We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for it.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Slater's Country Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Go for it.”
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We stayed one night and had a look at the Arts and Crafts centre. We also visited the tea rooms which was not very exciting. So best leave that one. In the hotel, our lunch was very good and the staff were excellent. Polite and helpful. When we went to book in, the disabled room that we were shown had all the handles etc, but the shower was over the bath and I would have had difficulty getting into it. But the receptionist suggested another room in the older part of the building. This was a suite with two rooms and suited us admirably. When asked the receptionist said that this suite was more expensive but she would only charge us for the original room which I thought was very generous. This is the type of service which goes down well with us. That evening we dined int the bar and had a lovely meal. The staff were once more attentive and prompt with our order. Breakfast the following morning was equally as good. I cannot praise the staff enough. So if you want a good meal with good service, then go to Slater's.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walaby01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    33
    12
    8
    6
See reviews for
31
36
7
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

when I saw 9/10 on booking.com I knew we had to stay here and rate it ..... WOW what fantastic owners and staff cant do enough for you superb. The room (9) overlooked the lawn which was laid out for a wedding Saturday afternoon. Lovley large bed with part canopy beautifully appointed room with ironing board/trouser press and great tea/coffee & biscuits. Really nice en-suite which is a little tired but forgivable with peeling paint on door bottom and wonk shower screen, shower powerful and oodles of hot water. Breakfast huge fantastic and cooked to order a rare commodity with a fantastic setting.Brilliant value for money.
Opposite a country barn converted to arts & crafts centre absolutely great shops inside at good prices!!!

Room Tip: any!!!! the courtyard looks amazing ..... A great wedding venue
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sga4359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke on Trent
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Eaten here on several occasions - service friendly, surroundings pleasant. Food is fine. A bit pricey for the quality, but reliable. A good place to meet with family. I have not stayed over so cannot comment on the accommodation, but a nice, quiet location.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stokie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We stopped on Saturday for a quick snack and a cup of coffee. We waited 40 minutes for two harvester platters, a tea and a coffee. We were about to leave when the food arrived on the smallest plates in history. The waitress asked us if we had moved tables (which we had not) as she could not read the number her colleague had written on the order. The food was equally as disappointing as the service. This tea rooms in previous years had been absolutely brilliant. The food locally sourced, well cooked and presented with a sunny smile. We will not be patronising this establishment any more.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jerf1109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cumbria
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

I arranged a surprise 70th Birthday Lunch for my husband , and all was done by E Mail with Julie, who was very helpful, the only downside is that Julie went on holiday before we arrived, and some of the things I had arranged with her, were not done. Having said that, once this was realised, the staff could not have been more helpful, sorting out the little extra's I had requested.

The place was lovely, I had been here years ago, but not stayed. The rooms are comfortable, warm and a little dated, but this added to the charm.

The breakfast was more than enough, but a little casual, no menu, and no choice of brown or white bread, I did turn down the music, as it was so loud you could not easily chat, and as there was a party of us, this was a little too much.

The food for the lunch was excellent although the vegetarian option was not good, over cooked and inedible, although to staff did offer to cook something else, and no charge was made for this.

Although the above does sound a bit picky, I think it was worth mentioning, having said that I would recommend this place, it is a lovely spot, very quite and lovely views over the fields. Only 5 miles from Junction 15 off the M6, so easily accessible.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woody004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Warm, spotless and very comfortable room. Staff were genuinely courteous, professional and took trouble to ensure I felt comfortable, welcome and well fed. The pub/ restaurant was a super surprise; excellent food and wine, moderately priced. Overall, warmth, kindness, good food and excellent value for money

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMG60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

My husband and I got married here on December last year and from start to finish it was the most fantastic experience!!!
We booked with Julie for our wedding ceremony and reception. From start to finish Julie and her team were absolute professionals and so friendly and helpful, especially Kath who was our co-orinator on the day and literally took all the stress out of everything for us.
We went ahead and booked the Briar Suite for the whole ceremony, wedding breakfast and reception. The room was set up with Christmas decs and twinkly lights, and was so cosy and warm. The ceremony was beautiful :) Then we had a three course meal, which was very tasty, the house wine went down very well too! And in the evening we had a disco, which Slaters arranged for us and was brilliant, the DJ was a really nice guy and very flexible, would play anything we asked for. In the evening we went for bacon baps and wedges which were perfect after what had been quite a cold December day. A few of our guests stayed over with us, and all the rooms were so comfortable. Not the most modern of decor but very very clean, the bathroom was spotless with a good hot shower and the bed was super comfy. I even saw the family rooms as we had guests in there and they are gorgeous, lovely old furniture and very very comfortable. The next morning we all regrouped for a brilliant breakfast, the waiters had lots of hot coffee and tea on tap and would get anything else we required, more juice or water for everyones sore heads. It was just the perfect finish to what had been the best day of our life.
I know we might have a slightly biased opinion given the fact it was our wedding, but Slaters is a genuine, warm place with lovely staff and just a homely atmosphere. The second we went to view it as a prospective venue, I felt so at home there as it is just so welcoming. I really believe part of the fact it was so brilliant was due to the staff and atmosphere they work so hard to create.
Even if you arent looking to get married here, I would recommend you stay if you are looking for somewhere warm and welcoming.
Thanks Slaters for an amazing experience :)

Room Tip: The family rooms are exceptional, although my Dad did say he was disturbed once or twice by lorries...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle-under-Lyme
5.8 mi away
Borough Arms Hotel
Borough Arms Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
532 reviews
5.4 mi away
Travelodge Newcastle-under-Lyme Central
Travelodge Newcastle-under-Lyme ...
#3 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
385 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6
Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6
#4 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
9.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Alsager Manor House Hotel
7.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Slater's Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slater's Country Inn

Property: Slater's Country Inn
Address: Stone Road | Baldwins Gate, Newcastle-under-Lyme ST5 5ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Newcastle-under-Lyme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle-under-Lyme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Slater's Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Slater's Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slater`s Country Hotel Newcastle-Under-Lyme
Country Inn Newcastle-Under-Lyme
Newcastle-Under-Lyme Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing