We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal for town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Travelodge Newcastle-under-Lyme Central
Certificate of Excellence
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Ideal for town”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I booked this hotel for location of where I was going. It is built above a Lidl supermarket and parking is free (voucher given by hotel) It is next to a busy road but noise did not impact on my sleep. To get into town( 10 min. walk) you need to cross busy road via underpass.Reception & Bar is on 1st floor which is a bit weird because you enter on ground floor. All in all it served my purpose well.!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Mmmmmmm_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    120
    57
    18
    18
See reviews for
102
89
37
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Cheap & easy to stay here, free parking, shopping at Lidl next door, got to recommend eating at the Wagon and Horses about a 5 minute walk. Town centre 5 minute walk. A good market and above all else a bacon shop!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

this hotel is near the uni, but not too near:

situated on top of Lidl for those last minute items which aren't brought from home;

very near the 25 bus stops but has great parking if you have a car;

we found a warm welcome this clean and comfortable but basic hotel;

breakfast is served in a small welcoming bright area and is delicious

newcastle under lyme is a very convenient short walk away

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank couchbeings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

A friend and I recently stayed here for 2 nights while visiting Alton Towers. The room had been refurbished in the new style and was a definite improvement to other Travelodges I have stayed in before. The room was clean, quiet and the bed and pillows were very comfy. On arrival, there was only 1 bath and hand towel, but after a quick visit to reception this was sorted.

On our second day the maid took the mugs away for cleaning and bizarrely only left one in its place.

This hotel is in an excellent location with rooms over looking the Lidl store being quiet. It is also 5 minutes walk from Wetherspoons, Yeates and Mcdonalds.

Overall an excellent stay and we will definatley be back next time we visit Alton Towers.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJT87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The hotel is situated in a quiet area. The staff were very friendly, the room extremely clean and the bathroom was very elegant. The hotel is next to a Lidl store which is great if you do fancy a snack.
I highly recommend it, great value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Monica Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruthin, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stayed in a family room for one night. Room was not made up on arrival, a bit of a nuisance with two tired children at 9pm, but the lady on reception was apologetic and soon made up the room. Had a problem connecting to Wifi, but again, the receptionist was very helpful and got me connected.
The room was clean and comfortable, a little noisy next to the A34 but didn't keep us awake. Only one hand towel and bath towel, you can ask for more, but in a family room with 3 people I think they should provide them without asking based on the number of people on the booking.
Breakfast was ok. Good choice of cereals, juices, yogurts, toast, muffins and croissants, plenty of jams etc. Cooked breakfast didn't look too appetising so didn't try that. Cutlery and glassware could do with a polish and in an empty restaurant there was only one clean table. Felt a little neglected but then for £6 and kids were free, so that's £2 per breakfast what can you expect?
Overall, distinctly adequate.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East London
Level Contributor
250 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Third time I've stayed here in the last 6 months.
Clean, bright, comfy bed, what's not to like for the money! Staff are very friendly and helpful.
Had breakfast on the last morning, nearly missed it, but staff were telling me not to rush, so I had my breakfast at leisure, very nice it was too. They didn't have any sweeteners for my coffee but were so apologetic.
I'll be booking again soon!

Room Tip: Rooms on the A34 side are abit noisier and the pub opposite is very loud. Quieter rooms on the LIDL...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandrobear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle-under-Lyme
0.5 mi away
Borough Arms Hotel
Borough Arms Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
507 reviews
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Under Lyme Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle Under Lyme...
#1 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
574 reviews
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke-On-Trent (Hanley) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6
Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6
#4 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
715 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Moat House
2.3 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Newcastle-under-Lyme Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Newcastle-under-Lyme Central

Property: Travelodge Newcastle-under-Lyme Central
Address: Lower Street, Newcastle-under-Lyme ST5 2RN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Newcastle-under-Lyme
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Newcastle-under-Lyme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Newcastle-under-Lyme Central 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Newcastle-under-Lyme Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Newcastle-Under-Lyme Central Hotel Newcastle-Under-Lyme

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing