We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, highly recommended especially for the price”
Review of Riviera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riviera Hotel
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Amazing situation with lovely sea views, a great surprise to find beautifully appointed bedroom with safe, fridge and tea/coffee making facilities tastefully decorated with modern fittings. Even better when we realised our £40/night included use of a lovely indoor pool, sauna and steam room. I cannot understand the mixed reviews about the hotel- staff are excellent (apart from the dining room manager) providing attentive service. Wonderful 3 day weekend break.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doc-on-hols5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

775 - 781 of 1,114 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Great price and stay for two nights. Staff were great the rooms were very modern, clean and warm. Nice for an out of season break. We enjoyed our stay. Nice walk into town via the beach about 40 minutes. Note: buses only run in the season, however taxis are about £6.50. Wide screen tv and and a fridge was novel! Yes a fridge.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Slippers999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

had a great time, staff really friendly and helpful, pool and leisure centre great , room perfect with a great view and breakfast was delicious , can't wait to go again, just wish we had longer to stay there , also a shame the bus service doesn't run in the winter but not the hotels fault.

Room Tip: always pick the room with a view ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Had a very enjoyable short break in this hotel the rooms were very clean and the bed comfortable. Although we did not have a sea view the hotel itself is very well situated in a beautiful spot for walking and a very short ride into Weymouth. Breakfast was buffet style with a good choice. Overall had a lovely stay and would definitely come back again.

Room Tip: possibly worth upgrading to a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizabethp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We stayed at the Riviera for a long weekend birthday treat for my husband. Having been told about its past (it was formally a Holiday Camp) we were a little dubious about what we would find, but what a pleasant surprise. Lovely modern rooms, great food and the most gorgeous 'hot' swimming pool greeted us. The steam and sauna rooms were an additional bonus and although we didn't sample the gym, it looked to have everything you could want. The staff were extremely friendly and we eventually got our iron and ironing board after asking a couple of times. A good price for a two night b&b stay.

Room Tip: The majority of rooms face the sea and branch out like arms from the central body of the hotel, on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarciaT61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Just returned from three nights at the Riviera and really have no complaints. We were staying Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights. We'd booked two single rooms and asked when we arrived if it would be possible to upgrade to doubles. I'd seen earlier in the day that doubles were available for less than we had paid but they told us it would be an extra £10 each per night. We stayed put. We only saw two other residents on the Thursday night. Great if you wanted the pool to yourself! We booked to eat in the restaurant and while the food was ok it was rather expensive for what we we ate. We were also the only people in the restaurant so it lacked in atmosphere rather, we ended up asking to eat in the reception so that we could see a bit of something going on. Sounds weird but worked.

Having said that the staff couldn't do enough for you even if they seemed rather inexperienced (my friend had no towels and asked at reception for some, they gave her them there and then). The breakfast was better than I've had in better hotels. Obviously busier on Saturdays and Sundays when the hotel was busier. The rooms have obviously had a re-furb and are fine. The singles are a bit pokey and I have bruises on my shins from walking round the bed. The majority of rooms have a great view thanks to the position and design of the hotel. There is an annexe behind and I'd have been disappointed if I'd been in there. The leisure centre is also great for such a small hotel.

All in all a great base to discover the fantastic county of Dorset and good value. I hope to return.

Room Tip: Ask not to be in the annexe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NickYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

The room is not like you see it on the photos. Very small and cramped with very little room to move around. Plenty of bruises to prove it. Some staff very miserable and was too much trouble. Food very poor and cold. Shame had to go out to eat. Would certainly not visit again.

Room Tip: All rooms small
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
1.8 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
2.5 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#15 of 22 in Weymouth
19 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#7 of 22 in Weymouth
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
#6 of 22 in Weymouth
676 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
287 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
#13 of 22 in Weymouth
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Hotel

Address: Bowleaze Coveway, Weymouth DT3 6PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Price Range: £58 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in an Art Deco style, the majority of our rooms are connected to the main building by covered pathways. All rooms feature free Wi-Fi, en suite bathrooms and tea/coffee making facilities and a safety deposit box. There is a Leisure Centre equipped with a sauna, steam room, gym and both indoor and outdoor pools. (Outdoor pool seasonal only). Set in Bowleaze Cove the Riviera Hotel is just 2.5 Miles from the town centre. Also nearby are the Sealife Centre as well as Lodmoor nature reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing