We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really tasty”

The Swan With Two Necks
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$31
Cuisines: International, British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Stoke
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really tasty”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The service here was really good, friendly staff. We had the pâté to share for a starter this was my favourite I would eat it all day long. Pork main was really tasty. Would recommend going here!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vintagewife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,525 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,004
    326
    112
    57
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Special Treat”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We were recently invited to a birthday celebration being held at the Swan with Two Necks. There were twenty guests in all, and we were seated all together in a quiet section of the restaurant, allowing us to enjoy each others company and conversation. We were served professionaly with very good food, at a comfortably rate, giving us time between courses. The waiters sang happy birthday, very well, and tuneful, when they brought in the cake. A really lovely occasion with great food and service.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Superb lunch. ”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Booked for a belated birthday lunch. As always was excellent. Not rushed at all. Greeted like old friends. Meal came quickly and freshly cooked. Everything was wonderful. Can highly recommend this place and we most definitely will be back in the near future. Thank you all very much.

Helpful?
Thank Pam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“An outstanding gastropub”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I've been going to this pub for over 30 years, and it has gone through many transformations. It started as a very ordinary "cheap and cheerful" family pub, and has, over the years moved steadily up-market. It is now a very stylish high-end eatery which is an absolute pleasure to be in. The decor and furnishings are modern and pleasing, and the menu is outstanding. I had a wonderful concoction of hake, oriental vegetables and beetroot mash which was just stunning and original. This is not the cheapest place (main courses £12-17), wine £20-30 per bottle, but it is worth it. it gets very busy at weekends and evenings (rightly so), but it is also large, and I have not needed to book. It is in the middle of nowhere, so you have to have a car to access this. Good garden and terrace for al-fresco eating in the summer. Full marks all round!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“fantastic food”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We went to TSWTN for lunch on the basis of a bit of research on Trip advisor for a nice place to eat mid afternon after a visit to Keele University. The restaurant lived up to its highly positive reviews and we agree with those thoroughly recomming TSWTN to anyone visiting the area. The extensive menu feaured a huge variety of cuisines, with vegetarians imaginatively catered for. The quality of the food was exceptional, portion sizes just right, representing good value for money. The surroundings in the restaurant convey luxury and comfort, and the background music was ambient- we had no difficulty making ourselves heard over it- so It would appear that the restaurant has acted upon a previous reviewers comments. The staff were extremely welcoming despite the fact we arrived slightly late and service throughout our visit was attentive without being overbearing. We sampled all parts of the menu including the cocktails with my daughter trying out an apricot mojito which was delicious. Can't wait for a good enough excuse for a second visit!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RickyDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Swan With Two Necks also viewed

Newcastle-under-Lyme, Staffordshire
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 
Stone, Staffordshire
Trentham, Stoke-on-Trent
 
Newcastle-under-Lyme, Staffordshire
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Swan With Two Necks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing