We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“superb!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant at Moonfleet Manor

Restaurant at Moonfleet Manor
Ranked #111 of 278 Restaurants in Weymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$76 - US$76
Cuisines: British, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
buckingham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“superb!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

We dined in the restaurant for the four nights of our stay and enjoyed every minute and every bite. The staff were all very professional and made us feel very welcome

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    20
    13
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very special food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

The fillet steak was delicious as too was the duck starter. A little on the expensive side but we felt was worth it

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Dated surroundings, reasonable food, a tad overpriced for what it is.....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Held a business meeting here over an early Supper. We were short on time so ordered one course only. I had a "small" portion of the crab risotto, whilst my colleague ordered a main course belly of pork. We shared three glasses of Chardonnay between us. No starters, no desserts and no coffee.

First the positives. Great location, a warm welcome (eventually), attentive service and a nice lounge area complete with open fireplace. It was very quiet and therefore conducive to a decent business discussion (the purpose of my visit).

On the not so positive side, I found the restaurant sadly lacking in any kind of atmosphere and a little tired looking (I would not go so far as shabby). I was seated next to a rather grubby looking electric heater that had no place in any restaurant.

The food was nicely presented and well cooked, but at £14 for a starter portion of risotto and £26 for a belly of pork (with a postage stamped size piece of crackling on top of it) I expected better. I do not know the area especially well so am unaware of any alternatives locally. What I do know is that I drove all the way from London to meet and eat here and left feeling more than a little deflated by the experience. I also left over £60 worse off which, for one starter, one main, and three glasses of average Chardonnay seemed a little steep.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve4161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wareham, United Kingdom
1 review
“high tea . chris & julie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

wonderful, very English high tea. staff were excellent, tea consisted of plenty of a variety sandwiches. followed by a selection of yummy cakes and a tasty mousse, not forgetting lots of scones,clotted cream and strawberry jam.Big pot of tea [ proper tea leaves, no tea bags here!]

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank julie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Best food in the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

We have eaten here many times during three stays in 2013 alone. The food and wine are really very good and you'd be hard pushed to get better in the county.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank carlrobertwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant at Moonfleet Manor also viewed

Chickerell, Weymouth
Chickerell, Weymouth
 

Been to Restaurant at Moonfleet Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing