We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service in a Pinch”
Review of Borough Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Borough Arms Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Cornwall, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Service in a Pinch”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We three weary travellers arrived at the Burrough Arms late on a Saturday afternoon looking for a room for the evening. The hotel was totally booked so the staff called around to other hotels in the area for us, all to no avail. Finally, after an exhaustive search, Mr. Sheik, the general manager, and Kim in reception found a room in the Arms itself that had been reserved, but for which the travellers had not shown up. They immediately offered it to us and we spent an enjoyable evening at the Arms. Brenda, in the dining room, made our dinner and breakfast there a pleasure. We left the Arms the next day satisfied that our serendipitous stop in Newcastle Under Lyme had turned out better than we could have anticipated. I must also mention that after dinner, I enjoyed an after dinner drink at the Little Victoria, a charming pub just up the street.
~ Tom, Helen and Flora

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    305
    127
    48
    30
    14
See reviews for
193
89
22
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I originally planned to go abroad for our wedding but when we found out the exciting news that we were expecting a baby around the same time, we decided to postpone for a year and go on the hunt for a venue in Staffordshire where we reside. We went to many wedding fayre's in and around the area and then we stumbled on the Borough arms in Newcastle.

Although the hotel is maybe looking in need of a refurbishment it didnt disappoint, one of the main reasons we booked this venue was the excellent service we received from the staff there, mainly Wedding Coordinator - Emma Jorden and hotel manager - Mr Shiek. They were very attentive and helpful throughout and we couldnt of wished for anymore.

Venue prices are very reasonable and they will meet your individual needs to suit your budget.

On the whole is could not of asked for a more perfect day, we have the whole event within the hotel, ceremony, wedding breakfast and reception, i must admit i was slightly concerned about staff preparing the rooms in time between each part of the day, but i had no need to worry the staff were all amazing and nothing was too much trouble.

Food - Again you never know what to expect from food and you can always have a mixture of opionions, the food was perfect in everyway. Piping hot, presented beautifully and tasted delicious, i had lots of positive feedback throughout on the food.

I decided to stay overnight on the night before my wedding (all 7 of us) and the only recommendation i would say is definately needing is Air Conditioning in the rooms, it was a particularly hot few days - however i didnt find it easy to sleep because of this reason. Although the rooms are nicely decorated, very clean and extremely spacious. This was the only negative.

Shall i be visiting again? Definatley!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clare H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2014

From our first visit to the day after our celebration, the staff couldn't have been more helpful or polite. The organisation of the event was superb, including putting up our decorations. The food was fantastic and nothing was too much. Will definitely use this venue again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ibznet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed here for one night on the way to visit friends in Blackpool. Room was a bit dated but clean and comfy. Faced road so a bit noisy as it was hot and we needed the window open.
Breakfast was very good and the staff could not be faulted. While there booked to stay for another night on the wway home from Blackpool. This time we were given a room in the annex, musch better as quieter and more up to date as newer than the hotel.
All in all avery good convenient place to stay at a reasonable price. Would use again if going uo that way.

Room Tip: Try to gat a room in the annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathy3terry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2014

From our first visit to the Borough Arms to the day after our celebrations, the hotel staff could not have been more helpful or pleasant. Wedding organiser, Emma, was superb; such a lovely person who is definitely in the right job! It was the best day of my life by far, and I hope my husband would agree!! The hotel should have had a refurb prior to our special day, but even though that had not taken place the hotel is tastefully decorated and superbly clean. The hot Wedding Breakfast sit-down meal was gorgeous. The chef accommodated a slight change to the menu for us and we were also allowed to bring our own addition of cupcakes for the evening buffet too. Nothing was too much trouble for these brilliant members of staff, the bar staff even came to find us when guests bought us drinks. We felt special and very privileged to have held our most special of days at the Borough Arms Hotel. Thank you to you all there. Paula & Steve Moseley xxxxxx

Room Tip: Room 5 is great! On the back of the hotel so no road noise, and only one fight of stairs to get ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed at the end of June for 2 nights on business and en route to chester races. My husband frequently stays here and the manager kindly upgraded our room to a lovely large room with big bathroom at the top of the hotel. There is no lift so be prepared for stairs if you are at the top. Everything about this hotel is traditional, comfortable and relaxed. There is a nice bar area where you can enjoy simple bar meals. We had a Thai curry which was delicious and excellent value too. The cooked breakfast was hot and of good quality. The housekeeping lady was very sweet, ensuring we had everything we needed for our stay. Given the location I was able to stroll into the town and spend a nice morning shopping while my husband worked. All in all a very comfortable stay in an ideal location for this area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jude M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Booked after TA search. Cannot quibble on price but the room was a bit shabby however it was clean. It was small and faced the road so traffic noise was intrusive on what was admittedly a warm night. The breakfast was good and the staff encountered very pleasant and helpful. Could not hand on heart recommend as some serious TLC required on the facilities.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoroughArmsHotel, Operations Manager at Borough Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 22 September 2014
May I firstly thank you for your recent stay at The Borough Arms hotel and for taking the time to compile a review.

I would also like to thank you for taking the time to discuss your concerns in person and i would like to assure you that they have now been addressed where possible. As a city hotel on the arterial route in and out, some of our regulars do prefer to request a back facing room which offer a quieter night's rest.

Positive and negative feedback is always welcomed as it helps us understand what we are doing well and the things we need to review and focus on.

Hearing that the rooms were clean and well priced is good to hear and your comments regarding breakfast and service you received from our staff are very encouraging.

I would welcome the opportunity to welcome you back in the future to prove that your most recent experiences are not representative of the hard work myself and all the staff are putting into the business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle-under-Lyme
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Newcastle-under-Lyme Central
Travelodge Newcastle-under-Lyme ...
#3 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
374 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Under Lyme Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle Under Lyme...
#1 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
597 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke-On-Trent (Hanley) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borough Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borough Arms Hotel

Property: Borough Arms Hotel
Address: 26 King Street, Newcastle-under-Lyme ST5 1HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Newcastle-under-Lyme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Newcastle-under-Lyme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Borough Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Borough Arms Hotel and Restaurant is one of the oldest established hotels in the Newcastle-under-Lyme and Stoke-on-Trent areas, with history dating back to 1783. The hotel is very much of the style associated with a traditional English town centre coaching inn, yet has been sensitively and subtly refined to offer the comfort and modern standards demanded by today's visitors. Independently owned and managed, the hotel retains many period features and takes great pride in offering a very personal service. As a valued guest, you may be confident that we will do our utmost to ensure your comfort, whether you are staying in one of our 40 centrally heated, en-suite rooms, visiting us for a meal in the restaurant, or using our conference and banqueting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Superbreak UK and Evoline ltd so you can book your Borough Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing