We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“winter wonderland”
Review of Stockeld Park

Stockeld Park
Ranked #1 of 20 things to do in Wetherby
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come and embrace fresh Yorkshire air and time together in our beautiful setting.We open our beautiful parkland throughout the school holidays with Fun for all the family including, Easter, Spring, Summer, Halloween and Christmas events. We have a wonderful Enchanted Forest, Interactive play, Skating rink, Nordic Skiing and a huge Maze. Finish of your visit to our delicious cafe and fabulous shop.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“winter wonderland”
Reviewed 26 June 2012

little bit disappointed but the kids loved it. the whole scene looked better from a distance, animals were really false looking up close kids loved the overall effect and didn't seem to notice any short comings.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosslyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Stockeld Park, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Dear Rosslyn R,

Thank you ever so much for your review. We work closely with artists and sculptors to create original pieces throughout our Enchanted Forest and we're chuffed to bits that the magic was felt by your family!! Every year we add new art pieces to the Forest so we hope you'll come back and see what we've been working on for this Season.
Many thanks again, from all the team at Stockeld Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    638
    242
    100
    78
    80
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Love it here!”
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Stockled Park has various events on aroudn the year, my favourites being the Halloween Adventure and the Christmas Adventure. Great for kids and adults alike, costs a bit but worth it for all the activites inside and all the work put into the forbidden forest!!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StockeldPark661, General Manager at Stockeld Park, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Dear Vicky O,
You love Stockeld Park and we love you for writing a lovely review for us! We couldn't be happier that you enjoy our Adventure Seasons at Stockeld Park and all the activities we have on offer. With the forest full to bursting of original sculptures, we're not surprised that you found it a magical theatrical experience! We do have lots to do here, but you only pay for this activities that you want to participate in...we are very determined NOT to charge a park entry fee and we're aren't mean enough to charge you to park your car! We open again on October 24th and stay open until January...if you've got your eyes peeled for a bargain, look out for our November events...many of them are FREE. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Many thanks again, from all the team at Stockeld Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice place with the kids, bit pricey...”
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Lots to do and see, but found eveything very expensive.. but I am a Yorkshire man..

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank AcornLodgeHarrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StockeldPark661, General Manager at Stockeld Park, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Dear AcornLodgeHarrogate,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a little review - it's much appreciated. It's great that you found plenty to do here; whether it's skating, skiing, getting lost in the maze, discovering the enchanted forest, or having a wander around our amazing shop, there really is something for everyone!! And when all that has exhausted you, you can enjoy a coffee (or a more 'Yorkshire man' appropriate beer!) in our cafe.
We hope that you didn't find us too pricey...unlike lots of other attractions, we have made the bold decision to NOT charge a park entry fee. This means that our guests are in full control of what they choose to do with their day out with us. You only pay for what you take part in...meaning you don't have to pay to get in to enjoy that beer! Remember parking is also free (have a coffee instead) so big savings there too...yippeee!
Hope to see you again when we open on October 24th for more adventures at Stockeld Park.
Many thanks again, from all the team at Stockeld Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“What a Fantastic Xmas Show”
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Went to the Xmas show, so much to see, shops, shows, and activities. What a stapectacular event. Everything perfect,thought out, and executed well. The shop was NOT over priced, good value for money. Well done, a credit to you, please CONTINUE.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mal167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StockeldPark661, General Manager at Stockeld Park, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Dear Mal167,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Christmas Adventure at Stockeld Park. We're only small team here, but have very big ambitions!! This is what has helped to make The Christmas Adventure grow into a really magical experience over the last 5 years. We are delighted that you had such a great time and enjoyed the diverse events we have here. We have an amazing new event calendar, which you can now find online at www.thechristmasadventure.com - I'm sure there will be plenty to tempt you back to see us again later this year. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Many thanks again,
The Christmas Adventure Team at Stockeld Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We went in Novermber last year and met another family there. The childresn ages were 7,4,7 and 9. It was quite a cold day when we went and extremely busy. The iceskating rink was so full people could hardly move around it. The maze was good fun but I found it overpirced for what it was. We waited until it went dark to walk through the enchanted forrest which was good but think my expectations were too high. Please bear in mind that there is no where to sit or shelter while you are waiting for it to go dark. We did the maze first and took our own picnic but there is no seating area anywhere. The only place you can sit is the overpriced, crowded cafe and that is if you buy something from them. We were lucky that it only drizzled while we were there, my 4 year old was fed up and cold. I was very disappointed with it and would not go again. It was an hour and a half drive for us too :(

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StockeldPark661, General Manager at Stockeld Park, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate all feedback and it is all valuable to us to develop and learn from.

We believe we are still a unique attraction in that we only charge you for the activities which you want to do rather than charge you a park entry charge which would in fact be easier for us, we do this in the home that families can come together, Grandparents included who may not ordinarily want to pay to come and not take part in activities.

We also have a price structure to encourage people to come at quieter times when it is cheaper (Low season) but I understand people want to come nearer Christmas, despite trying to spread our customers however this is when we are at our busiest, but we do understand your concerns and as a result….

You will be pleased to know we are developing the site to cope with the numbers of visitors by building a BRAND NEW cafe extension, toilet block and Gorgeous Grotto to cope the queues nearer Christmas... we do hope you will return to see all the changes we have made to enhance your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stockeld Park also viewed

Wetherby, West Yorkshire
Wetherby, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Stockeld Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing