We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best christmas party we've had”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clayton Lodge Hotel
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best christmas party we've had”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Booked the Great National for our works Christmas party, all inclusive drinks (thought there must be some catch but there wasn't!) The d.j. was fab, playing an excellent mix of new & old songs/party songs/christmas songs we were up dancing all night, the food and service were great, will definitely go back next year! Added bonus was that it was within staggering distance from home so didn't even have to pay for a taxi!

Room Tip: Did not stay overnight so can't comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snailsnipes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    82
    128
    95
    323
See reviews for
136
200
34
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

After having a dreadful stay at this dirty hotel, I then find I have had my money taken from my card twice. Ok not a problem surely it's a simple refund?? Nope, after 3 weeks of chasing a refund and being told on multiple occasions it was about to be processed I'm then greeted once again my one of its many rude members off staff that they won't be giving me a refund and hang the phone up! I have never stayed at a hotel where the staff are so rude! If you want a nice place to stay and value money then anywhere else would be more suitable for you!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotelman1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newcastle-under-Lyme hotels

1 review
Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

The bed had pubic hair in it , the room was filthy , there was a constant noise of a generator , kept us up and to top it up the occupants of the rooms arrived in the early hours and kept us up as the walls may as well be made of paper. Also breakfast was cold and slow with no choice .
Never again

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dermottfroggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
644 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Went to one of their Christmas functions and, seriously, I couldn't fault it. For £35, yes £35, you got 3 course meal, chicken soup excellent, turkey with trimmings tasty, hot not plain and bland, and chocolate pudding, disco (choice of 2 rooms) but the best part was that wines, beers and spirits were included in the all-inclusive price. I know there's been some very poor reviews on here in terms of stopping at the hotel, but to just visit as an outsider for an event / function there was everything you'd expect and / or need inc. welcome drinks (mulled wine etc) lovely furnishings, bright changing-coloured light effects all around the venue which added atmosphere. The only down-side was that in one of the welcome / entrance lounges I thought I could detect some sort of 'drains' type smell coming from a radiator (perhaps stale water leaking ?) Other than that the whole experience was amazing !

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mister J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Room OK, cleanliness OK, needs a bit of updating in places eg bath panel a bit shoddy, badly fitting aluminium window frames etc etc. Public areas quite tasteful. Service lets it down. Staff not overly friendly and certainly not skilled in customer service ? Waited at the bar for some time before going to reception to ask for service. Another guest suffered the same fate just 5/10 minutes later. Ate at Kavi Indian restaurant which adjoins/next to the hotel and I think part of the same set-up. The restaurant itself is very nice with viewable kitchen. Unfortunately, despite there only being a table of 8, a table of 4 and me, service was slow although the food was reasonable. I've seen better breakfast selections and the help yourself cooked items weren't overly appetising but that is a common thing in uk hotels these days.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
101 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Stayed here October 2013 and this is the third visit. Standards of rooms are good, furnishings,bed,pillows,flat screen tv are all very good. The hotel offers good quality food in the bar or, if you prefer, in the restaurant the menu offers Indian or English food although slightly pricey but has a half price bar for early diners. If you prefer cheap and cheerful there's a nice pub five minutes walk away with a fairly good menu and reasonable bar prices. Prices for this hotel are extremely competative and would be hard to beat.

Room Tip: It seems as though this hotel has no lift and rooms seems to be situated on the first floor and upwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oebep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We booked this hotel through Booking.com after having such a bad experience at a Travel Lodge in Newcastle-Under-Lyme - we felt nothing could be worse than the TL. The Great National was a refreshing surprise for the money. We paid, without breakfast, £39 for a double room (Asda not far away to get a breakfast). The hotel itself was very nice to look at, the staff were lovely, parking out the front of the hotel, with very nice rooms. We could have easily stayed there for a whole week and felt at home. We didn't sample the cuisine or bar on this occasion, but we are definitely going to go back and will next time.

Room Tip: Book through Booking.com for a bargain!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle-under-Lyme
1.7 mi away
Borough Arms Hotel
Borough Arms Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
523 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Newcastle-under-Lyme Central
Travelodge Newcastle-under-Lyme ...
#3 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
367 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6
Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6
#4 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Lodge Hotel

Property: Clayton Lodge Hotel
Address: Clayton lane, Newcastle-under-Lyme ST5 4AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Newcastle-under-Lyme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Newcastle-under-Lyme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clayton Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Clayton Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing