We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riviera Hotel Weymouth”
Review of Riviera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riviera Hotel
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Similar to other reviews, I have to say this appears to be 'Work in Progress'.
The rooms are dreadfully small but amazingly well-equipped (eg we had a mini fridge, plenty of storage space, hairdryer and even wine glasses)
The rooms have obviously been decorated but the outer bedding we had was yellow and clearly been used before!
The bathroom lighting could be a bit brighter, as the window had been blocked off.
The outside areas need another coat of paint.
But the breakfasts were very good. We also had a bar meal, which was cooked freshly for us and was excellent.
The views across the bay are wonderful.
We stayed in April when it was quiet. I suspect the noise from the swimming pool area, nearby funfair and caravan park across the road may be quite high in summer months though.
Car parking may not be adequate if the hotel is busy.
But overall, we enjoyed our stay.
Would we stay again - well, when we left this hotel, we moved onto Devon and stayed in another hotel for the same price. Our room was about five times bigger, king size bed, similar breakfast, more parking, sea view. You decide.

Room Tip: I don't know if they have any 'good' rooms. Just ask for a big room and hope for the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsLWMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

715 - 721 of 1,107 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014

Stayed for 1 night, never get a second chance to make a first impression, the outside of the hotel is in terrible condition, flaked paintwork, unkept gardens.

The reception area, dining room have been refurbished, however after checking in we were given directions to our room, which is in a block at the rear of the hotel, I honestly thought we were heading for the staff accommodation! To be fair the room was in good decorative order, however, the cleaning staff had failed to clear up the Doritos of the previous guest, or indeed the tea they managed to spread across the wall.

Breakfast OK, staff friendly pool nice. Credit is due to the photographer who did the shots for the website, they made the place look much better than it is.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank PennyFormathorts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

My daughter and partner are currently staying there for a couple of nights. We went to meet them last night and have dinner together in the restaurant. The restaurant that in the Riviera's description says :-

"Fine dining has arrived at the Riviera hotel’s Bowleaze restaurant open to all visitors and non-residents. Boasting the culinary talents of Chef Mohammed Rikas who has recently taken over the kitchen to great success.
Rikas’ menu features classic and modern dishes which he has made his own, using the finest locally sourced ingredients. Behind the art deco architecture, a warm yet professional welcome awaits you. Elegant surroundings set the scene for exquisite food with exciting combinations of flavour, meticulously prepared and beautifully presented".

We dined mid evening and the A/La Carte menu consisted of 5 choices,
Fish & chips
Ham & egg (or pineapple ) with chips
Scampi & chips with salad
Sausage & mash with bacon gravy
Beef burger, chips & salad

This sumptuous fare was supplemented by 3 dishes of the day,
Breast of chicken with veg.
Two varieties of fish.

Hardly exquisite food with exciting combinations.
My daughter insisted on paying (a special treat as I have been ill), so I did not feel it my right to complain but my wife and I sat there squirming with embarrassment.
The hotel has spent a lot of money on refurbishment but what a let down the restaurant is. The restaurant is described as the perfect place for a romantic meal it is more the setting for an elaborate staff canteen and the idea of having the only bar that was open in the hotel is frankly ridiculous, hardly amenable to a quiet cocktail before dining.
We will never go back there for a meal or recommend it to anyone else, a shame as so much could be made of this 1930s Art Deco hotel.

Room Tip: Try and book a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Barry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed for two nights. We had asked for a sea view but as we were on the ground floor the net curtains blocked what would have been a nice view. The rooms are quite small made worse by a huge double bed which is quite unnecessary and although recently decorated there was a long crack down the wall. The room was clean but with no comfort. The bathroom was fine but on the second morning when we got up there wasn't any hot water. As we had arranged to meet others for breakfast we decided to make do but on pouring water from the kettle into the washbasin found the plug was useless and lost the hot water in the sink. When we went for breakfast (cooked breakfast but would have liked the option of some fruit) I went to the desk to report no hot shower. The receptionist said she would get it seen to but I pointed out we were leaving as soon as we had had breakfast. There was no apology. When we went to return our key and pay a small bar bill of £6.37 I asked did they really think I should pay it as we had not been able to shower that morning. I was told I should have reported it at the time - still no apology. The food we had in the restaurant on the evening was not good but can only say you get what you pay for I suppose, and the sausages were a cause for concern. The gardens are not well cared for. It is such a pity because it is in such a beautiful position but has not been allowed to reach it's full potential. We won't be going back.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hatedmalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed at Riviera on Saturday night and overall it was quite enjoyable, Check in was friendly and efficient. The room was clean and well decorated but was a tad on the small side, bathroom was modern and clean. After a good nights sleep we indulged in a traditional full English breakfast, which I must commend as being excellent !

My Niggles are minor...

Hotel beer is a bit wishy washy, no defined bar/lounge area for a relaxing with your pint of wishy wash.

Breakfast options not explained - you have to order scrambled eggs etc..

Room with a view is a bit misleading (our direct view was the amusement arcade)

Amenities not fully explained.

Impenetrable shower gel sachet.

ill fitting doors (gaps under front door)

A slight lack of experience -the staff are all young and you will most probably struggle to find anyone over 23, which is good in one respect but I feel that it would benefit from a more experienced presence keeping things running smoothly and keeping an eye on the finer detail.

Overall I would stay at this hotel again, I get the feeling its work in progress and the owners should be encouraged to carry on their good work in developing this wonderful art deco building and improving its amenities. Keep faith with the kids but employ an old git to keep em on their toes!!

Look forward to a return visit to see how things evolve.

Room Tip: Good hotel if you smoke - just step out of your hotel room and hey presto -Fresh air!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zetterz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Hotel is situated on the coastal path with wonderful views out to Bowlease cove.The rooms are on the small side but tastefully decorated in an Art Deco mode bath room was a good size with only a shower and very clean. Towels were plentiful and good size and quality I didn't like the toiletries as they were satchels difficult to open . Staff were pleasant and hard working but they should employ more as waiting at the bar and for tables to be cleared at breakfast time was a pain. Food was ok nothing exceptional would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank colinjohn60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Stayed at the Riviera on Saturday night and had quite an enjoyable experience! Staff are very friendly and helpful if a bit young! Room was small and basic but clean and modern. Improvements, slightly overpriced for the standard and with no defined bar/lounge area we found ourselves relaxing in reception! But in a nutshell if you are looking for something a bit different then this place fits the bill.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
1.8 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
8.2 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
283 reviews
2.5 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#17 of 22 in Weymouth
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#8 of 22 in Weymouth
490 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
#13 of 22 in Weymouth
457 reviews
5.5 mi away
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
#5 of 22 in Weymouth
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Hotel

Address: Bowleaze Coveway, Weymouth DT3 6PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Price Range: £68 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in an Art Deco style, the majority of our rooms are connected to the main building by covered pathways. All rooms feature free Wi-Fi, en suite bathrooms and tea/coffee making facilities and a safety deposit box. There is a Leisure Centre equipped with a sauna, steam room, gym and both indoor and outdoor pools. (Outdoor pool seasonal only). Set in Bowleaze Cove the Riviera Hotel is just 2.5 Miles from the town centre. Also nearby are the Sealife Centre as well as Lodmoor nature reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing