We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Potential to be better but poor on this visit !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clayton Lodge Hotel
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Potential to be better but poor on this visit !”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Room OK, cleanliness OK, needs a bit of updating in places eg bath panel a bit shoddy, badly fitting aluminium window frames etc etc. Public areas quite tasteful. Service lets it down. Staff not overly friendly and certainly not skilled in customer service ? Waited at the bar for some time before going to reception to ask for service. Another guest suffered the same fate just 5/10 minutes later. Ate at Kavi Indian restaurant which adjoins/next to the hotel and I think part of the same set-up. The restaurant itself is very nice with viewable kitchen. Unfortunately, despite there only being a table of 8, a table of 4 and me, service was slow although the food was reasonable. I've seen better breakfast selections and the help yourself cooked items weren't overly appetising but that is a common thing in uk hotels these days.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    82
    128
    95
    323
See reviews for
136
200
34
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
101 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Stayed here October 2013 and this is the third visit. Standards of rooms are good, furnishings,bed,pillows,flat screen tv are all very good. The hotel offers good quality food in the bar or, if you prefer, in the restaurant the menu offers Indian or English food although slightly pricey but has a half price bar for early diners. If you prefer cheap and cheerful there's a nice pub five minutes walk away with a fairly good menu and reasonable bar prices. Prices for this hotel are extremely competative and would be hard to beat.

Room Tip: It seems as though this hotel has no lift and rooms seems to be situated on the first floor and upwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oebep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We booked this hotel through Booking.com after having such a bad experience at a Travel Lodge in Newcastle-Under-Lyme - we felt nothing could be worse than the TL. The Great National was a refreshing surprise for the money. We paid, without breakfast, £39 for a double room (Asda not far away to get a breakfast). The hotel itself was very nice to look at, the staff were lovely, parking out the front of the hotel, with very nice rooms. We could have easily stayed there for a whole week and felt at home. We didn't sample the cuisine or bar on this occasion, but we are definitely going to go back and will next time.

Room Tip: Book through Booking.com for a bargain!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leek, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
347 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This hotel is probably the worst hotel I have ever visited.Dated, poor service, even poorer food, unprofessional staff and nonexistent meeting facilities.Years ago this was an ok place, but stay if you dare

Room Tip: Choose another room in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryStorer1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newcastle-under-Lyme hotels

Scottish Highlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Stayed for two nights at the weekend for a total of £98 bed and breakfast for a double room.
I found the staff friendly and polite, room clean and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast was nice and there was plenty of food being continuously replenished. Yes the decor is dated and an update is due but I don't think it deserves such bad reviews .For the price I think it is good value

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland uk
1 review
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel recently for 3 nights and I have to be honest we were dreading it after reading the reviews. On arrival you can tell the original hotel has been extended a few times over the years and could do with a little tlc however not the worst weve seen. The reception area is bright and modern, we were greeted by Simon and after a confusion over an authorising fee to be put on my card, (which I didnt pay) despite paying cash we got our room key and set off. We were at the far end of the hotel and arrived as the maids were cleaning so got a nose in some rooms along the way. All the rooms look pretty standard with the same decor. Our room was booked as a double with sofa bed but instead came with a fold out bed, which looked awful but our son slept soundly. Only small complaint(from the boys not me, im a cold spud) was our room was above the boiler and therefore quite warm. The radiator also creaked but I managed to switch it off. The room was clean and tidy, could do with a few little tweeks like new carpet but certainly not as bad as previous reviews have stated. We had clean fresh towels and bedding, wifi connection and tea/coffee making facilities which were restocked each day.
On our first nights stay the hotel had a wedding on and the decor was simply stunning. We were dubious about breakfast due to reviews however we more than happy with the fresh fruit, pastries, cereal and hot food selection, the two waiters were very polite.
We had the issue as others with the key card needing reset, we think maybe the cleaners key is knocking them off as the first day was fine, it only happened after the cleaner had been in.
Overall we were pleasantly surprised, its not the hilton, if you want hilton standards book in there. This is a budget hotel which has recently been taken over and is slowly but surely getting some much needed tlc. It is easy to find, in a central location. We will book again if were down again for alton towers etc, maybe not for a romantic getaway.

Room Tip: Didnt know there was a fitness centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We booked this hotel for 2 reasons, 1. It was close enough to Alton Towers (Our main reason for coming up) and 2. The website looked amazing!

When we got to the hotel, which was very easy to find, we were excited to check in and get some rest. We walked into the reception area and was pleasantly surprised by the modern interior looking exactly like the website pictures. The receptionist was slightly unhelpful, he gave us our room key and told us where the stairs were for our rooms. There was no mention of breakfast times, bar location (this not being a major problem as being a northerner I can sniff out a bar anywhere). when we left the reception area things changed ... from a Modern looking hotel to a creaky old and tired hotel, it was like a time warp! ... The corridors were dark and uninviting. when we finally got to the room (which seemed like forever in the labyrinth) we were content even with stained carpets, cracked bath surround and condensation on the single glazed window. The room was not what we expected but on first impressions was clean and was only £44.00 per night!. We Put our bags down and headed to the bar! (Happy hour is between 5pm - 8pm just in case you are not told). The bar was lovely, nice and modern and comfy, bar prices were reasonable and so we sat down and had a lovely drink. Not a busy bar but that's good as means your served a lot quicker. Food can be bought here as well as in the room service menu.

After drinks we headed back up stairs to get some shut eye before our adrenaline packed day at Alton Towers. I jumped on the bad and nearly broke my back! the beds were hard, uncomfortable and the pillows were so soft that they could have been filled with air. This led to a very bad nights sleep... for me anyway, the other half slept like a baby!?

After the bad nights sleep I went and jumped in the shower, bathroom on 1st impressions was very nice. Bath/Shower, nice and light. However being 6'2 the shower was a slight squeeze and I had to take the shower head out the attachment and do it by hand rather than stand underneath, again not a major issue but worth mentioning.

After a long day at Alton Towers we headed to the room, when we got there the key did not work in the slot, with sore feet from queuing all day we had to traipse all the way back to the reception to get the key re-authorised - again not a major problem but when you are the furthest room in the hotel it can be a little annoying! So we headed to the bar to sit down instead of straight back to the room.
That night we decided to stay in the room and order room service, upon calling reception at 9:20 to order we were informed the kitchen were not taking orders. However on the room service menu the times stated it stopped at 10pm. We were then called back 5 mins later to say they were actually open till 10pm and we could order (surely this should be something that the receptionist should know!>) ... the food came and it was lovely food, I was very impressed and tasted amazing!

Another sleepless night due to the beds and we decided to check out early to be confronted by a very complicated checkout billing system. Upon arrival the receptionist had taken £50.00 from my card for the room, however we were billed the full amount on leaving. apparently the £50.00 was a Pre-Authorisation charge and was not actually charged to my card, but upon inspection online was seen to have been deducted. I was assured that I would only pay the amount required and no more. This just seemed a little confusing and I don't understand why they do not do what other hotels do and take room payments when you arrive and any other charges when you leave.

All in all a very mixed stay. good value, easy to find and modern in places but on the flip side, uncomfortable, dirty and always the thought of 'The Shining' when walking to your room.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brifindlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle-under-Lyme
1.7 mi away
Borough Arms Hotel
Borough Arms Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
523 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Newcastle-under-Lyme Central
Travelodge Newcastle-under-Lyme ...
#3 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
367 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6
Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6
#4 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Lodge Hotel

Property: Clayton Lodge Hotel
Address: Clayton lane, Newcastle-under-Lyme ST5 4AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Newcastle-under-Lyme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Newcastle-under-Lyme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clayton Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Clayton Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing