We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed - stayed 2nd October 2013”
Review of Riviera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riviera Hotel
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Disappointed - stayed 2nd October 2013”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I will start with the good bits....................

Easy to find.
The location meant that we had a wonderful view from the shared balcony. We booked room 222, and after reading other comments on trip-advisor we specially requested that we had one of the rooms that is serviced by the lift.
The few staff we had contact with were very friendly.
We paid £69 for a twin room with breakfast.

And the rest....................

The bedroom was very small, the door doesn't fully open as it hits the wardrobe which made it difficult to get our cases in and out.
All guests have to vacate their rooms by 10 am and cannot return before 4pm.
We found it impossible to regulate the shower to a comfortable, and safe, temperature, it was always too hot. In the end we gave up. Other guests said the same.
There were no chairs in the room - or even space to put one.
The beds are very low and not at all comfortable to sit on for any length of time.
The windows opened directly onto the long, shared balcony and as this was accessible to anyone (you did not have to come through the hotel to get to it) I was not willing to leave the window open at night, this would be an obvious security risk, and therefore the room was incredibly hot. I asked about the possibility of a fan but was told there weren't any. We went to B & Q in town and bought a fan.
The breakfast was not very warm (cold plates too) and our fried eggs were very hard; the toast was also cold.
I travelled with a disabled blue badge user, but the few disabled spaces were just as far from the hotel entrance as the 'normal' spaces. There are steps up to the front door. We later found a small ramp to the right of the main entrance, but it was not signposted.
Normal access to the first floor rooms at the front of the hotel is via steep, exterior stairs so if you have any mobility problems be sure to check you have one of the rooms that can be reached by the lift.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view, ask for lift accessibility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny1997186259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    258
    259
    173
    257
See reviews for
190
542
31
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Myself and my wife stayed here in September and had a great weekend especially as it was without the children. The hotel itself was clean and tidy and the rooms were cleaned daily, nice clean bed and bathroom was very clean with a nice shower. Everything in the room worked and the tea and coffee was great as well. The rooms are small but suited us as we didnt spend too long in there, we had a room on the front with fantastic views of the bay, this is a must. The breakfasts were great and plenty to choose from and we didnt have to wait too long to be seated, we had one evening meal there that was really good and it was also home cooked. We used the pool, sauna etc and found this to be clean and tidy too. All the staff we dealt with were very helpful and seemed happy. The rear of the hotel does need some TLC and the grounds could do with a good gardener as they could be amazing and this is the first thing you see on arrival, also as stated by someone it would be nice to see some more benches out the front. All in all a nice weekend and we would stay again.

Room Tip: Request a room at the front over looking the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishopsteignton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

The hotel and its layout contribute to a relaxed atmosphere ,the rooms a well appointed everything works althought the beds are a bit hard,Views are really nice .The breakfast was of a good standard in a comfortable dining room .The building and it`s grounds are a gem and I feel that this needs to be recognised more by the hotel itself as some of the exterior of the building needs some t.l.c . and the grounds could certainly look a lot better in terms of floral decorations and borders ,maybe a few decent quality benches ,and a good tidy up of the grounds in general would make a big difference .the whole experience of our weekend away was good and was almost what I expected I get the feeling that nobody is putting themselves out here but if they did then it could have a "wow" factor .If the management do read this then I would also suggest some decent seating outside the rooms would be a good move as opposed to the look of an odd chair here and there have all the appearance of being borrowed from the local pub garden and give a bad impression .These comments are intended to be constructive and I sincerely wish that that management take the views I have expressed in the same manner .

Room Tip: sea view on second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teignmouthtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

From the distance driving down the hill to get to hotel I thought oh my god I'm staying at pontine but on arrival I found out why it had this look.
The building is listed so modernisation from the outside is not allowed.
The reception staff were friendly, rooms are shallies but have been modernised so there is not a lot off room.
The bathroom is fitted with a shower which is a modern unit.
Tea and coffee in the rooms.
Breakfast is a buffet style with staff fetching you tea coffee and toast.
Plates could do with being warm as when you put food on them and get back to your table this is cold.
We had evening meals at hotel off a set menus which was off good standard.
Leisure facility's ok with a indoor pool steam room and sauna with a small gym.
For a budget break I would stay again

Room Tip: Balcony over looking the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank penfold0180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Stayed here overnight on 28th September pleasant, friendly and helpful staff. Rooms clean great views from the shared balcony couldn't fully open the wardrobe door but not a problem decorated nicely very comfortable bed with decent pillows the reception and restaurant inviting the buffet breakfast very good. Thought it was extremely good value for the money we paid the building from the outside doesn't do the inside justice I would definitely stay here again.
The hotel is a about 2-3 miles from the centre of Weymouth

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debsmoore12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We chose this hotel due to its location and website. Well the location was beautiful, with lovely views and walks nearby, but that was it. We arrived after a long car journey for a 4pm check in, arriving at 4.10 we were told that our room would be ready in 10 minutes well, after several more promises it was actually 5.45 before our room was ready. When I said that this was disappointing the assistant manager said I was entitled to my opinion!!! Well it went down from there. Our room was in the back block , the walk to our room was awful it was like walking through a building site. With weeds and unfinished walls. On the metal stair case to our room two dirty wine glasses balanced on the first aid box and they where there all week. Our room was nice and modern but small. Breakfast was the next nightmare limited choices if you don't like a cooked breakfast. We had to ask several times for our tea and toast. If you wanted coffee!!! Well you may be there all day. After a day out we would return to our room not being cleaned and this was by 4pm everyday, on our last day it was 6pm before they got around to our room so we told them to go away. Amazingly when we left we were not asked what our stay was like only whether we owed them any money, do I need to say more!!!!!

Room Tip: Only can suggest don't go, but if you do then choose a room at the front and don't arrive be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nicky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Weymouth hotels

Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

this is an iconic art deco building which has been tastefully refurbished to the art deco period. but then it goes down hill. the room was small but comfortable but the cleaning was very poor and we had to complain that our room had not been cleaned properly on one occasion also there was never enough shower gel or shampoo left for us and we had to keep asking at receiption for more the carpet had not been cleaned in the seven days of our stay. on arrival the restuarant was closed so we could not get a meal or hot drink after our long journey apparently they had no chief. the breakfasts were very basic and there was no continental choices or fruit to put on your cereal etc. also there was cereal spilt all on the table and not cleaned away. the staff did not seem to know what they were doing and seemed like agency staff. it reminded me of a school canteen. we think this hotel is not worthy of a three star rating and is over priced for what we had. we will not be returning and will not recommend this to our friends.

Room Tip: use another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richard t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
1.8 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
8.2 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
273 reviews
5.5 mi away
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
#5 of 22 in Weymouth
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
#13 of 22 in Weymouth
445 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Fairhaven Hotel
The Fairhaven Hotel
#17 of 22 in Weymouth
320 reviews
2.5 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#15 of 22 in Weymouth
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Hotel

Property: Riviera Hotel
Address: Bowleaze Coveway, Weymouth DT3 6PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in an Art Deco style, the majority of our rooms are connected to the main building by covered pathways. All rooms feature free Wi-Fi, en suite bathrooms and tea/coffee making facilities and a safety deposit box. There is a Leisure Centre equipped with a sauna, steam room, gym and both indoor and outdoor pools. (Outdoor pool seasonal only). Set in Bowleaze Cove the Riviera Hotel is just 2.5 Miles from the town centre. Also nearby are the Sealife Centre as well as Lodmoor nature reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing