We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Town Centre Guest House”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Clayhanger Guest House
Reviewed 1 January 2014

The two of us stayed for a couple nights over New Year and were extremely impressed with both the facility and the courtesy shown by the entire Clayhanger staff! The attention to detail was of the standard of a 4-star hotel, rooms were cozy and tidy, the lounge was both warm and inviting. Breakfast was amazing, and the homemade jams served were top-notch. Over the past two weeks we've stayed at 2 other (pricier) British hotels, and the Clayhanger was definitely the best of all three. Will definitely come back!

Room Tip: Couples should know that the ensuite double room has an extremely low beam. The owners are looking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David E, Owner at Clayhanger Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Hi, Thank you for your kind feedback, much appreciated. Nice to know that you will come back to us. Take care on your travels, maybe see you at the end of this year.
All the best from the Clayhanger Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2013

Stayed here whilst visiting friends. The staff were absolutely lovely and couldn't do enough to make you feel at home. Nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was fantastic and the place was spotless. The management are clearly very keen in ensuring high standards and great value for money. It's definitely a place to stay in.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walks2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David E, Owner at Clayhanger Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Thank you for your kind feedback, we hope to welcome you again when you next travel this way.
Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

this was an unexpected treasure! warm and friendly owners, clean and fresh rooms, and felt extremely welcomed. Usually guest houses are tired and outdated, but this wonderful little place is very much an exception. You can tell right away that the owners believe in a high standard of service. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carey w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David E, Owner at Clayhanger Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Thank you for your feedback, it means a lot to us that we are getting things right for our guest.
Maybe see you again when your next travelling this way.
Take Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

When i arrived at Clayhanger Guest House i was greeted with a friendly welcome on arrival. The room was clean and spacious with a comfortable bed and plenty of tea/coffee making facilities. Great en-suite shower. Filling breakfast severed in a Victorian dining room to set you up for the day.
Clayhanger Gueest House is ideal for Newcastle-under-Lyme, and the Potteries. Highly recommended for anyone travelling to the area on business or visiting family.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yorkie1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David E, Owner at Clayhanger Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Hi
thank you for your feedback its very much appreciated. We hope to welcome you back at some point in the future. All the best for 2014. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

I needed somewhere to stay for a short business trip, I decided on the Clayhanger because of the great reviews. I really enjoyed my stay, the host was lovely and friendly, made me feel right at home. The room was lovely and clean. Breakfast was fab! Great value for money! Will be back :)

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank joalani501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David E, Owner at Clayhanger Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Thank you for your feedback is very much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back at some point in the future.
take care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Not very often you come across a 'little gem' like The Clayhanger such friendly owners...nothing to much trouble. ( I understand the owners are fairly new & if they carry on as they are it can only be a success) Rooms lovely, clean & comfy. Great breakfast. Loved it, many thanks I will be back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank floridagirl38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David E, Owner at Clayhanger Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Hi
Thanks for your lovely feedback, very much appreciated.
take care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

My daughter & I have just visited The Clayhanger we have stayed there over many years,previously it has been just about adequate! it is now under new management and in the short time since they have been there, what positive changes they have made. It is much cleaner, they are very friendly and very accommodating, nothing is too much trouble. They offer a very good variety for breakfast. Bedrooms are all being refurbished to a very comfortable standard. Such an improvement in a very short time. Thoroughly recommended. It is also in a very good location, within easy walking distance of Newcastle.

Room Tip: All rooms are well furnished and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LBLondon2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David E, Owner at Clayhanger Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Hi LondonLB
Many thanks for your kind feedback, its good to know we are getting things right and our efforts are appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back in the new year 2014! and hopefully you will see some further changes.
take care, until then

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle-under-Lyme hotels
0.1 mi away
Borough Arms Hotel
Borough Arms Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
578 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Newcastle-under-Lyme Central
Travelodge Newcastle-under-Lyme ...
#3 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
426 reviews
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Under Lyme Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle Under Lyme...
#2 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6
Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6
#4 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
835 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lymedale Suites Aparthotel
Lymedale Suites Aparthotel
#4 of 4 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
40 reviews
5.8 mi away
Slater's Country Inn
Slater's Country Inn
#2 of 4 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayhanger Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayhanger Guest House

Address: 40/42 King Street, Newcastle-under-Lyme ST5 1HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Newcastle-under-Lyme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle-under-Lyme
Price Range: £35 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clayhanger Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clayhanger Guest House is a Victorian town house situated in the historic market town of Newcastle-under-Lyme. Bordering the conservation area of the Brampton with excellent local amenities, choose from a show at the New Vic Theatre, a stroll in Town, shopping at the heart of the Potteries, a day to experience breathtaking views of the Peak District or an exhilarating ride at Alton Towers. Clayhanger is a recently refurbished and well established guest house hotel where you can be sure of a warm welcome.All rooms at Clayhanger are presented at a high standard and have excellent facilities. Clayhanger will ensure you a great start to your day with a variety of traditional breakfast favourites. Relax in the lounge or enjoy a short stroll to the town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Clayhanger Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing