We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Celebrations 7th June 2014”
Review of Borough Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Borough Arms Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2014

From our first visit to the Borough Arms to the day after our celebrations, the hotel staff could not have been more helpful or pleasant. Wedding organiser, Emma, was superb; such a lovely person who is definitely in the right job! It was the best day of my life by far, and I hope my husband would agree!! The hotel should have had a refurb prior to our special day, but even though that had not taken place the hotel is tastefully decorated and superbly clean. The hot Wedding Breakfast sit-down meal was gorgeous. The chef accommodated a slight change to the menu for us and we were also allowed to bring our own addition of cupcakes for the evening buffet too. Nothing was too much trouble for these brilliant members of staff, the bar staff even came to find us when guests bought us drinks. We felt special and very privileged to have held our most special of days at the Borough Arms Hotel. Thank you to you all there. Paula & Steve Moseley xxxxxx

Room Tip: Room 5 is great! On the back of the hotel so no road noise, and only one fight of stairs to get ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (557)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 557 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed at the end of June for 2 nights on business and en route to chester races. My husband frequently stays here and the manager kindly upgraded our room to a lovely large room with big bathroom at the top of the hotel. There is no lift so be prepared for stairs if you are at the top. Everything about this hotel is traditional, comfortable and relaxed. There is a nice bar area where you can enjoy simple bar meals. We had a Thai curry which was delicious and excellent value too. The cooked breakfast was hot and of good quality. The housekeeping lady was very sweet, ensuring we had everything we needed for our stay. Given the location I was able to stroll into the town and spend a nice morning shopping while my husband worked. All in all a very comfortable stay in an ideal location for this area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jude M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Booked after TA search. Cannot quibble on price but the room was a bit shabby however it was clean. It was small and faced the road so traffic noise was intrusive on what was admittedly a warm night. The breakfast was good and the staff encountered very pleasant and helpful. Could not hand on heart recommend as some serious TLC required on the facilities.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoroughArmsHotel, Operations Manager at Borough Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2014

May I firstly thank you for your recent stay at The Borough Arms hotel and for taking the time to compile a review.

I would also like to thank you for taking the time to discuss your concerns in person and i would like to assure you that they have now been addressed where possible. As a city hotel on the arterial route in and out, some of our regulars do prefer to request a back facing room which offer a quieter night's rest.

Positive and negative feedback is always welcomed as it helps us understand what we are doing well and the things we need to review and focus on.

Hearing that the rooms were clean and well priced is good to hear and your comments regarding breakfast and service you received from our staff are very encouraging.

I would welcome the opportunity to welcome you back in the future to prove that your most recent experiences are not representative of the hard work myself and all the staff are putting into the business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

2 years ago me and my partner decided to look for a wedding venue and so we had a nip in to the borough, the lady at reception was extremely helpful and introduced us to Mr Sheikh. He then took the time out to take us a whole walk through the hotel and explained everything that would be happening on our "big day" ... Basically he sold it to us there and then and so we booked it. Mr Sheikh and Emma Jordan kept in constant contact with us until the day eventually arrived! The day itself can only be described as "phenomenal" the service we received off everyone at the hotel was amazing, they treated us like royalty and made us and our guests so welcome! The wedding breakfast was to die for so massive compliments to the chef. All in all everything was amazing and I would recommend this venue to anyone for any occasion! Thank you again for everything and we will see you soon. Kind regards Mr and Mrs Cookson

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank NathanCookson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoroughArmsHotel, Operations Manager at Borough Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2014

Firstly may I thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor following your wedding celebrations and for choosing The Borough Arms hotel to host your celebrations.

I am delighted to hear that your day went well, that everything was to your satisfaction and I am also happy to hear that our freshly prepared menu catered to all your guests needs and was enjoyed by all.

It's great to get positive feedback about the hotel, especially the staff who go out of their way to make the business what it is and knowing you feel we made you feel like royalty and helped make your day "phenomenal" is especially good to hear.

I have passed on your kind sentiments to all the staff involved who always aim to make occasions like yours so special.

Thank you once again for your valuable comments and I hope I have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I booked the Borough Arms Hotel for a farewell party for my son and his partner who are emigrating to Australia. This was an event for 80 friends and family and the venue was excellent from the initial booking, helping to plan the evening through top the night itself. The staff were extremely helpful and allowed us to decorate the room prior to the evening and during the event were discrete but always at hand if we needed anything. The food was great and there was plenty for everyone. I would highly recommend this venue for a special occasion or family event.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank NigelG112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoroughArmsHotel, Operations Manager at Borough Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2014

Firstly may I thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor following the leaving party held prior to emigrating to Australia and for choosing The Borough Arms hotel to host your event.

I am delighted to hear that your evening went well, that everything was to your satisfaction and that the food provided was enjoyed by you and your guests. I have passed on your kind sentiments to all the staff involved who always aim to make occasions like yours run smoothly.

Thank you once again for your valuable comments and I hope I have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Another fabulous evening at The Borough Arms! We all had a really lovely time thanks to Mr Sheikh and all his staff. The food was delicious,the disco was great with the DJ playing a selection of music through the decades so the dance floor was always full.The service is always second to none and the staff are so friendly and helpful! I have organised several parties in the last five years at the Borough and every time everything has gone to plan without any problems whatsoever.The staff and especially Mr Sheikh are well organised professional and above all warm and friendly. I would highly recommend The Borough Arms and we will certainly be returning soon! Thinking about the staff xmas do already!! :) So glad to have such a great venue in our town.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank FAIRY535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoroughArmsHotel, Operations Manager at Borough Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

May I firstly thank you for choosing to hold your colleague's retirement party at The Borough Arms hotel and for taking the time to compile a review of the event.

I am delighted that you found all our staff to be friendly & helpful and that our resident DJ ensured everyone was dancing the night away!

I am also happy to hear that our freshly prepared food was well received by all and that we were able to maintain the high standards that you have experienced during previous events.

Personal recommendation is the highest form of praise and I will ensure that I pass on your kind words to all the staff involved in making your event so enjoyable.

I look forward to welcoming you and your colleagues back to the hotel for one of our Christmas Party Nights this festive season if not before.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We recently held a small client event here for professional business contacts. We chose the hotel initially on the basis of location; being central but also having good car parking available. We used the King room which has its own bar, good size entertaining/conference room and and an ante room where we had our buffet. The buffet was varied and nice food; really good value for money. As other reviewer's have commented though, it is the proprieter and his staff that make this hotel what it is. Welcoming, professional and with good attention to detail, they did everything to make sure our event went well. If you are looking for a venue with a good location (with parking), warm welcome and good value for money, look no further.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jules098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoroughArmsHotel, Operations Manager at Borough Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

May I firstly thank you for choosing The Borough Arms hotel for your recent event and for taking the time to compile a review.

It's great to get positive feedback about the hotel, especially the staff who go out of their way to make the business what it is.

I am delighted that you found all our staff helpful, welcoming and professional as we all take great pride in offering our guests an excellent service.

I am also happy to hear that our freshly prepared buffet catered to all your guests needs and offers good value for money.

I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle-under-Lyme
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Newcastle-under-Lyme Central
Travelodge Newcastle-under-Lyme ...
#3 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
414 reviews
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Under Lyme Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle Under Lyme...
#1 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
647 reviews
1.9 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6
Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6
#4 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borough Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borough Arms Hotel

Address: 26 King Street, Newcastle-under-Lyme ST5 1HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Newcastle-under-Lyme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Newcastle-under-Lyme
Price Range: £49 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Borough Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Borough Arms Hotel and Restaurant is one of the oldest established hotels in the Newcastle-under-Lyme and Stoke-on-Trent areas, with history dating back to 1783. The hotel is very much of the style associated with a traditional English town centre coaching inn, yet has been sensitively and subtly refined to offer the comfort and modern standards demanded by today's visitors. Independently owned and managed, the hotel retains many period features and takes great pride in offering a very personal service. As a valued guest, you may be confident that we will do our utmost to ensure your comfort, whether you are staying in one of our 40 centrally heated, en-suite rooms, visiting us for a meal in the restaurant, or using our conference and banqueting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Borough Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing