We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alton Towers Short Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Newcastle Under Lyme Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Stayed here for a recent day trip at Alton Towers. Very happy with hotel, good sized clean room. very warm in room but fan provided helped keep things cooler. All you can eat restaurant busy but very reasonably priced. We were asked if we had prior booked a table, which we hadn't, but when we said we were staying at the hotel they quickly found us a suitable table. Quite a long way from Alton Towers, but easy to find. Staff very helpful and friendly.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank SuzyP28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (658)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

470 - 476 of 658 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel as a journey breaker on our way back from the lake district (Spent 3 separate nights in Premier Inns within 10 days)

Premiers Inn rooms are generally of a good similar standard, presenting good value for money, but we were disappointed with our experience on this occasion and did not get a good night’s sleep, to be fair we were refunded under the good night sleep guaranteed promise.

Problems experienced were that we were located in room 4 on the ground floor facing the car park and adjacent to the entrance (disabled room)

There was no air conditioning, and on opening the window we were subject to external noise and invaded by “daddy long legs”.

A table top type vertical enclosed fan had been provided in the room however all its visible internal surfaces were caked in a very thick layer of fluff and in my opinion presented a possible fire risk (reported) the PAT test label had no date completed.

Add to this the noise caused by doors into the corridor not being closed considerately and what sounded like a child running around the room above wearing clogs till early in the morning we did not sleep well.

The other more minor annoyances included. Post code+Sat Nav= Lost.
The disabled bathroom was a low bath with shower which was not suitable for our needs (told did not have any wet rooms), we wish the type could be selected when booking. Wash hand basin lever taps that operated in opposing directions i.e. one turned on anti-clockwise and the other clockwise, resulting in opening one further instead of closing and having to change. No towel rail, or even a hook, so drying towels for reuse not practical. High Tog rated duvet/no sheet. Only TWO single electrical outlets, one used by the TV leaving one for hair dryer, fan, kettle, phone charger, laptop etc. (I think there were 9+ in the others we stayed in)

We also had a nightmare non-meal in the attached Tay Barn but that’s another story.

All in all not a pleasant stop over, and will not be revisiting any time soon.

Room Tip: Ensure you do not need a wet room or low level shower. Rooms to the front can be very noisy with win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BaldEagle100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Newcastle Under Lyme Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet your expectations. We are however, pleased to learn that you were refunded in line with our Good Night Guarantee. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Thank you once again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Stayed for one night following a wedding nearby. We arrived late with 2 young, tired children and were checked in quickly and with no fuss. Room was clean, well set up and comfy for what we needed it for. The all you can eat breakfast is very good value when you have children with you who eat for free. We were very impressed with this premier inn and would return again.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
Thank wormburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Myself and partner stayed here over night prior to a visit to Alton towers. The hotel is very clean, the staff are very friendly, the restaurant next door isn't a typical Premier Inn style eatery. It's full of families but worth the money.
Only down point was the heat we had a/c but du to heat wave it was quite tropical!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Twitter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

A bargain for families with children with the eat all you can restaurant which made it very noisy! Grounds a bit austere not really any quieter ares to sit and have a tipple, otherwise usual Premier standard

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johntic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Very warm welcome - staff accommodated us superbly when we arrived a little early pulling out all the stops to get us into our room quickly and were wonderful throughout our stay - always smiling and willing to help with advice as required. Plenty of parking spaces available in front or behind hotel. Room was ample size for our family of four with king size bed and two singles for the kids. Good facilities as expected - good TV, great shower, tea/coffee facilities, hairdryer. Restaurant attached may not be 5 star but represents great value for money with very reasonable cost for a family dinner and even better option for breakfast with kids eating free - both buffet style to satisfy even the largest appetites. Overall a great base for visiting Alton Towers and other nearby attractions.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Cuchullain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This was our experience. Easy to find and car parking good. Good welcome from reception staff. Room clean and in good order on 1st floor. Lift good until it went out of service, stairs no problem. Plenty of towels, good hot shower. Taybarns restaurant was very busy and noisy though to be fair it was Saturday night. Good welcome and service from staff though as it's a budget affair there were few of them. My son and I were directed to a 2 seat table in a circular section of the room which from the outside looks like a conservatory. This area seemed shabby and greasy compared to the rest of the dining area. I went for food and on my return my son had been told to leave the table by an old man with his wife who claimed that it was their reserved table. He could not establish how this was so but rather than get involved in a pointless argument with someone who might possibly have had mental issues we moved seats. There were no staff to assist us. On moving to the next table we were constantly buzzed by 3 flies. the food quality was fine and I cannot complain about the value. However I would never return to this or any other Taybarns restaurant. We went to MacDonald's later on to get food as my son who normally eats like a horse had been unable to eat due to the unpleasant surroundings and atmosphere in the Taybarn. My daughter came with us on this trip; she needs to eat gluten free foods and though a member of staff was helpful in offering to assist she is a shy girl and was put off visiting the restaurant by the noise and to be frank the nature of some of the customers. When we got back to our room there were too few sockets so we had to charge phones and laptops in rotation. Also of the 3 available mains sockets none were near the beds. During the night the heat in the room became unbearable. The (restricted) open window did little to help although it was cool and raining outside. I rose at 4 am because of the heat and went outside for a couple of walks. The children slept very poorly for the same reason. The corridor outside the room was very hot and there was no sign of any ventilation into the room apart from the (restricted) open window. Breakfast was good and good value. We ate early just to get out of the room and the restaurant was quiet and the food fresh. My daughter ate yoghurt and fruit salad as it was the only options we could be sure were gluten free but she was grateful to get anything at all. We left immediately after breakfast and I promised the kids I would never take them back. Here are my tips to avoid a poor stay at this hotel: (1) Do not stay here in hot weather. (2) Choose the timing of your visit to the Taybarn carefully and don't sit in the circular window section. (3) Take your own mains extension cable with multiple outlets if you have lots of technology with you. (4) Read all the reviews on here my poor experience was unfortunate but you could have a good stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davelebarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Newcastle Under Lyme Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Thank you for your review. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to provide guests with a comfortable stay and deliver a high level of service in all our establishments, both in our hotels and restaurants. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed provide this. Please be assured that your comments will be investigated by the Management Team at this hotel. We hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle-under-Lyme
2.8 mi away
Travelodge Newcastle-under-Lyme Central
Travelodge Newcastle-under-Lyme ...
#3 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
423 reviews
2.8 mi away
Borough Arms Hotel
Borough Arms Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
573 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6
Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6
#4 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House
1 mi away
Travelodge Stoke Talke
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Newcastle Under Lyme Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newcastle Under Lyme Hotel

Address: Talke Road | Chesterton, Newcastle-under-Lyme ST5 7EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Newcastle-under-Lyme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Newcastle-under-Lyme
Price Range: £43 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Newcastle Under Lyme Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a quiet spot on the outskirts, close to the M6, Stoke-on-Trent and Hanley ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Premier Inn and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Premier Inn Newcastle Under Lyme Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newcastle-Under-Lyme Hotel Newcastle-Under-Lyme

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing