We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riviera Hotel
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We paid £75.00 for one night. We were on the bottom outside with an apparent sea view mmmm. The bed was low and squeaky and uncomfortable a duvet had been put over the mattress to hide the old springs. If you wanted to hear your neighbors conversation or theirs yours great but the walls are paper thin. The doors don't fit the frame and the windows are from an era of bygones gone by. If I had paid £19.00 for the night far enough but not worth the money, uncomfortable, low maintained and generally bad.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Rachel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

697 - 703 of 1,117 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

We booked for two nights at the Riviera (unfortunately without reading any reviews) and were so appalled by the condition of the place that rather than stay a night we drove home. The room was ridiculously small although it was well equipped. The toilet was not clean and the door was ill fitting. The area surrounding the passage was dirty. Don't do as we did and hand over your money until you have seen the room!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Janet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Arrived on Sunday and were told we could not check in until three. Fair enough. Rooms are ok recently refurbished, fairly small but adequate. Bed was squeaky but comfortable. Bathroom modern but needs a good clean. Stopped for four nights and the room was not cleaned properly in this time.
Breakfast was good, plenty of selection but not well organised, had to queue to be seated as there were not enough staff to cope with the amount of guests.
Generally to sum up the hotel has potential but needs attention to the outside. Looks run down, the gardens could be lovely but have been neglected as have the outdoor pool and a lick of paint is long over due.
We feel that a proper maintenance program would be beneficial to the hotel. Just needs TLC and cleaning. What a shame this beautiful building has been so neglected. Will not be going back here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robbieliz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Well where do I start? Hi-de-hi springs to mind. The door had a huge gap all around it so very drafty. We were put in a disabled room and not being disabled the sink was really low down and there was no hot water.
The did not really cater for Gluten Free no toaster specific for this so limited breakfast.
Only stay here if you really have no alternative.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This was the old pontins holiday park in the 80s.....now revamped ....but still has the old holiday park feel about it. bedrooms have been revamped and are ok for the price...over looks Weymouth bay.....only draw back is when there is a tea party or a coach trip to hotel regular guests seem to be left behind a bit service wise. Other wise quite a nice place to stay..

Room Tip: tip pick a sea front room rooms at the back bit gloomy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mikiedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stayed one night and can say that the room was very clean and comfortable. Bit of a squeaky bed and couldn't get hot water out of the sink tap. The interior décor is nice and yes the outside does need a paint and repair. I liked the art deco look. Breakfast was buffet and was the usual full english , cereals and juices etc but having requested a gluten free breakfast on a number of occasions prior staying they didn't have any sausages or bread.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buster321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Positives: Reception, dining, and public areas were nice and well looked after, breakfast was OK as long as you weren't vegetarian, some staff were friendly and attentive.

Negatives: Balcony outside the room was dirty on arrival (cigarette butts etc) and was not cleaned all week. Upon arrival into the room we found the toilet had been used and not flushed, yet our room was supposedly cleaned just before we got there. There was a thick layer of black mould around both windows. Three separate lights outside our room window were on all night meaning it was like trying to sleep in daylight. Room was next to lift entrance so very noisy when people slammed the doors, also numerous people tried to open our room door thinking it was the lift entrance. I used one of the glasses in the room to have a beer one night and left the glass out to be changed/washed, it was clear this was just rinsed in the bathroom sink and put away as it was still dirty - made us wonder if the rest of the room was cleaned properly. Paid extra for a sea-view room, room actually faced the local fun fair and view was blocked by columns. Large gaps around doors meant the room was drafty and noisy.

Overall we thought this hotel was very over priced and would not go back.

glass rinsed.

Room Tip: If you have to go here, ask for a room at either end of the building (furthest from the centre).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank versto7310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
1.8 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
2.5 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#15 of 22 in Weymouth
20 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#6 of 22 in Weymouth
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
#7 of 22 in Weymouth
678 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
#13 of 22 in Weymouth
462 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Hotel

Address: Bowleaze Coveway, Weymouth DT3 6PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Price Range: £58 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in an Art Deco style, the majority of our rooms are connected to the main building by covered pathways. All rooms feature free Wi-Fi, en suite bathrooms and tea/coffee making facilities and a safety deposit box. There is a Leisure Centre equipped with a sauna, steam room, gym and both indoor and outdoor pools. (Outdoor pool seasonal only). Set in Bowleaze Cove the Riviera Hotel is just 2.5 Miles from the town centre. Also nearby are the Sealife Centre as well as Lodmoor nature reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing