you specifically asked for only 1 piece of toast hence why I served you one slice in 2 pieces. Toast is unlimited and only needs to be requested for all guests.

You mention there is no where to hang towels in the bathroom when there are 2 towel rails in the bathroom of Room 9! as well as 2 hooks on the back of the bathroom door and for some reason towels from your room were completely saturated every morning for no reason we could fathom!.
We have a policy of changing towels as and when requested by guests up to a maximum of 3 times in a week.

We have never had a problem with towels in the 11 years we have been running The Pebbles and there is no other mention of it in any review we have ever had. Therefore we are not quite sure what issue we are to address!.

So toast that was not asked for, towel rails that do exist but apparently don't exist and wet towels! If these are the only issues then I think we are doing quite well.

Look forward to your next stay.
Regards,
The Pebbles.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 228 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2013

Convenient for the town and seafront in a quiet back street. Hosts very friendly and helpful. Comfortable small double room with en-suite shower & WC. Good comfortable bed. Nicely decorated and furnished, very clean. Great full english breakfast, kippers too! Host very approachable and willing to fix any problems quickly (e.g. WiFi down). Free on site parking available - a must in Weymouth. Credit cards now attract a small fee. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Property on 3 floors has steep stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dandms11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

This is our 4th stay at The Pebbles, as we have family in Weymouth, and when we return we shall be booking here again. Very clean room, good facilities, parking, Wi-Fi and lovely breakfast.
A very friendly, helpful and warm welcome. Great stay, thanks.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Excellent 3 night stay. Booked through Booking.com and would advise others to book direct to avoid hike in price! The owners were upfront and exceptionally helpful on this and upgraded us to their best room to compensate Booking.com overpricing. Accommodation first class; immaculate and clean, location perfect for leaving the car as easy walk into the town, lovely breakfast and friendly hosts. Parking spaces available for each room. Would definitely recommend and stay there again.

Room Tip: Speak to the proprietors at time of booking as they will give honest advice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pbeukers, Owner at The Pebbles, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Thank you so much for your review.

We try to help where ever we can and to be as fair as possible.

What you say is true and the cheapest prices are always available directly with us over the phone.

So glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit.

Cheers,
Paul & Karen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Helpful advice when enquiring and making the reservation. Very friendly welcome upon arrival.
The room was immaculate, the breakfast was great, the price was sensible and parking was included. I cannot fault my stay at Pebbles, I would be very happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MemberNumber1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pbeukers, Owner at The Pebbles, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2013

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you so much for leaving a review for us. It means a lot to us as word of mouth is the best advertising in the world.
We hope to see you again soon.

Paul & Karen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

This is nice place to stay. It has parking albeit limited. It is not too far from the sea front and there a nice pub just down the road. The owner gave us a warm welcome. The rooms are clean and tidy. Only drawback would be for someone with difficulty climbing stairs, they are a bit steep. But overall I would stay again.

Room Tip: Don't stay if stairs are an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pbeukers, Owner at The Pebbles, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2013

Thank you for your review and taking the time to leave one for us. We really apreciate genuine reviews as we work very hard to get them and they reflect the type of stay guests can expect if they have not been before.

We would add that we do guarantee 1 on site, private, off street parking space for every guest room in the house.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and very much look forward to your next stay.

Paul & Karen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Nothing bad to say at all about this B&B. Very clean room, equipped with, tv, hairdryer, tea & coffee making etc, comfortable bed and clean linens. Very clean bathroom with powerful shower. Good breakfast cooked to order, good coffee(not instant), your room number is your table number.Parking is first come first served (we luckily got a spot at the front). About 10 minutes walk to the town centre. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mtch65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pbeukers, Owner at The Pebbles, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2013

We are please you had a great time with us and want to thank you for leaving us a review.

We are not quite sure what you mean by "parking is first come first served" as we guarantee one space for every room either in our front small car park or the larger one at the back off the house. We only reserve a space right next to the front door for guests who can produce a blue badge.

We both look forward to your next visit.

Paul & Karen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0 mi away
Sandy Dreams
Sandy Dreams
#10 of 166 in Weymouth
182 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Bourneville
The Bourneville
#37 of 166 in Weymouth
305 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Seafront Hotel
7.1 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
296 reviews
1 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pebbles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pebbles

Address: 18 Kirtleton Avenue, Weymouth DT4 7PT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 166 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range: £56 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pebbles 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Silver Award victorian, family run guest accommodation in quiet leafy avenue.We offer a choice of six en-suite rooms, most with double beds, including one twin-bedded room on the ground floor. We have recently refurbished all the ensuite shower rooms to a 'hotel' standard and we pride ourselves on maintaining high standards of housekeeping. Complimentary Wi-Fi in all rooms and guaranteed private off-road parking for all our guests is much appreciated by our regular visitors. The centre of town is only five minutes’ walk, so you can leave your car safely parked and stroll into town.At any time the garden is a peaceful sun trap to enjoy a good book or catch up on work. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Pebbles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pebbles Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing