We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring your own coffee”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clayton Lodge Hotel
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bring your own coffee”
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

I booked it in a rush and was there late and up early so didnt do much research in advance. I wish I had. The staff where friendly and the bedsheets where clean - thats the only positive thing i can say. You get what you pay for I suppose. Coffee was a big tup of cheap granulated powder - yuk.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank JarrodClarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    82
    128
    95
    323
See reviews for
136
200
34
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Visit didn't start too well with reception. No welcome, no smiles in fact pretty much no service. On arrival at our rooms the keys didn't work. Another visit back to the helpful reception whereby they decided to activate them so we could get into the rooms with no apology. Room was old but clean, however no heating or double glazing on windows. We basically had to sleep with clothes on top of our PJ's and it was still cold. Due to the building being quite old every floorboard in the corridor seemed to creak so there wasn't much sleep going on. Breakfast was a buffet affair which was alright, although most was pretty much cold except the beans.
Overall I guess due to the cheapness its a good place to crash if your going out clubbing and therefore not going to notice the cold or noise on your return. However if not, avoid it

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaLovely2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newcastle-under-Lyme hotels

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in Feb 2014.

Asked for a quiet room and ended getting one next to the exit, so very noisy.

Front desk staff seemed very young and not terribly professional, just functional.

This hotel does not have a lift, so had to lug cases up several flights of stairs. Not ideal!

Pros: Location is good for walking into Newcastle under Lyme, follow Clayton Road all the way into town. Room was nice if a bit dated. Bed was comfortable. Wifi worked well. Breakfast was plentiful. Paid 39 GBP/night including breakfast.

Cons: Floor boards squeaked and every time I walked in the room, it made noise. Hallways and layout of the hotel is very dated, probably 1940-50's. No lift, stairs were numerous. Also lots of internal noise between hotel rooms, heating system a bit dated as well.

Overall: Nice for a short stay if other more modern hotels in Newcastle under Lyme are booked up as was the situation in my case.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OttawaTravel2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

If you value your sleep then I would not suggest that you stay here. The room we stayed in had metal windows that rattled in the wind which kept me up most of the night. I ended up having to stuff a tissue in the frame to keep it from rattling as much. The carpet was stained and the curtains hanging off the rails. There was smashed glass in the bathroom and rubbish on the floor. I wonder what the cleaners actually get paid to do?! The bed sank down in the middle and though the bedding had obviously been washed there were still stains that hadn't come out. When checking out the staff were too busy dealing with a complaint on the phone to even speak. I was hoping that they would ask how our stay was but I guess most people would be negative so I guess it is probably best not to ask.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Clearly the web site is fictional , the rooms very dated and not as seen on web far from it very unclean stains on sheets , tap plug unable to unplug , battered and chipped furniture , heavy mould around windows , as a asthma sufferer not good , mould in bathroom . For our deluxe room no tea or coffee making as stated . Breakfast facility's terrible , mostly I think it's due to being under staffed , staff that are there look so tired I felt sorry for them well the ones that seemed to work , there was one member of staff on arrival who had only been there short time who was very friendly :) . I must say thou the restaurant kavi was good quality food . Only comment on that should have more then one in charge as when asking for ( drink , bill, etc) they all had to run it by the manager who was everywhere , in all fairness doing a good job , but why have all your staff and not delicate . Over all be very carefull when looking on website as all is most definitely not as it seems . It needs good clean up all around , lick of paint and better standards all round & that's just to start with . Sorry , but very true .

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mother123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Hotel is very run down and clearly not had any investment in years. The room was small with heavily stained carpet , a broken light in the bathroom. And badly chipped and scratched furniture. The Windows were old metal double glazing that rattled when it was windy. Bedding was clean though. Breakfast was cold this morning, but tea and coffee were nice and hot. The hotel is an old Ramada hotel wwhich is evident by some of the internal signs with stick labels over them. Overall its very run down and needs some investment.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danaldridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I booked a last minute single room including breakfast at the great national newcastle hotel. The hotel is large and welcoming with lots of free parking. The room was modern, comfortable, ensuite with hot drink facilities, free wifi and a large flat screen tv. For the low price i paid i was extremely impressed. I had a great night sleep and in the morning i had a lovely full english breakfast with fresh orange. I could not fault a thing. I would definitely recommend and if i am ever in the area again- i would not hesitate to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle-under-Lyme
1.7 mi away
Borough Arms Hotel
Borough Arms Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
523 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Newcastle-under-Lyme Central
Travelodge Newcastle-under-Lyme ...
#3 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
367 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6
Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6
#4 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Lodge Hotel

Property: Clayton Lodge Hotel
Address: Clayton lane, Newcastle-under-Lyme ST5 4AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Newcastle-under-Lyme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Newcastle-under-Lyme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clayton Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Clayton Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing