We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“disappointed, could be loads better” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riviera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riviera Hotel
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Saint Austell, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“disappointed, could be loads better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

The hotel could defiantly be better. you have to use the outside corridors to get to your room. which is fine when the weather is nice. the building is not in good condition at all. there was broken wood on the roofing and paint crumbling off all the walls. the door to our room was covered in dirt also. Once in the room this was very clean and modern but small. The public areas have had some work and money spent on them and are looking very good. we didn't have an evening meal but the breakfast and the breakfast area were both very nice. The staff here are unprofessional in my opinion. On checking in one girl was auguring with another member of staff in front of everyone. Checking in was slow due to the interruption of gossiping going on between staff. once leaning that this hotel was built in the 1930's and was once a Pontins holiday camp I got the layout and could see back in the day this hotel was once really good. More money is needed to make this a better hotel. Weymouth is great though and we have enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    241
    235
    152
    227
See reviews for
162
502
29
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night, it's in a great location with great facilities. The main grumble was that cappuccino wasn't included in the price of breakfast........ Rooms were surprisingly modern apart from windows which were old but did the job needed. Would come again but eat breakfast elsewhere

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

After usually staying at waterside holiday park for years was abit nervous to stay here but as only for one night didn't have much choice! Was pleased to say had a lovely visit room clean, facilities great not too expensive and outside pool was awesome! Beautiful views over looking the bay and into Weymouth with all amenities close by am planning on staying for a short break with our little girl next year! Well worth it and had a lovely break away staff was friendly and polite and even brought a fan to our room when asked x

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristie145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

Myself and my girlfriend stayed at the Riviera back in July 2013 for two nights and enjoyed a thoroughly pleasant stay.
Having planned the trip from the train station to the hotel on my phone I assumed it would be a short walk however the hotel is some way out of Weymouth town centre and the walk (albeit a leisurely one) took over an hour which with a heavy bag is not ideal. Of course with a car this would be no problem as there appears to be ample parking on site. I would also dissuade people to drag a bag with wheels across the pebble beach! That said while tiring, it surely must be easier than scaling the hill and keeping to the road to access the hotel.
Checking in took no longer than 5 minutes and we were situated on the first floor facing the bay with stunning views (although the weather tried its best to spoil it.)
The rooms are small, I can't beat around the bush, when opening the door it came within an inch of touching the mattress. Aside from this the room was clean and well decorated with a decently sized en suite however we found the shower cubicle was small and I came into contact with a very hot pipe several times.
The bed itself was decent but I have also had better nights sleep. It made a deafening racket at the slightest movement and as I fidget in my sleep this disturbed my girlfriend's night's sleep.
Breakfast was a bit of a circus and upon checking out the hotel staff tried to charge us for it, despite the fact that we pre-paid. The food for selection was varied but the waiters seemed to be lacking in direction and after supplying you with the initial toast (brown or white) and tea they were too busy to offer any other real service.
That said, for a short stay the hotel suited our needs well and despite the bed we had an enjoyable and relaxing break. As to whether I would return to this hotel. I would say yes but I would probably research the competition.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view room if possible. Views across the bay or facing the hills are stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Well when i saw the pictures and the price i was extremely excited about staying there. When we arrived I noticed the reception and restaurant areas were immaculate. I checked in and went in to the room. The room inside was lovely but i was disapointed as it wasnt set back from the walk way and your bedroom door goes straight putside. The room was also cold, you got woken up easily with people being loud, drunk and slamming their doors and there were trees directly outside and it was windy so you could hear them all night blowing in the wind plus the door kept on rattling. I cant say it is the best of designs of a hotel and I was disapointed. Also the food and drinks were pricey so we had to take a drive out. There were some good things. The service was excellent, the interior of the room and bathroom were excellent and both very clean and the spa facilities were also great. However based on the design of the hotel and the cost of food and drink there I personally wouldn't choose to stay there again.

Helpful?
5 Thank coolchanty
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travellers are raving about these Weymouth hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

This is the second time we've stayed here and would return again. The location is perfect with views of lovely Weymouth bay, and I can't argue with the prices. The rooms are clean and modern and the breakfast is great. As I said in my last review though it does need some attention to detail, flaking paint in the bathroom, VERY stiff door on the room. All problems that could soon be sorted. We stayed for 2 nights, the first breakfast we had was faultless. The breakfast on day 2 was also great however the staff were clearly stretched, took about 5 minutes to be seated and we were offered tea and toast yet it never arrived. The buffet part of the breakfast was great though. Reception staff very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank archiep12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night for a family wedding and were more than happy with our room, general service and food. This hotel is in a stunning location, offers good value for money, and is certainly not deserving of some of the negative comments that have been posted.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Rembrandt
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Seafront Hotel
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#10 of 22 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#7 of 22 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Hotel

Property: Riviera Hotel
Address: Bowleaze Coveway, Weymouth DT3 6PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in an Art Deco style, Some rooms are connected to the main building by covered pathways. All rooms feature free Wi-Fi, en suite bathrooms and tea/coffee making facilities, as well as a safe and fridge. All rooms are accessible from outside walkways, which you may sit along to admire the view of the bay. There is a Leisure Centre equipped with a sauna, steam room, gym and both indoor and outdoor pool. (Outdoor pool seasonal only) Which will be included in the price. Set in Bowleaze Cove the Riviera Hotel is just 2.5 Miles from the town centre. Also nearby are the Sealife Centre as well as Lodmoor nature reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing