We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food fine, service very slow”

ASK Italian - Wetherby
Ranked #34 of 70 Restaurants in Wetherby
Price range: US$9 - US$17
Cuisines: Pizza, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: ASK Italian in Wetherby is a place for great food and warm service. Think fresh bread made to tear and share. A glass of fine wine worth deserving of your time. Delicious main dishes prepared the traditional way. Everything we know and love about Italian food is served straight to your table. Take a look at our Wetherby menu and, if you like what you see, book a table.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Food fine, service very slow”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Having lived in Wetherby a while, we had been to Ask a few times, but not for a couple of years as it often looks quite empty. However, there is a lovely outside seating area which is comfortable with an enjoyable view, which is why we decided to go on a very sunny afternoon.

We went for lunch, and although the outside area was almost full, there were just a couple of tables in use inside. We sat down having booked a table outside at 1pm, and waited what seemed like a very long time for anyone to notice us and ask for drinks, but then two people came one after the other. We then ordered our mains and some nibbles. The nibbles were delivered promptly and were warm and fresh. However, after the nibbles were delivered, it took approximately 45 minutes for the main course to arrive. Large Peroni bottles are priced at £6.10, which I thought was a little on the expensive side, having offered no draught alternative.

The main courses were all fine taste and temperature wise, but the service was slow and difficult to get the attention of. It took some time for them to clear our plates after the main and order our desserts, the honeycomb cheesecake being one of my favourites. Whether it was the heat of the day or not being in the fridge, the cheesecake was particularly soft and not well presented as it sagged on the plate, but still tasted good.

Wouldn't recommend if in a hurry!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolineYes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    74
    66
    42
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
GLASGOW
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Ok meal”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Meal was actually with my ex sales manager and meal was before a sales meeting of which several of the guys had lost their jobs so not the best time to have a team meal

As for the food if you like pizza then it wold be fine but not my cup of tea and the beer wa a bi pricey

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank steviebhoy1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Reliable Local Italian”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Living nearby, we visit the Wetherby branch of ASK perhaps two or three times a month, and although as a chain it is never going to aspire to greatness we always find the food reliably good. Pizzas in particular are of the authentic thin-crust type and are good as you will find anywhere, certainly far better than those on offer at the two more upmarket / expensive Italian restaurants in and around Wetherby.

Service can creak under pressure, but that is probably due to the chain's policy of running a very lean operation as far as staffing levels go. The staff themselves are without exception professional, polite and friendly, and as another reviewer has said Catrina is an absolute star - if there was any justice in the world she would be running FoH at a Michelin starred restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mysel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not a happy customer”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Unfortunately we had a horrible exeriencé. We had á long wait to be askéd what drinks we wanted, then took over 25 minutes for starters to be served, when they eventually arrived one was missing. Main course wasnt too long after starters but the portions were small and ok. nothing special! One of the plates was still left on the table when we left. desért was a further 20 minutes and only came shortly after when we asked how long it took to cut some cake. This was a Tuesday night and about half full. Service was diabolical and you could see there was tension between staff. I wouldn't go again. very dissapointed!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoke-on-trent
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Last resort”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Went on a sunday night not busy no where else open. food average service okay but nothing special. Wine and beer reasonably priced. Location nice. Why do no restaurants in GB have table cloths no more just spray on and clean

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank earl l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed ASK Italian - Wetherby also viewed

Wetherby, West Yorkshire
Wetherby, West Yorkshire
 
Wetherby, West Yorkshire
Wetherby, West Yorkshire
 

Been to ASK Italian - Wetherby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing