We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad experience - best avoid”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Riviera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riviera Hotel
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Bad experience - best avoid”
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed over for just a night at this hotel but it left quite a bad taste in the mouth.

We saw at least 5 rooms on bookings.com before we walked in, but on approaching the reception we were told none were available. So we walked out into the parking lot, booked a room on the website and came back to the reception. The booking had been confirmed. On asking the person at the reception, they made up a story that it must have been a very last minute cancellation. It all sounds very strange to me that a hotel doesn't know itself what rooms it has available.

The hotel has a very dated look to it - straight out from the 70s or 80s but the rooms & the interiors have been done up much more recently so that's a good thing. We booked a "sea view" room. But honestly, unless you want to stick your head out the window and look to the left, you probably won't see the sea. Moreover, the room was so small that you had walk over the bed to go from one side to another.

We managed to get over all this and decided to enjoy the one day we were at the hotel. And next morning we called up the reception asking for a possible noon check out - the regular time being 11am. The guys refused even to extend it for an hour without charging us for it - something quite strange to me as it was Sunday and if the hotel wasn't booked out on Saturday night, I am tempted to think it wouldn't have been on Sunday either.

Also as a side note, the breakfast is extremely average & not worth buying here. Probably best to go into town.

It's supposed to be a hospitality industry but none of the hospitality seems to be on offer at this place.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Neofelis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    243
    239
    155
    230
See reviews for
167
509
29
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

So where to begin? I think I'll begin with the awful, and then go to the rather better. We arrived at 6:00 and were relatively quickly checked in. We had booked a room with a sea view, and you could actually see a bit of sea out of the window! But the room stank of mildew and damp, and there was a vast patch of paint peeling off from the outside of the door (to be fair, you can't help that so close to the sea, but you would have thought they would have repainted before the season started?). I went to wash my hands - no soap! Luckily, I'd bought my own. I had trouble finding out how you opened the plug in the wash-basin - in fact, you just pressed on it, but.... And it would have been better if we could have found the thermostat for the radiator earlier, so that I wouldn't have frozen all night - the room was draughty with the door not fitting very well, but the duvet provided was summer-weight.

And the absolute worst, the main reason for which this review is only getting 2 stars, is that there were no separate switches for the reading-lamps - one switch controlled them both, so you had to either have a booklight with you or be ready to snuggle down when your spouse was. This would be unforgivable in a 1-star hotel, never mind in a 3-star.

Then we went to dinner. Oh dear! One member of staff on duty for the whole bar and restaurant (to be fair, I see from their website they are advertising for a second - they need it!). So it was all very slow, and when the food did come it wasn't really worth waiting for - frozen fish, frozen chips, frozen peas.... I could have had that at home! Then my pudding was absolutely disgusting! It billed itself as champagne sorbet with raspberry coulis, but what it tasted like was frost from the freezer with aspartame. I had 2 teaspoonfuls, and then had to have a bite of my husband's brownie to take the taste away.

However, breakfast next morning did make up for a lot! Delicious buffet, with a huge choice of hot and cold food, coffee was really nice and they brought you fresh toast. And far more efficient service than on the previous evening.

They also have a really nice leisure centre, with a swimming pool (there is an outside pool in the summer months), sauna and steam room. And bubble jets in the pool, although you can't sit in them long as it is pool temperature, not jacuzzi temperature (a separate jacuzzi would have made it perfect!). They provide towels, but no shampoo (should have brought mine over).

The towels were the other really nice thing about the hotel - absolutely huge! Much bigger than the postage-stamps they normally give you. They changed our towels - we were there for two nights - despite our having hung them up, so I used my big towel as an extra blanket the second night, and was much more comfortable.

All the same, they should adjust the reading lamp so that each guest can read as late as he or she likes!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs-Redboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Weymouth hotels

Midhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Second trip to the Riviera, was secretly hoping it would have improved since my last stay. Sadly not. The chap on reception was very helpful and very apologetic when we told him we would not be staying for the two nights we had booked. We ate as soon as we got there, the menu was fish and chips, scampi and chips or burger and chips. The waiter was not dressed appropriately and was rude, tremendously under trained and does not have the right attitude for dealing with the public. He was engrossed in talking to his friends at the bar, comparing music on their mobiles loudly. We had to call him three times for cutlery, condiments and napkins. Each time greeted with a look like I was disturbing him. The room was clean and tidy at first glance however had a musty damp smell, a massive gap around the door capable of letting in the cold or rain, this issue was mentioned to the handyman/maintenance guy by my wife. His reply was that it was a listed building and they were not allowed to undertake any repairs. It was such a shame that i wasnt there for this conversation as i could have put him right as a civil engineer i specialise in work on listed properties. The whole place reeks of neglect and that includes the staff. The guy on reception was embarassed by the whole episode but by his own admission he did tell us that they deal with a very high number of complaints. I was very disappointed and we decided to find another hostelry locally. This place has so much potential including a great location but the fundamentals are missing, like customer service and trained staff. In reality how hard is it?

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chepstow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We have just returned from staying one night at the Riviera and was very disappointed and angry at the terrible reception we received on arrival. We waited 10 minutes to be acknowledged and another 10 to be booked in, where we were told that we did not make a reservation despite the fact that my Husband double checked by phone that morning, and that the Hotel had plenty of rooms available, surely to keep quiet about they're mistake would have had given a far better impression.
We sat In the foyer having an evening drink and we could hear some of the staff baying and shouting as they set tables in the dining room.
When we came down for breakfast in the morning we were ignored and when we asked where to sit told to "Bear with us* however given no further information. When we eventually found an empty table we had to sit again waiting for it to be cleared by a very obnoxious waitress. I do not normally complain as I am usually very laid back, but the level of Customer Service is nil, and although the Hotel is in a beautiful setting it does not make up for the surly very rude and uninterested Staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janoelove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This hotel could be so impressive as its in a fabulous position overlooking the bay and is a wonderfully art deco type design. In reality however, this is poorly managed and unloved. The rooms as many have described are small and rather basic. The gap around the door of room 118 is large enough to fit fingers in and needs to be slammed to close. The shower is coming away from the wall and the water ejects at a very slow trickle. The windows all lack secondary glazing ( they can't be replaced as the building has some degree of listed protection), thus noise is an issue. The debris under the bed showed evidence of other guests and the cleaning was very superficial. On our visit, one housekeeper was off sick which placed pressure on the remaining workers, who were trying to manage as well as they could in the circumstances.

The bar in the upstairs 'function room' ran out of draft larger and wine coolers and the buffet at the function was a rather sad affair of greasy substandard offerings.

The breakfast was a fiasco as almost everything ran out an hour before the end of breakfast-there were no yogurts as apparently all had been eaten before 09.00 and other items were replaced in decreasing amounts ...the only thing that flowed was the grease! No vegetarian options, no warm plates ( not allowed because of 'health and safety!), no fruit, no pastries etc etc.

A very poor experience, staff were friendly and trying to do their best, but in reality the hotel needs to be upgraded and managed by a team who know what guests paying almost £100 a night expect.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelle m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

The Riviera Hotel is in a wonderful location at the far end of Weymouth Beach and on a sunny, warm weekend there cannot be many nicer spots on the south coast. The room was nicely refurbished and with a bit more thought could have been ideal. Food was variable from okay to awful and some of the communal parts of the hotel could do with some TLC. The staff were unfailingly friendly and helpful, there just were not enough of them at times. Overall huge potential for this to be a 4+ star hotel but it needs better management and ongoing maintenance if it is not going to slip further back into faded grandure.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael and Ant... R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

It looks better than it is. The bedroom doors are external like a holiday camp chalet on two floors.
The room size is extremely limited with the flat screen tv screwed to the left side wall!! (not comfortable viewing) If your door has a noticeable gap around it and doesn't lock (ours) the south-westerly's will keep it fresh inside!! (we moved to another room and it was larger and more expensive).The bed was uncomfortable and we suffered for two nights,the bathroom was a comfortable size with a small shower cubicle that reminds you not to drop the soap and the lack of water pressure stopped my wife from washing her hair as she felt the shampoo would never get washed out!! The best part of the room was the full length mirrors and size of the wardrobe.
For a bar snack they did not have any cheese for the sandwich on the menu,on the second evening it took half an hour to get a Ham and Tomato Sandwich when we were the only people in the bar,perhaps they went to Asda as i suggested the previous evening!!
For breakfast the full-english was buffet style,i tried bacon, tomato and scrambled egg but none of it tasted anywhere near what it should and the staff didn't query why it wasn't ate.
The second morning their was no buffet breakfast and no brown-bread for toast,we opted for poached eggs (something fresh?) they arrived before we were halfway through our cereal and my two eggs were on one slice of toast!!!
WE DIDN'T WONDER FOR TOO LONG WHY THE PLACE WAS VIRTUALLY EMPTY.

Room Tip: The beach end seemed to be "larger" rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank botley7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
1.8 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Seafront Hotel
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#10 of 22 in Weymouth
447 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#5 of 22 in Weymouth
451 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Hotel

Property: Riviera Hotel
Address: Bowleaze Coveway, Weymouth DT3 6PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in an Art Deco style, Some rooms are connected to the main building by covered pathways. All rooms feature free Wi-Fi, en suite bathrooms and tea/coffee making facilities, as well as a safe and fridge. All rooms are accessible from outside walkways, which you may sit along to admire the view of the bay. There is a Leisure Centre equipped with a sauna, steam room, gym and both indoor and outdoor pool. (Outdoor pool seasonal only) Which will be included in the price. Set in Bowleaze Cove the Riviera Hotel is just 2.5 Miles from the town centre. Also nearby are the Sealife Centre as well as Lodmoor nature reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing