We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Valentines Guest House
Ranked #76 of 165 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Birthday weekend”
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We booked a night away for my birthday and was so pleased we booked the valentine. We had a great stay the room was lovely and the owners couldn't of been more helpful. We would defiantly book to stay hear again.

Room Tip: 4 poster bed in see view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ncart5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    19
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
62
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Booked Valentine for my fiance's birthday and was not disapointed.

Great location, parking permit ws very helpful. Nice warm greeting on arrival and the room we had was fantastic with a great sea view.

Good breakfast in the morning, again very friendly people, happy to give advice and help on taxis and that sort of thing.

Only slight downside was that the bathroom was very tired and the shower seems to either be super hot or freezeing. Bedroom looked to have been recently re-done, if the bathroom can be updated it would be great.

Overall very happy with the stay and would be happy to go back.

Room Tip: Sea view room was fantasic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bor78ham80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Booked this for a night away for my Fiances Birthday. We were anxious about getting there after the spate of bad weather but luckly it held for us. I had emailed before hand about being able to arrive early and have our bags taken care of until check in time and promtly recieved an email confirming this was possible. On the day of our arrival, the owner Sue rang us to stay we could arrive when we were ready and check in, as the room was ready. We arrived around Noon and was greeted by Sue, found her to friendly and open. The room was spacious and very clean. The bed was was lovely and big with nice linen. The room and bathroom was clean and presented nicely. Tea and coffee facilitles,bottled water and a nice touch was having to wine glasses and a bottle opener/cork screw too.
There was noise from the traffic but we live near a road and once we were asleep we werent disturbed. The weather was freezing and being just across from the sea, the room did get cold, Sue was always making sure we were warm enough and they had put an extra electric heater in, we did use and this made the room warm and comfortable.
Breakfast was served in the light breakfast room, which if your sat in the right place can see the sea from. You helped yourself to cereal, juice and fruit and Sue came to take the order. We both had a full English. Tea and coffee and toast withn a choice of brown/white or a mixture. Even kind enough to bring us another round. The breakfast was yummy and were left full that it was a stuggle walking up the stairs to our room with our full bellies!!
Was a lovely stay and wouldnt think twice about staying again, thanks Sue for a welcoming visit

Room Tip: If you get cold and are going in winter,possibly ask for a back room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetashoney81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redruth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2012

My wife booked a weekend at the Valentines for my birthday. We arrived late in the evening on a cold, wet and windy autumn day after a long day's driving so it was great to receive such a warm welcome when we arrived. We had a nicely presented, spotlesslely clean and comfortable room with four-poster bed and view out along the sea front. Sue and Graham were very helpful and friendly, and Sue gave us lots of useful pointers on the best tourist attractions and places to eat and drink. They serve the perfect cooked breakfast, as deliciious as it is enormous! The location is absolutely perfect right on the beach and well placed for exploring the town on foot, and there's plenty to do (rain or shine) close by. Thoroughly reccommended, I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rovingreporter1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

I have visited the Valentine Guesthouse twice. The first time in the summer two years ago with a friend of mine and last weekend I went by myself for a short autumnal break. I really enjoy the privacy and the familiar atmophere that Sue and Graham provide. I would definitely recommend this B&B.

Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Tourista04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

My boyfriend booked a 4 poster here as a surprise for my birthday.

We were welcomed at the door and shown to our lovely room. We had tea and biscuits at our table by the window and Sue bought us some fresh milk. The room was small for a 4 poster, but it was so comfortable.

The location was great. Ok, so we didn't get a view of the sea, but that didn't matter. It was grey out there anyway.

Breakfast was just right. We chose from a list of breakfasty things and both got just what we fancied. The dining room has all sorts of books to browse through and after check out, we were luckily able to hang on to the parking permit for the rest of the day to go exploring.

There's a nice Italian restaurant down the road from this place which was recommended to us. Enzo's I think it is called. The food was lovely - fillet steak cooked to perfection.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sussextraveller24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We stayed here on a last minute break to Weymouth. This Guest House has a perfect location and our room overlooked the bay. The whole place is spotlessly clean and airy.Graham and Sue cannot do enough to help you. The breakfast is of an excellent quality with plenty of it.
This is our first trip to Weymouth and after finding a place like this, it wont be the last. Thank you Graham and Sue for making us so welcome!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gillsguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
1.1 mi away
Kingswood Guest House
Kingswood Guest House
#83 of 165 in Weymouth
69 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hudsons
Hudsons
#69 of 165 in Weymouth
97 reviews
1.1 mi away
Eastney Hotel
Eastney Hotel
#66 of 165 in Weymouth
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Beachcomber Guest House
Beachcomber Guest House
#96 of 165 in Weymouth
37 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Alendale Guest House
The Alendale Guest House
#6 of 165 in Weymouth
488 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Mayfair
The Mayfair
#93 of 165 in Weymouth
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valentines Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valentines Guest House

Property: Valentines Guest House
Address: 1 Waterloo Place | Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 7NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Valentines Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-run Grade 11 listed Georgian guest house located within easy walking distance of the beach, town centre and rail and bus stations. All rooms en-suite, some with sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Valentines Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valentines Guest House Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing