We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leeds Festival”
Review of Mercure Wetherby

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Wetherby
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Wetherby
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Leeds Festival”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Hotel is located ideally for the Leeds Festival. The lady on the desk managed to check us in early. The hotel was open all night and we had some drinks afterwards. Breakfast was very good, especially the bacon. Accommodation was quite expensive, but the whole area was busy, guess that’s the reason. Will come back next year!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eleonora S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark h, Manager at Mercure Wetherby, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting your review. I am very pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and I hope that we will welcome you back in the hotel in the nearer future.
Kind Regards,
Beata Gornik
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    247
    232
    98
    58
See reviews for
89
327
25
181
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Holt, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This hotel is in need of a makeover and some spending on it.

The room was compact which in of itself isn't too bad as I have stayed in smaller rooms in Paris, however the fixtures and fittings are from the eighties. All of which means a dilapidated room which isn't pleasant to stay in especially when you consider we spent £143.50 for the privilege.

The room service menu was a joke. Four sandwich options - the cheapest top of the list was £7.95 for a Cheese & Picke sarnie which is a little steep to say the least. We didn't order becuase I can only imagine it would also have been a dissapointment.

Breakfast was not bad. It had the full offering of cooked and continental options but the cooked breakfast was kept warm under hot lights rather than covered food warmers therefore the food dried out while standing there.

In short - find a Travel Lodge - better value for money and more likely to be a more updated room.

(PS : Look out for the stock in trade copy paste repsonse from the hotel management below thanking me for my comments and taking my comments onboard like those before me.)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
2 Thank VWils0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark h, Manager at Mercure Wetherby, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your constructive comments concerning your stay and I am sorry if it was not to your satisfaction. We always strive to give the highest standards and service here at the Mercure Wetherby Hotel and so I would be grateful for the opportunity to discuss your comments in more detail. Please feel free to contact me on 067gm@jupiterhotels.co.uk and thank you once again for your review.
Kind Regards,
Beata Gornik
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wetherby hotels

Holt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Only stayed for one brief night, arrived at 10pm and left by 9am. The staff we encountered were OK - neither friendly or unfriendly, and did their job. The hotel interior was clean but dated. The room was small and, again dated, in need of modernisation. For example, the (very, very bright) 'reading lights' over the bed caused some kind of electrical buzzing behind the headboard when switched on and all the furniture was very tired and dated. The advertised flat screen TVs would have been current about 15 years ago!

The bed was uncomfortable and was a double rather than a queen size (to be fair, this was as described but my expectations are now higher based upon my experiences staying at significantly cheaper hotels).

The bathroom was the worst part - overall it required 'modernisation'. For example, I could not physically use the over-bath shower - I am 6ft tall and the shower head was at approximately chest height! My wife is nearly a foot shorter than me and had to bend over to wet her hair! The taps had to be screwed tightly off to avoid drips and the toilet cistern filled then dripped noisily for several minutes because the shut-off valve was faulty or simply worn out.

The room service menu was half an A4 sheet (with a nicely torn edge) providing us with a simple printed list of sandwiches (including exotic delights such as cheese and pickle). My only disappointment here is that I didn't order one just to see what you got for your £8!

Breakfast was a typical buffet affair, with the cooked breakfast elements slowly drying and congealing in their warming containers. Edible but not going to win any awards and definitely not the reason for the room tariff..

Frankly, I have stayed at better Travelodges.

The £143 we paid felt like a complete rip-off and we will never use this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark h, Manager at Mercure Wetherby, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting your review and all your constructive comments. I am sorry to hear that you didn’t have a fully enjoyable stay. Please accept my apologies once again.
Kind Regards,
Beata Gornik
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
366 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I arrived at this hotel as somewhere to stay for an informal meeting and break my journey. Upon entering I asked a passing member of staff where I could find the bathroom, he pointed me to a location just opposite the reception. I went into the Gentleman's bathroom and was immediately in darkness until a good few seconds later when the lights automatically switched on, either that or the girl on reception did it! I was then hit with the stench! A stench that smet like it had not been cleaned for years and judging by the state of the floor and staining I suspect that was the case! There was at least 3 dollops of wet used toilet roll randomly dumped on the floor (not in the cubicles)! The stench was so bad I had to go and find somewhere else to urinate! I then went to the bar area to grab a drink as there was now no one on reception. Upon entering the bar I was greeted by I presume fellow guests who were content on getting as much Stella down their necks and laid on the settees like some student dos house (this was 17:00)! I sat down and started checking my emails, I waited and waited and waited and at no point did the numerous staff approach me to see if I wanted a drink! I eventually asked for a cup of tea and was immediately asked for a credit card! This place is a disgrace, its like Alan Partridge on speed! Tried to pay but the waitresses were too busy filling sachets of sauces in china cups for the restaurant, that says it all! I came to leave and realised I needed to pay for the car park, I approached reception and was met by 2 staff behind it and 1 in front of it; the one in front of it asked what I wanted. I explained I wanted to pay, I was asked for a ticket. I explained that the barriers were in the upright position when I arrived, at this point they all just walked off and I was left alone for a few mins until one returned and thrust a ticket in my hand!!! Customer Service!!!!!!

Room Tip: Pass it by!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ExplorerIIYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark h, Manager at Mercure Wetherby, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Guest,
I very much appreciate your comments regarding your visit at the Mercure Wetherby Hotel and I am sorry that it wasn’t an enjoyable experience . Thank you again for sharing your experience, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Mercure Wetherby Hotel and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience.
Kind Regards
Beata Gornik
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GLASGOW
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stayed here last night as I was down having a meeting at my office the hotel is in a great location just of the motorway

Stayed here a few times now and never any issues always friendly staff good food and a great breakfast

Room was one of the studio rooms at the end of the hotel so very quite, good size room with comfy bed and room very clean and no problems staying here.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steviebhoy1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark h, Manager at Mercure Wetherby, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Kind Regards,
Beata Gornik
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wetherby
1.7 mi away
Days Inn Wetherby
Days Inn Wetherby
#1 of 3 in Wetherby
1,798 reviews
9.2 mi away
Mercure Leeds Parkway
Mercure Leeds Parkway
#49 of 87 in Leeds
921 reviews
11.5 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel
3.6 mi away
The Bridge Hotel and Spa
5.2 mi away
Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Wetherby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Wetherby

Property: Mercure Wetherby
Address: Leeds Road, Wetherby LS22 5HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Wetherby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Wetherby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Wetherby 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Wetherby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Wetherby Hotel Wetherby
Ramada Wetherby
Wetherby Ramada
Mercure Wetherby Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing