We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable stay with a friendly welcome.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Valentines Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Valentines Guest House
Ranked #73 of 170 Weymouth B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay with a friendly welcome.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

There are many guest houses in Weymouth and deciding amongst them is a seemingly endless task. Having read the reviews we opted for Valentines and weren't disappointed. Located across the Esplanade from the beach and perhaps 10 minutes walk from town, 20 from the harbour, it is all you would expect from a B & B - clean and comfortable with a good breakfast and a friendly welcome.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thenumber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    18
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
60
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

stayed here from Fri 17th June/Mon 20th June for the Veterans Weekend which is a must to go and see, the owners were very friendly and could'nt do enough to make our stay very pleasant. The room was clean and the bed (for once) very comfortable, breakfast was a selection of cereals,fruit,yogurts and fruit juices of your choice but the main breakfast of full english was a delight and set you up for the day until lunch. Would definetly recommend this B & B as a must place to stay.
Joe and Jackie, Coseley, West Midlands

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JAK43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hungerford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2011

One night stay in April, very lucky with the weather , pleasently surprised. Large airy roomwith four poster bed and a view of the sea. Small fridge in room if needed bottle opened and glasses for your own drinks in room. Great breakfast in the morning too. Good location at opposite end of the bay to the harbour so quieter, but only a short taxi ride if you dont fancy the 10 minute walk, to the harbour area that is liovelier at night and has some fantastic restaurants. overall thoroughkly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hungerford999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-Super-Mare, Somerset
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2011

We stayed here April 2nd-April 3rd and had a room on the first floor with a 4 poster bed and a sea view.

Upon arrival we were met by the propieter, Sue, who took us up to our room. I was expecting the usual sea side small room but was really pleased to find a big and airy room. The bed was gorgeous and comfortable, high ceilings and massive bay window looking out onto the main road and front with an additional side window. Pleasantly decorated with nice furniture and usual kettle and tv. The ensuite was a proper en-suite and not a tiny thing you could hardly move in with a horrible sliding door, which you can sometimes find.

There is unrestricted parking right outside but not many spaces but this isn't a problem as behind the guest house there is lots on street parking and Sue and Graham can give you a parking permit to park unlimited during your stay.

The guest house is right at the start of the esplanade so it's a lovely walk along the beach and into the town and onto the harbour. There is a chinese restaurant called 'Sea View' right opposite Valentine's. It looks tatty and not worth bothering with but we went upstairs to take a peek and were pleasantly surprised. Lovely big restaurant overlooking Weymouth Bay so we ate there with the unlimited 'Eat all you can offer' and had a very nice meal.

Breakfast in the morning was delicious, full cooked Englsih with the choice of toasts, cereal, fruit and yoghurt as well. Very nice sunny dining room and very nice hosts to chat to.

Only draw back is the noise of the traffic outside. This isn't restricted to Valentine's, it's the same for all the guest houses along this main stretch, there is no double glazing in any of the buildings and it's a very busy road so do take some ear plugs if you are a light sleeper like me. Apart from that you'll love staying here and we are looking forward to returning- we got engaged during our stay!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma-L-Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2010

we have just spent 4 nights at the valentine and have had a wonderful relaxing break. Sue and Graham are excellent hosts and do everything they can to make your stay as enjoyable as posible. The room was impecably clean and the bed linen and towels all white, hotel quality and spotless. The mattress, pillows and duvet all very good quality and we had 4 very comfortable nights sleep.
The view from the bay window in the room is amazing and the breakfast room is light and spacious and also has the same quality of linen, china and cutlery.
Everything is of a high quality and the food is cooked to perfection. We are vegetarian and every morning had vegetarian sausages,free range eggs and all the usual breakfast fare as well as fried bread to die for !
The little extra's in the room such as the mini fridge, wine glasses and cork screw make all the difference. We would definately recommend a stay at The Valentine. Well done Graham and Sue for giving such excellent service and beautiful accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debmatthews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2010

My friend and I stayed six days at Valentines B&B in Weymouth. I would recommend that place to everyone. It is a very clean, welcoming place and it is next to the seafront. We enjoyed our breakfast very much. Sue (the owner) makes the best vegetarian English breakfast. We loved it. (You can have it with meat as well).

The centre of Weymouth and the Harbour are in less than 10 minutes walking distance reachable. We went for few great walks alongside the sea with breathtaking views. From the Harbour ferries leave daily to Jersey. As my friend and I have never been to Jersey before so we decided to visit Jersey as well. We took the 6:30am ferry and returned the same day at about 11pm to Weymouth.

We did have a great time. Thank you again Sue and Graham.

Seher and Cener :-)

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Selina5771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IOW
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2010

Wanted a top spot for an unspoilt weekend away, and we got it!
I had chosen the room from looking at their website, and we were not disappointed...very light, fresh and airy, with oodles of space to relax in, and take in the view. Valentines is about a 10 min walk along the prom to the centre of Weymouth which is perfect as you are out of the hubbub, but the mosy along the seafront is beautiful..
Breakfast is served in a relaxed dining room - they offer yoghurt, cereals, juice, but their full fried breakfast does take alot of beating!!
Sue and Graham gave us a lovely welcome, and made sure everything was tiptop throughout our fun, yet relaxing weekend. I wish them all the best with their new venture - we'll definately be back!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Beachcomber Guest House
Beachcomber Guest House
#92 of 170 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.0 mi away
Molyneux Guest House
Molyneux Guest House
#80 of 170 in Weymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gresham Hotel
Gresham Hotel
#67 of 170 in Weymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Arcadia Guest House
Arcadia Guest House
#33 of 170 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Bay Guest House
The Bay Guest House
#40 of 170 in Weymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.1 mi away
Letchworth Guest House
Letchworth Guest House
#10 of 170 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valentines Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valentines Guest House

Property: Valentines Guest House
Address: 1 Waterloo Place | Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 7NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 170 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Valentines Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-run Grade 11 listed Georgian guest house located within easy walking distance of the beach, town centre and rail and bus stations. All rooms en-suite, some with sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Valentines Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valentines Guest House Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing