We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Riviera Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$210
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lugger Inn(Chickerell)
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
B+B Weymouth(Weymouth)(Great Value!)
US$78
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$151
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$110
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$100
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,135)
Filter reviews
1,135 results
Traveller rating
129
269
275
182
280
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
129
269
275
182
280
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1,090 - 1,095 of 1,135 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2010

I have just return from a weekend staying at the Riviera Hotel and had read the reviews before going and was quite worried. My room/chalet was upstairs at the front and yes agree there was a musty smell but with windows opened this vanished. Also the place does need decorating although I understand some rooms have been done. The indoor swimming pool and steam room etc was in very good condition and couldn't see how anyone could complain about it at all. I only stayed three nights and for what we paid it was great - it isn't the Ritz but then I didn't pay Ritz prices. The food was very good, no one in our party complained - in fact the opposite,the only thing some said was there was to much but since when was that a complaint. I had a super time but of course I was in a large party which goes a long way to having a good time. However all of us said we would go back so that I think speaks for itself. Would I recommend this hotel to a friend - yes I would as long as they were aware of the bad bits mentioned and could accept that you get what you pay for. The view/position of the hotel is to die for and with money spent on this place it could be a palace but you would then have to pay accordingly.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mail4julie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony196052, General Manager at Riviera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2013

The Riviera Hotel is under completely new ownership since November 2009 and after being re-furbished to a high standard was re-launched in April 2012. Altthough with the hotels grade !! listed status certain aspects of the original building could not be addressed - such as - double glazing, front door, archways covered in and rear rooms could not be joined to the main building - the rest of the hotel has enjoyed huge changes including the original 120 rooms now reduced to 98 thus allowing better and larger en-suite facilities. All bedrooms and bathrooms are now modern, light and airy and other issues such as heating, cuisine and staffing have all been addressed since the re-launch.

The function rooms have been re-furbished, as has the Leisure Suite and this coupled with the hotels premier location and views of Weymouth Bay should prove a winning combination.

Please take the time to peruse our new Website, obviously we cannot alter your previous opinion of your stay, but we would be delighted to have the opportunity to welcome you to the Riviera Hotel some time in the future, so you may see for yourself the transformation of this iconic South Coast Hotel.

Kind Regards

Tony Wilson, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2010

The first room we were given was small, badly furnished and smelt of damp. The bathroom had no window and was extremely small with a dirty shower cubicle. We asked for a different room which we were given. It was slightly better in that it was bigger and didnt smell but it was still in need of a lot of renovation to bring it up to an acceptable standard. The shower head was disgusting, the towels which should have been white, were grey and well passed their best. The pathways and stairs were very dirty and unswept with cigarette ends all over the place. The food in the evening was poor and tasteless, we could have been eating anything. We ate at the local pub, the Spyglass after the first two evening meals at the hotel. The breakfast was better but on our last day there was no toast as they had run out of bread! The entertainment hall was ok, as were the swimming pools (inside and out) and the grounds were well maintained. The hotel is in a delightful position and with a lot of money spent to bring it up to a good standard it would be a jewel in Weymouths crown but as it is avoid it at all costs.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KentGreektraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony196052, General Manager at Riviera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2013

The Riviera Hotel is under completely new ownership since November 2009 and after being re-furbished to a high standard was re-launched in April 2012. Altthough with the hotels grade !! listed status certain aspects of the original building could not be addressed - such as - double glazing, front door, archways covered in and rear rooms could not be joined to the main building - the rest of the hotel has enjoyed huge changes including the original 120 rooms now reduced to 98 thus allowing better and larger en-suite facilities. All bedrooms and bathrooms are now modern, light and airy and other issues such as heating, cuisine and staffing have all been addressed since the re-launch.

The function rooms have been re-furbished, as has the Leisure Suite and this coupled with the hotels premier location and views of Weymouth Bay should prove a winning combination.

Please take the time to peruse our new Website, obviously we cannot alter your previous opinion of your stay, but we would be delighted to have the opportunity to welcome you to the Riviera Hotel some time in the future, so you may see for yourself the transformation of this iconic South Coast Hotel.

Kind Regards

Tony Wilson, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2010

We booked to go here with a large group - then read the reviews and nearly cancelled. However, we thought we'd give it a try and find somewhere else if it was truly awful. However, they take the full money from you before you get the room key which makes it difficult to do that.

I understand the Riviera has been taken over and is being slowly refurbished - well, they should have shut it over the winter and refurbished the whole lot properly before re-opening. On arrival my heart sank at the sight of the door to reception which was running with water (on the inside), and the rather dour reception personnel. There was no lift to the rooms, and the approach was via a horrible open walkway and filthy staircase which would not have been out of place on the worst sink estate. There were large flowerpots along the walkways which were filled with sand for cigarette butts - why not put proper cigarette disposal bins there and fill the flowerpots with geraniums or something??
However, our room had been repainted and had a newish carpet - but the mould was creeping back into the tiny shower room which had a cracked lino floor. The bedroom was miniscule and felt damp. Take your own toiletries because they don't provide shampoo or shower gel.
The food, like the rest of the place, was variable - starters and puddings were good, main courses mediocre. The restaurant staff were eager and helpful, if somewhat disorganised.
The restaurant and bar look as if they have been refurbished and are OK; our own organisers had booked entertainment for us which was great, but it was not standard to the hotel.
The grounds and pool are well-maintained; pity about the main building and the truly hideous sixties block at the back. I couldn't decide if the main building was "Art Deco" in style and could be rescued, or if it should be totally demolished.
We enjoyed ourselves because of the company we were with and you get what you pay for. (Personally I'd rather pay more and get better), but with even a few improvements this place could be so much better for a cheap weekend.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmelineJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony196052, General Manager at Riviera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2013

The Riviera Hotel is under completely new ownership since November 2009 and after being re-furbished to a high standard was re-launched in April 2012. Altthough with the hotels grade !! listed status certain aspects of the original building could not be addressed - such as - double glazing, front door, archways covered in and rear rooms could not be joined to the main building - the rest of the hotel has enjoyed huge changes including the original 120 rooms now reduced to 98 thus allowing better and larger en-suite facilities. All bedrooms and bathrooms are now modern, light and airy and other issues such as heating, cuisine and staffing have all been addressed since the re-launch.

The function rooms have been re-furbished, as has the Leisure Suite and this coupled with the hotels premier location and views of Weymouth Bay should prove a winning combination.

Please take the time to peruse our new Website, obviously we cannot alter your previous opinion of your stay, but we would be delighted to have the opportunity to welcome you to the Riviera Hotel some time in the future, so you may see for yourself the transformation of this iconic South Coast Hotel.

Kind Regards

Tony Wilson, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2010

If you are getting worried by reading all the horrible reviews on this page please do not be put off, as i turned up at this hotel with my family expecting to have to book in somewhere else but was pleasantly surprised when we got there and very much relieved! We recently went to a family wedding here and you cant really fault the place, the staff were attentive, happy to help, eager to rectify any problems, cheerful and very helpful, the hotel location is out of town but has fabulous views and lots to do for little ones. It is not a hotel as you would expect in a traditional manor, but chalets each with their own entrance from the outside, which to the smokers among us was a god send! The food was far better than expected and the service second to none. We had to move rooms as we had a pram and were booked into a second floor room, which the staff happily did within minutes. We found the bedding and towels clean and crisp, the rooms themselves are not overly spacious but perfectly funtional. I believe we had one of the refurbished rooms so the decor was lovely and the room clean and warm. I guess the only think that was a disturbance was other visitors returning to their rooms late at night as rooms are not very soundproof. All in all i would definately recommend this hotel and location and will definately be returning with the children for a family holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebzWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2010

We went on a music weekend organised by friends.

We had a room with a view of the bay but when we open the door the room seemed dark and damp. We know that seafront rooms often suffer from dampness, but dingy (new) green bedding did not help the ambiance. When we got to bad we realised that the bedding was extremely damp. We lay on top of the covers for the first night, and asked reception/housekeeping to change the bedding as the hotel was fully booked, which they did. I think the problem was that our room was at the north facing gable end.

As we were there for the function, we didn't consider leaving, but definitely would have done if we had booked on our own.

On the second day we left the heating on when we went out, turned down the bed and put the pillows in front of the radiator. The bed was just about OK. We had to leave early on the third day, but the bedding was already damp again.

Reception staff were OK. Our waiter was great but some of the waitresses were a bit brusque and one almost threw our food at us from one end of the table. We thought the food was excellent for the price that we had paid. Bar service was OK and there were some good value bar snacks. The function rooms are newer and excellent.

We are going again on the same weekend next year and understand that the hotel will be undergoing further refurbishment for the Olympics. I suggest that they concentrate on the damp!!

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews