We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Freshly cooked fish and chips”
Review of Wetherby Whaler

Wetherby Whaler
Ranked #1 of 70 Restaurants in Wetherby
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Freshly cooked fish and chips”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Tasty and always freshly cooked. Gluten free batter available for coeliacs which is good. Nice mushy peas too. Always had good service even though some staff are on the young side and occasionally a little inexperienced. Never tried the starters as that would be too much food in one sitting. Rarely can I manage a pudding either.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    387
    173
    41
    24
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2,080 reviews
1,179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3,811 helpful votes
“Fantastic fish, chips & Yorkshire caviar!!”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Did a quick detour off the A1 to sample the fantastic fish, chips & mushy peas that they serve here!
They are as good as you get on the Yorkshire Coast & believe me that is praise indeed!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leedsaway67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Spot on Trip Advisers!!”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We read the reports and when we were in Harrogate this weekend, we went to Wetherby and the Wetherby Whaler. We decided to eat in (a good move) and the fish and chips were fantastic - good service and very busy. They were as good as Whitby and that's saying something!! If anything trip Advisers, I think you understated it!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mikee7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great way to finish our trip”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

On our way home from Coventry we visited The Wetherby Whaler fish restaurant. This is no ordinary fish shop, the restaurant upstairs offers the best in fish and chips with really friendly service. The portions were great and the quality excellent. The six geordies left here on our way home with full tums and very happy we called in here.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tony h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

We specifically went to wetherby from Leeds to sample the f&c's. We weren't disappointed. We sat in the restaurant as it was freezing outside....the waitresses were great and the f&c's were amazing, especially the fish, the batter was cooked to perfection. The Chinese curry sauce was the best as it was a bit spicier. Yum!

Helpful?
Thank KPNUTS10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wetherby Whaler also viewed

Wetherby, West Yorkshire
Wetherby, West Yorkshire
 
Wetherby, West Yorkshire
Wetherby, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Wetherby Whaler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing